We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, really enjoyed our weekend!”
Review of Loch Ness Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loch Ness Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Lewiston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at the Loch Ness Inn for 2 nights last weekend and had a really great time! The staff are friendly, the rooms are really nice and the shower was great!

We arrived on the Friday afternoon and decided to book into the restaurant for that night! The food was great so we went again the next night - really good value as well! Breakfast was also great (included in the £50 per night we paid) with a large selection of cooked food as well as the usual fried breakfast and cereal!

There is plenty to do in the surrounding area with a wide selection of walks - we also did a boat trip on the loch to Urquhart castle although that is also walking distance from the inn!

The only slight complaint is due to our noisy neighbours - the walls in between our rooms were quite thin...the second night we were there we were woken by them arriving back at their room at past 3am, stomping about and talking loudly! If they had been a bit more considerate it would've been the perfect stay!

Definitely would recommend and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siobhan Rose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

Got room with breakfast for £50 per night. Hotel was refurbished about 3 years ago, and is still fresh and new looking. The rooms are bright and tastefully decorated. The bar and restaurant are spacious and have a wood burning stove. There is two bars one in restaurant and a public bar, stocking a large selection of whiskies. However only one real ale. The food is delicious and value for money. The staff are polite and attentive. Spilt red wine on jacket and the owner cleaned it for me with no charge.
Overall I would highly reccomend this inn!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edinbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed two nights in January. Nice clean, fresh hotel. Catring in evening very good standard with reasonable choice of local foods. Rooms were pleasant enough, bathroom well finished off. Walls were a little thin which led to some noise transmitting from TVs etc. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful, breakfast was good. The offer to use the boiler room for drying wet gear was most appreciated! Would call back.

Room Tip: Ask for one where there are nobody in adjacent room and away from the staff 'break' area out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nordicstar284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

The existing reviews for this wee hotel are indeed accurate. Lovely staff that are really helpful, accommodation first class, the bedrooms had a lovely ambience and were spotless. Also, the rooms and restaurant were really cosy, no cutting back on heating and the radiators in the room was on all night - temperatures dropped to minus 11 during our stay so really important. Restaurant has a wide variety of good quality food - would recommend the lamb broth, so tasty. Can't fault the hotel at all, I just wish other hotels in rural Scotland would use this as a model. I would definately go back but this time as a tourist and not on business. Can't comment on the area as I left the following morning and headed straight for Inverness but surrounding environment was stunning. You would not be disappointed with this hotel and an option to staying in Inverness as it was only 30 mins drive.

Room Tip: No need to worry all rooms looked first class
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhonaAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We had booked the Polmailly House Hotel through KBG deals only to find they decided to close until March-we only found this out by me showing my partner pics on the website- 24hrs before travelling! However with one day to go and having already booked trains and the coach we had to quickly find somewhere.. and we are so pleased things actually went wrong!

Rooms-nice size really surprised for an 'inn',firm good sized double bed and plenty of hot drinks and bottled water replaced everyday.Good size shower,hair dryer and lots of dove bodywash.

Service-great.Yes a lot of young staff as mentioned by others but we found them all lovely. It was my partners birthday (we'd done the cake early at home) but i asked for a candle in his sticky toffee pud which was greeted with 'no problem at all' then he suddenly decides he's full and not to have one!Disaster!However the waitress managed to steer him towards at least a drink and bless them they taped a candle to his drink,lit it and sung Happy Birthday!Genius!

Food-At first appears expensive as others have said but it is good food and worth it (Cullen Skink and Choc Brownie amazing). Sunday Lunch set menu and bar menu is cheaper if you're on a budget.Breakfast very nice but doubled in size on the Monday-weird but guessing it was as they were near empty on the Sun night as oppose to the Sat.

Location-Citylink bus from Inverness pretty much passes it (get off at garage stop) and its an easy walk into Drumnadrochit village and an ok one the other way to the castle-based on 2 townies who get taxi's everywhere!Buses if you need them but not too regular.

Lovely wee place and a bargain-Thankyou!!We will be back!

Room Tip: We had room 10 which faced the front-you do hear the bar below but we were in it a lot so didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaGold21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

From the moment we arrived, our stay was flawless. We were greeted warmly, upgraded to a family room (two adjoining rooms, rather than an extra bed in the double room that we paid for), and asked if we wanted a table for dinner (of course! do it!). We spent some time playing Scrabble in the cozy bar before a delicious dinner in the restaurant before heading up to our very lovely and clean room. As others have noted, you can hear a bit of the music from the bar upstairs, but it hardly affected the experience; let's be honest, not having to drive home after dinner and drinks is priceless!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chichihp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Everything about this hotel was good. Pleasant room, friendly bar and busy restaurant.
Recommended

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewiston
14.9 mi away
The Lovat, Loch Ness
The Lovat, Loch Ness
#1 of 2 in Fort Augustus
1,253 reviews
0.8 mi away
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
Loch Ness Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Drumnadrochit
435 reviews
14.2 mi away
Inch Hotel
Inch Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fort Augustus
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
Glenmoriston Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Invermoriston
401 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Craigdarroch Inn
The Craigdarroch Inn
#1 of 5 in Foyers
378 reviews
4.8 mi away
Highland Bear Lodge
Highland Bear Lodge
#1 of 1 in Balnain
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Ness Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Ness Inn

Address: Lewiston IV63 6UW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Loch Ness > Lewiston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Lewiston
Price Range: £67 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Loch Ness Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Loch Ness Inn, conveniently located between Drumnadrochit and Urquhart Castle in the village of Lewiston and only 15 miles from Inverness, is set in the heart of the local community where you will meet hikers, tourists and locals in friendly comfortable surroundings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Loch Ness Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loch Ness Hotel Lewiston
Loch Ness Inn Lewiston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing