We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It thinks a lot of itself.”
Review of The Dragon

The Dragon
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Willington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$22
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: In the heart of Willington village backing on to the Trent and Mersey canal, the dragon is the area's favourite destination for diners, drinkers, walkers and boaters alike. the dragon, is a 150 year old pub with character, charm and a warm welcome and has recently been sympathetically renovated and restored. The introduction of our new beer garden at the back of the dragon, on the edge of the canal, is a big hit with locals and visitors. There is nowhere quite like it on a sunny afternoon. Awarded the "Best Out Town" Pub/Restaurant in Derby the menu is a classic mix of traditional britsh cuisine with a tist of quality that will not disappoint. A large range of cask ales, fine wine and thirst quenching lagers will ensure your visit will be one to remember.
Reviewed 13 December 2017

Haven't been here for a while to eat. Pre Christmas pricing in place, obvious;y trying to cash in on group bookings and family gatherings when we went there. But come on Dragon, you cannot charge £6.95 for soup unless you are in the middle of a metropolis!
Got the feeling that the pricing indicated increased staffing costs as it was more money than necessary for lunchtime dishes. Run of the mill food at too high a price. We were disappointed and will think hard about another visit before spring.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Major C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,024)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

230 - 234 of 2,027 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2017

We visited for the "Only Fools and Horses" not knowing what to expect. It was brilliant! Really good entertainment and of course the food was fabulous as it always it. We will certainly to this again. Love the Dragon, always had good food and good times there

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elenore1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Three of us for lunch, they found us a quieter table at the far end of the bar to cater for hearing difficulties, perfect. First came a sharing platter between the three of us, as a starter. There were two items on here which were a little incongruous, a small bowl of delicious carrot soup and a small milkbottle of mulled wine. It was odd to have to share these between three when we didn't have separate glasses for the wine or separate little bowls for the soup, but we passed the soup around, and we didn't really feel like mulled wine anyway at lunch time, we had drinks already. The rest of the items on the platter were delightful. Main courses seabass, Christmas turkey and hanger steak were all very much enjoyed, and we didn't feel too full to have dessert, icecream, panna cotta and caramel tart, wonderful. Service was prompt and friendly. We came away feeling well satisfied in every way, but maybe explain to other people what is on that sharing platter if they don't ask?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MelFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

Birthday celebration, chef managed to produce good fish and chips (bar food) a good burger ( pub food) but then the Derbyshire turkey was very disappointing it came with rolled tuekey with a stuffing that was tasteless one mini roast persnip two roast potatoes small carrot cut in half and four undercooked sprouts ( I mean hardly cooked not crisp but aimost raw) and to cap it all the meal was cold, gravy in a separately in a small bowl cold, of course i sent it back.
When it came and the others in our party were half way through their meal it was only slightly warmer.
So come on chef concentrate on the plates of food you are sending out not just the picture on the plate as when the meal is cold it destroys the whole.
When i complained to the barman when paying his words" i will tell the chef! Wake up barnan the chef was aware, what i was expecting was " we are so sorry sir for your disappointing meal so we will not charge you for the turkey meal " sorry never happened neither did the no charge.
Hate to say first and last visit! I am aware that the odd meal can have a problem but the way the barman dealt with the situation in such an unproffesional way i suggest some serious training.
Perhaps barman and chef together to be re trained.
Sorry to be critical but it did spoil a planned good night out!
Phillip Southwell

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpurs, General Manager at The Dragon, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Hi Phillip, thank you for your feedback which of course was disappointing to read. You are right, the reaction from the barman was lacking, to say the least. He should have called over our Duty Manager who would have certainly made sure you didn't leave disappointed.

We try so hard to get things right but, as you recognise, when things don't go according to plan we always ensure we put them right to the customer's satisfaction. Apologies we didn't for you on this occasion.

We will contact you to discuss this in more detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017 via mobile

Had a wonderful night with lots of laughs. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Although I expected a Christmas 3 course meal I was disappointed there was no alternative at all. Just a choice between two dishes would have been nice. The starter being a Terrine which was a little tough would not have been my choice and a soup would have been good as an alternative . The turkey dinner was very good and Christmas pudding to follow. This was indeed delicious Christmas pud but many on our table didn’t eat it,I think it’s a love or hate type of dish, so again a choice would have been nice, even if it was only ice cream. As for value for money we had a great night just maybe would have liked a choice on the food. Well done though. I hope you have future evenings like this.

Thank munchkins04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dragon also viewed

Willington, Derbyshire

Been to The Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing