We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming, friendly, very welcoming. small hotel offering clean, comfortable, reasonably priced accomodation in peaceful surrou”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Torrs Warren Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Stoneykirk B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Torrs Warren for 2 nights, 13 &14th September with our dog. The owners are friendly and went out of their way to make our stay a hugely enjoyable one. We stayed in Flat 2 with its own separate entrance, making it ideal for us to take the dog in and out without disturbing others. The room was spacious, clean as a whistle with a large and immaculate shower room. The breakfasts were excellent and evening meals in their cosy bar area were lovely.
It is not a "boutique" hotel and may not have the most modern furnishings - but for that we were glad. Instead, it has attention to detail and genuine hospitality which is lacking in many higher priced and not so welcoming establishments.
I would recommend this hotel without hesitation and hope to return next year to this lovely and often forgotten part of Scotland.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariamiller431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for Torrs Warren Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

had a couple of nights at this hotel in august.very nice friendly hotel and met some very nice people.
breakfast was excellent and sets you up for the day.we also had two very nice evening meals
The only down side to this hotel was the size of the room we had .no room to move around or even to put your case .However it is still good value for money and if we stayed there again I would ask for a bigger room.

Room Tip: don't have the blue room
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icranston40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for a couple of nights recently. Booked because it seemed to be one of the better hotels in the area. Unfortunately the pictures on Expedia showed it as quite modernised but it isn't. Some rooms may have been refurbished but ours wasn't and was still looking like it did in the 70's.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devonboy_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Found this lovely little hotel for an overnight stay before travelling to Ireland on the ferry early the next day. A lovely hotel in a lovely quite location but within a few minutes’ drive to the ferry terminals and some lovely little towns. We stayed in the 'Royal Blue Room' which was very spacious. The food was excellent value for money, good choice in menu, very good food and very large portions, a bit too large for us but I am sure many appreciate this. Definitely recommend the food to anyone staying in the area. The owner was a very pleasant, friendly gentleman who made us feel welcome from the moment we stepped into the hotel. Although we were only staying for one night he recommended a few places to go that afternoon which we enjoyed. As we were leaving at 5.30am he left a continental breakfast out for us, which was appreciated. Would definately stop here again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We usually stay in chain hotels after a couple of bad experience in independent ones but booked Torrs Warren as it was in a perfect location for us on a touring holiday.
We were made very welcome by the host who was very friendly and made you feel at ease. He chatted to us about the local area and inspired us to go off sight-seeing for a couple of hours before dinner!
We had Flat 2 (I think!) as we had our 16 year old son with us. Lovely big room and nice and cool as it was really hot outside! Beds comfy, nice shower, very clean. Plenty of tea and coffee even water, hot choc and biscuits.
We had dinner in the bar, and the portions were enormous! Nice fresh veg and the service was very friendly and welcoming. We were so stuffed we couldn't even manage puddings!
We then spent the rest of the evening sitting outside in the garden with a glass of wine and playing cards. It was lovely.
Breakfast was amazing, cooked to perfection.
The only thing I would have liked would have been maybe a bit of low background music in the bar and in the breakfast room. But that's just me and probably others enjoy the peace!
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this charming little hotel and really do hope to visit again. It was lovely!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meettheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had booked a family room at the hotel prior to traveling from Cairnryan to Larne on 27 July 2013. The room was very comfortable and spacious. We had a lovely evening meal in the bar and in the morning a very satisfying breakfast prior to catching the ferry. The staff were very helpful and friendly and could not be faulted in any way. Torr Warren is situated in the Mull of Galloway, closes to Stranraer and a stones throw from the beach at Portpatrick.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I booked this hotel as we were attending a highland dancing competition in Glenluce, and this hotel was not far away - about 7 miles. It is located in a small rural village, which has only a Londis if you need the odd provision or two, but that's you'll find in Stoneykirk. The hotel is an 18th Century former Manse, for the local Stoneykirk church, which is at the end of the hotel's laneway. It is not a modern hotel, so if you are looking for a Radisson or Hilton type hotel, this is definitely not the place for you. But if you are looking for a quaint hotel with decor in keeping with the nature and age of the house, then Torrs Warren is a lovely place for a weekend/mid-week break. The staff are very friendly as is Jim, the owner, and this creates a really nice, relaxed atmosphere. The evening menu is fine, although some of the food (eg scampi, battered cod) is frozen and not freshly prepared and made. There is a children's menu, although they will provide children's portions of some of the main menu items. The breakfast menu was good with the usual cereals/juices cooked breakfast options. Altogether this was a lovely place to spend the weekend and a nice hotel for my children's first experience of staying in a hotel.

Room Tip: Family room (sleeps 4) nice size, and the bedroom with the four poster bed is worth the extra £20 pe...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoneykirk
5.1 mi away
North West Castle Hotel
North West Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stranraer
371 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fernhill Hotel
Fernhill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Portpatrick
336 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Portpatrick Hotel
The Portpatrick Hotel
#3 of 5 in Portpatrick
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
5.1 mi away
Craignelder Hotel
Craignelder Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stranraer
112 reviews
5.8 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#4 of 5 in Portpatrick
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrs Warren Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrs Warren Country House Hotel

Address: Greyhill Road | Stranraer, Stoneykirk, Stranraer DG9 9DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer > Stoneykirk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stoneykirk
Price Range: £66 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Torrs Warren Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A QUIET FAMILY RUN HOTEL ,IDEAL FOR THE FERRY TO IRELAND,OR VISITING THE RHINS AREA OF SCOTLAND WITH ITS OPEN GARDENS AND GOLF COURSES. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Torrs Warren Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing