We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good B&B in the vines”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domaine de Blaignac
Ranked #2 of 4 Ruch B&B and Inns
Andernos-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
156 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Very good B&B in the vines”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We chose this B&B for the location as we were going to see the battle of Castillon (a show that you must simply not miss, if you are lucky enough to be in this area at the right time) .

We received a friendly welcome in this nice B&B. The little swimming pool was also very much appreciated. Our room, "Havane", was nice and big with bathroom & separate toilet, ideal for a couple with one child as a second bed is added. The large bed is not that large; a queen or king size bed would be a nice improvement.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    25
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Domaine de Blaignac is a very charming and peaceful place in the middle of the wineyards. We've been there for 4 days and spent very relaxing days enjoying the swimming pool and visiting the area and the famous village of Saint Emilion. About the rooms, we got Havane which is well designed, spacious and the view from the windows is unique! Finally I'd like to thank Annie and Nathalie who gave us a very warm welcome and cooked somes delicious specialities of the region!


Nicolas from San Francisco

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nico2389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Traveling to the region for a wedding, we stayed in this charming "chambre d'hôte" on a friend's recommendation. Upon arrival we were impressed with the excellent condition of the home that had recently been renovated, according to the owner, and visibly been kept in impeccable condition since. Warm, spacious and clean, this particular location left us with no regrets. Especially after receiving such a warm welcome!
After checking in, we were shown directly to our room which was in the same, irreproachable condition as the common spaces. For the duration of our stay, the owner was available to answer all of our questions, made several, recommendations for sights to see should we have time, and showed much-appreciated interest in our comfort. We felt both welcome and at ease for our weekend here and would highly recommend this “chambre d’hôte” to anyone looking to stay in this area.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We had an absolutely terrible stay here for a wedding this summer. In our party, we had 3 babies - 3 months, 9 months and 19 months. On booking, we asked whether babies were welcome and were told that this was absolutely fine. We booked all 5 rooms for 3 nights. On arriving, the woman who runs it was immediately hostile, unpleasant and unfriendly and made the stay very difficult for us. We had confirmed in advance about highchairs and cots and had specifically asked if we could use the kitchen to prepare milk and food for the babies. We were told this was fine as long as the owner was there. They also provided a cot and highchair, so we were astonished at the hostility we received throughout our stay, which was due to us having babies there.

Although our children can be up at night, they were very good over this weekend, both day and night. The owner just does NOT seem to like babies.

A few specifics listed here but overall, the hostility and atmosphere created by the owner during our stay was unbelievable and not something we have ever seen or imagined before. - on arrival, the very first thing the owner said to us was "where are the other adults? You have booked 5 rooms. I have turned others away", to which we responded that we of course were paying for all rooms as we had booked and agreed in advance. There was no welcoming and no information given on how and where we could store baby food, or indeed get any food or drink ourselves. We were shown our rooms and she then walked off without offering any other information. She then proceeded to walk around with a face like thunder throughout the stay and any question we had was answered abruptly and rudely.
- we asked if we could put some milk and some meals in the fridge for the babies. The response was "there isn't much room. How much is it?", despite having emailed a few days before arrival to check we could use the kitchen for the babies' meals.
- EVERY single time we asked if we could get milk from the fridge or put something in the microwave, we were met with a scowling look and an abrupt response. The owner was intent on making our stay unpleasant and made it extremely difficult to sort out food and drink for everyone in the party.

Things eventually came to a head on our third day. The owner was insistent that we were in the wrong and that we had made "mess at the table" and that we hadn't notified her of the babies (later she acknowledged the 3 emails we had exchanged on the subject). It was an unbelievable experience and we were made to feel like an unwelcome nuisance rather than paying guests, right from the beginning. As for the mess at the table, we did feed two of the babies in the high chair provided and I can't say all the food went in their mouths but we wiped up afterwards and never once asked them to clear away or clean any of the baby equipment and of course, they never offered. Our biggest sin however, was to accidentally leave a small bread roll in the garden after lunch one day, which we were told off for later in the stay.

I would advise anyone with young children or babies to stay away. I don't know what the owner is like with parties without children but from the things she said to us, it appears she wants guests who do not want to do anything other than sleep there and eat breakfast. She even complained about having to clean our rooms, so I am not sure what she expects from her guests - perhaps that they clean their own rooms before they leave?

In summary, I wouldn't want another family to have the experience we had. Travelling with young children is difficult enough without an inhospitable owner making life as difficult as possible.

Other than this, the house itself is in a picturesque, quiet setting and is well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hlb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2009

Perfect place for a relaxed weekend in the beautiful region of Bordeaux, very comfortable and easy.
Nathalie and Annie were extremely friendly and very keen to help wherever possible.
We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magicphilpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruch
3.2 mi away
Hotel l'Epicurial
Hotel l'Epicurial
#1 of 1 in Saint-Pey-de-Castets
62 reviews
4.8 mi away
Chateau de Sanse
Chateau de Sanse
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Radegonde
123 reviews
5.4 mi away
Chateau de Courtebotte
Chateau de Courtebotte
#1 of 3 in Saint-Jean-de-Blaignac
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Domaine de Bel Air Carpe Diem
Domaine de Bel Air Carpe Diem
#1 of 2 in Tizac-De-Curton
296 reviews
5.1 mi away
L'Ilot-Vignes
L'Ilot-Vignes
#4 of 5 in Rauzan
86 reviews
2.2 mi away
Les Gues Rivieres
Les Gues Rivieres
#2 of 5 in Pujols
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Blaignac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Blaignac

Property: Domaine de Blaignac
Address: 3 Lieu Dit Blaignac, 33350 Ruch, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Ruch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ruch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Domaine de Blaignac, residence located in the middle of" Entre-deux-Mers" near St Emilion. There is a large garden in the heart of vineyard with swimming-pool and nordic bath for you pleasure. In the evenings and by reservation we invite your to join us for a family dinner including the wines of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Domaine de Blaignac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing