We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alton Towers Sanctuary”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of ibis budget Derby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ibis budget Derby
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Willington
Oakham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alton Towers Sanctuary”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I love Ibis and do use this hotel for Business, however this one is really Budget! I would not choose this range for business again as I am use to being able to choose films, this service is not at this hotel. I had brought with me my coffee, it wasn't used as there is no kettle. The shower is in the room with the bed and the toilet has a door, but the basin is in the bedroom, for me the hygiene is questionable when you have to leave a room to wash your hands. The 3 rating given is because it is free wifi and the space is clean and modern, without these it would have been less. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_6596, General Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for leaving your thoughts, we appreciate all your comments, I am glad you have found the hotel clean and modern with free wifi available, and having noted all your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Lamyae Frija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    208
    79
    20
    27
See reviews for
161
149
60
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 November 2013

stayed there 3 nights its a nice hotel very quiet very clean and convenient location the only thing i would say is if u have a few things to charge up like fone ipad ect take a plug in exstention as u only get 1 plug in room will stay there again when in the area

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosalena78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_6596, General Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Many thanks for the positive comments. I am happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to ibis budget Derby hotel again very soon. Kind regards, Lamyae Frija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Modern no-frills basic motor hotel aimed at the budget conscious traveller. Reminds me of Ikea with its functionally designed furnishings in bright colours and pale wood-coloured laminates. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. The reception area includes tables and chairs where one can socialize, have breakfast.... or eat your own takeaway meal in the evening. All-you-can-eat continental breakfast is £4.95 extra and is good value.

Hotel is located in a travel plaza with other food options a short walk away across the car park. The hotel policy on quietness is appreciated. All room and bathroom equipment worked well. No leaky taps or sinks that didn't drain well! Checkin and checkout was quick and efficient. Would I stay at the Ibis Budget Hotel again when next in the Derby area? Certainly!

Note: Guests should recognize that this hotel is located out in the country midway between Derby and Burton at a travel rest stop at the junction of two major roads (A38 and A50). As a result, public bus or train transport to the Ibis Derby is challenging and a taxi to this hotel would be relatively expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenMarkCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_6596, General Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,
Thank you very much for your positive comments; I am happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to Ibis Budget Derby again very soon. Kind Regards, Lamyae Frija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunbar, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This is our third trip to this hotel and each time we have stayed there is has been for a trip to Alton Towers which is just a 30 minute drive away.

The rooms in this hotel are basic but clean, everything you would expect from an Ibis. We had a family room which has the double bed with a bunk bed above. This is fine for our 9 year old but you wouldn't be able to use the bunk bed for a child much older than this.

We like this hotel for its price and location, its the perfect base for a couple of nights and you cannot fault the value for money and clean rooms.

The breakfast option is perfect if you just want a quick bite before heading off.

The reception staff are also very good and will help out with any extras you need for your room, hairdryer etc.

We have also dined many times at the Cherry Trees restaurant across the car park from the hotel, its has a good variety on the menu and a good value carvery, one word of caution, if you go for a desert then share it between two!!

You cant beat the value for money that you get with this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from reception as this is a very busy hotel and the reception can be busy at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_6596, General Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words. We appreciate the fact that you took your time and put your comments here. I and my team are glad that you had a nice stay in ibis budget Derby hotel. We truly hope you visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Lamyae Frija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Paid £28 for one night on a business trip as it is the only hotel in the area. Hotel is located at the A50 service station - road noise if you want to open the windows. Receptionist was friendly, hotel and room were very clean. Hard to complain at these prices. Wifi is also thrown in for free. The Cheery tree pub over the way is also good for food.

Room Tip: Remember this is an Ibis - take your own shampoo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_6596, General Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
My team and I appreciate very much your kind words and we are glad to have been part of your visit. We are looking forward to welcoming you back at ibis budget Derby hotel again very soon. Kind regards,
Lamyae Frija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haxey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were flying from East Midlands airport, so needed somewhere to stay the night before. Saw this place and managed to book a room online for £19 for 2 of us.

The room had aircon, flat screen TV, comfy firm bed, and a fantastic shower / bathroom.

The hotel has a lot of midweek workers staying there, so it can be a bit noisy with people coming in and out, but again, for £19 I was not expecting The Savoy.

I will definately be staying here again before future flights or future trips to East Midlands area

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management_6596, General Manager at ibis budget Derby, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comments here. We always welcome feedback from our guests. I and my team are very happy you enjoyed your stay in ibis budget Derby hotel. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards, Lamyae Frija
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willington
2.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Derby Mickleover Court
2.5 mi away
The Unicorn Inn
The Unicorn Inn
#1 of 2 in Newton Solney
85 reviews
5.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Derby
Jurys Inn Derby
#4 of 29 in Derby
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Derby Pride Park
2.5 mi away
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
403 reviews
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Derby Riverlights
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis budget Derby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis budget Derby

Property: ibis budget Derby
Address: Etwall Road, Willington DE65 6DX, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Derby)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Willington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Willington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis budget Derby 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering clean and comfortable accommodation with guaranteed standards of service at affordable prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis budget Derby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Budget Derby Willington, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing