We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissappointing”

Whitchurch Silk Mill
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A gem of industrial heritage in beautiful, rural Hampshire, Whitchurch Silk Mill is a 19th century water mill that weaves British silk fabrics using Victorian machinery. The Mill is the oldest working silk mill in Britain, still weaving in its original building. An historic silk mill. Whether you're machine-mad, an admirer of silk fabrics, a child learning about the Victorians, or just looking for a delightful day out in Hampshire, Whitchurch Silk Mill has something for you:> the original mill wheel and Victorian machinery;> fabulous fabrics on the looms;> a shop to indulge in silk products from the Mill, and much more;> peaceful setting by the River Test, with tearoom for lunch and refreshments.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very dissappointing”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Having looked at the web page for the mill it appeared to be a nice place to visit, however I would advise anyone thinking of going to think twice. Sure the building is lovely but from then on things go down hill. The route into the mill takes you around the building straight into the restaurant and then leaves you feeling rather lost as there appears to be no signs to follow. Once you have found your way back down stairs you basically end up where you started. On the ground floor is where the weaving takes place which is behind a glass screen with very little going on behind it, outside there is a sign to the waterwheel which was not working. The shop appears to be bigger online than it is in reality. The one plus is the guide book at least you can learn more from that rather than taking a trip around the mill. I felt it was poor value for money and would not recommend you go there unless you have 5 minutes to spare because that's all it takes to go round the place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    99
    45
    7
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Whitchurch Silk Mill”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We purchased a Groupon voucher for the Silk Mill which also included a hot drink each.

It is no doubt a beautiful old building and in a beautiful setting next to the River Test. There are some short informative videos but, maybe we were unlucky, no one doing the Silk thing so we had to be satisfied with looking at the equipment they use which wasn't so exciting.

We enjoyed a lovely drink in the self service cafe and, because the weather was so glorious, sat for half an hour outside enjoying the sunshine and watching the birds and the river.

If we had paid full price for this visit we would not have been impressed - it certainly doesn't warrant a £4.50 each entrance fee. Maybe that is why it was so very quiet on a lovely Bank holiday Monday?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mid week visit”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Although there were some videos to watch and you could have a go at some weaving, we were a little disappointed there were no live demos. Maybe at weekends and peak holiday time there might be. The stream alongside has ducks and is pretty.
In the shop they have leaflets showing walks around the town and along the river which would be nice to finish off with and make it more worthwhile. Sadly our journey there took longer than expected and we didn't have time to enjoy the surrounding area..

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern England
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Silk Weaving and Lovely Building”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The SIlk Mill is located in a lovely Hampshire village. Easy of parking and fabulous setting. The mill is a working mill with good attempts to inform visitors. When we were there were some ladies demonstrating bobbin ace making and professional on one of the looms. Children needed careful explanation as it is hard for them to relate - lots of hands on and touching opportunities, range of children worksheets too. For adults fascinating process and display of products and shop. Tea room is almost DIY, with free Wi-Fi range of cakes and hot and cold drinks. Grounds fabulous as directly on the River Test, chance of a picnic were spoilt by all the benches having been painted(oiled) and grass being cut. We went on a Groupon deal so were happy with the price. Disable and buggy access is still limiting experience for the less mobile.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank travell_a_lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Almost a rip off”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

What a waste of time and money! True, this is lovely, well restored building, easy to find and with a convenient car park - but that's where the good points end. Essentially, there are three rooms full of big, silent bits of machinery with nothing happening at all. In the first room - the carpenter's workshop, there were just piles of old tools and bits of wood covered in dust. There was a sign saying something like 'this exhibit is being renewed' - but the sign was also covered in dust. Up a flight of stairs and some reasonably informative posters and a quite good DVD - but it was just another room full of big metal bits, none of which were working and all were cordoned off so you could not even inspect them from close up. There was a staff member sitting listlessly at a work top but she did not even turn round to welcome or even acknowledge us. So, down some more stairs to the loom room which you can see through some glass panels - and still absolutely nothing happening in this 'working' mill! A sign told us that one weaver works part time - but absolutely not to be talked to, photographed or disturbed! Wherever she was that day, she was not visible, unless she was one of a pair of people chatting at the far end of the room.
Feeling very let down, out via the gift shop which was, unsurprisingly, well staffed, bright and full of ways to part with your hard earned cash. Needless to say, we did not do so.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whitchurch Silk Mill also viewed

 

Been to Whitchurch Silk Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing