We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just like staying with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Borgue Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Borgue
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Borgue Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Borgue B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just like staying with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We just needed to stay somewhere near to our daughter and her family holidaying nearby and we were told about the Borgue Hotel. From the moment we walked through the door we felt like we were visiting friends.Shirley, Vince and Viking made us feel so welcome, we just knew that though we were only going to be there for a couple of days it was going to be everything we'd read in other reviews and more. We couldn't have asked for more, our room was perfect, the breakfasts are amazing, they are fantastic hosts, and that goes for Viking too !!! We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
30
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

The Borgue Hotel is situated metres from NCN7 and is the ideal overnight stop for a cyclist on that route. Shirley and Vince are the most welcoming pub landlords I've ever met. They understand the needs of cyclists, and walkers for that matter, better than most in the hospitality industry. Shirley does front of house and Vince is barman and chef and what a great team they make. Thoroughly recommended, the rooms are gorgeous, the food lovely, and the guest lounge a perfect spot to chill and let tired legs recover whilst taking a dram. Breakfast is hearty and well presented; the perfect start to the day on wheels. The hotel bar is the village local and it clearly is the beating heart of this community, but that doesn't have any adverse impact on the B&B guests. I'd happily visit there with my wife, knowing the Borgue Hotel would surpass her high standards; and that ain't easy.

Room Tip: All superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We wanted to celebrate the arrival of our son Ernie in the place where we got married. It just so happens that my parents bought a cottage in the village but for this particular occasion we wouldn't all fit. That's when the fabulous Vince and Shirley stepped in. They were so accommodating - a fairly last minute booking with dates that kept moving about - you average nightmare guests. But nothing was a problem for the Borgue Hotel. Fantastically friendly people and not forgetting Viking the dog. We all had an amazing time. Lovely rooms, brilliant breakfast and great company in the evenings over a wee dram. We heartily recommend a stay and make sure to buy some freshly laid eggs and delicious home made Jam before you leave.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMouncey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

I would heartily endorse all the lovely compliments paid by the other reviewers to Shirley and Vince. I've had such happy times with mine hosts that I've returned not once but for a further 19 visits! They have the gift of making every guest feel uniquely special - and I've never once seen either of them even remotely grumpy.
A squeaky-clean establishment with squeaky-clean smiley owners. A great asset to the community.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geraldine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

A very friendly, helpful and accommodating couple Shirley and Vince are great hosts.
The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast sustained us until evening! As we were looking for family roots Shirley was able to lend us a book on the local school and refer us to the museum in Kirkudbright which has lots of local records.

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms but a very quiet location and great views from all. However I chanced to see the neighb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dominicsaunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Friendly welcome, immaculate room, very good breakfasts, nice location - one would have to be very nit-picky indeed not to rate The Borgue as "excellent" in every respect. And you can't say fairer than that!
Phil

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

After motoring some 4000 miles and staying at many hotels and B&B`s throughout England Ireland Scotland and Wales, none came close to the ambience and friendliness that Vince and Shirley have established at the Borgue Hotel. Only sorry our schedude didnt allow us to stay longer. A quiet comfortable hotel with real atmosphere especially in the bar where the locals made one feel at home .
The Hotel is well situated in beautiful rolling countryside,approx a 45 minute drive to the Stena line Ferry service to Ireland.

John & Diane Shennan

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borgue
3.6 mi away
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
The Selkirk Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cally Palace Hotel
Cally Palace Hotel
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
3.8 mi away
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
Kirkcudbright Bay Hotel
#3 of 4 in Kirkcudbright
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#2 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
Dee View Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 16 in Kirkcudbright
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 3 in Gatehouse of Fleet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgue Hotel

Property: Borgue Hotel
Address: Main Street, Borgue DG6 4SH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Borgue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Borgue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits all who visit the Borgue Hotel. We are a family run, small "Out of Town" hotel offering quality accommodation, food and drink. Our rustic style Lounge Bar is open to all and the views from our Sun Terrace are truly inspiring. "Resistance is Futile" you must visit the Borgue! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borgue Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing