We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy!”
Review of Granny Mouse House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Granny Mouse House
Ranked #6 of 6 Hogsback B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Self-catering rondavel

The rondavel is small for a multi-night stay but it is fully kitted out as a self-catering unit. The unit is fairly new and clean. The open-plan shower takes some getting used to.

Granny Mouse House is off the main road and is in a very quiet area.

The owner, Ingrid, is a perfect hostess. She took us in late at night after we had been traumatised by an extremely dirty chalet elsewhere in Hogsback. She also gave us a significant discount for our 3-night stay, which we greatly appreciated.

Granny Mouse House is one of very few professional accommodation establishments in Hogsback, but for the full benefit we suggest that you choose one of the other options that Ingrid has available.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed for two nights, and had a lovely time. We've stayed in more luxurious accommodation, and this is a little rustic, but absolutely charming. Being the middle of winter, the electric blankets were perfect. The welcome was lovely and Ingrid is a fantastic cook, we so enjoyed the dinner she made for us on the first night. Starting off an evening by sitting round a roaring fire with a sherry is one that is typically South African in it's friendliness. We really did love our two days in Hogsback and Ingrid had a lot to do with that.

After we left we realised at ELS that we had left something behind. Ingrid went out of her way to get it back to us in Joburg the next week. Helpfulness doesn't cover what she did. Thanks again.

The dogs are so sweet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natholian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Very accommodating proprietor and real value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The Barefoot Photographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We spent very relaxed an pleasant days at this peaceful place with the very polite land-lady.
She served us most delicious breakfast and diner always fresh and carefully prepared.
Very nice and clean rooms and generous ambiente. Especially the beautiful garden which you face sitting on your private terrace invites you to stay there the whole day.
Johannes and Corinna Poth

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johannes P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We spent 3 nights at Granny Mouse for our second wedding anniversary and it was lovely and relaxing. We were in the self catering accommodation, which more than catered for our needs. Hogsback is a beautiful place and Granny Mouse is situated in a lovely quiet spot, with it's own stunning gardens and pool. Definitely a romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDangerfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

From initial contact Granny Mouse and our hostess Ingrid went the extra mile to make our stay memorable. Guest cottage beautifully appointed, cuisine sublime and relaxed evenings with a great raconteur! We could be as private or as sociable as we liked , while service remained impeccable. Great value !! Mike and Chrissie Craddock

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedawnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

we had the most wonderful stay at Granny mouse house and the ambiance, food, wine and warmth of the establishement was amazing. The owner Ingrid was an amazing host and we will be back very soon. Thanks again Ingrid for your warmth and for sharing your wonderful establishment with us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liezel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hogsback hotels
0.7 mi away
Maple Grove
Maple Grove
#1 of 6 in Hogsback
140 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nutwoods Park
Nutwoods Park
#3 of 6 in Hogsback
59 reviews
1.1 mi away
The King's Lodge Hotel
The King's Lodge Hotel
#4 of 6 in Hogsback
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Laragh-on-Hogsback Cottages
6.3 mi away
Elundini Backpackers
Elundini Backpackers
#4 of 10 in Hogsback
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Granny Mouse House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granny Mouse House

Address: Nutwoods Drive, Hogsback 5721, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Hogsback
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hogsback
Price Range: £37 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Granny Mouse House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granny Mouse House is an intimate Settler-period Guesthouse providing upmarket accommodation options to the discerning traveler. A maximum of 6 adult Guests are personally catered for by the Owner/ Manager in a sophisticated yet relaxed country atmosphere. Complimentary sherry is provided as well as tea and coffee/ own bar-fridge etc facilities in each room. This is a crystal, bone china and silver sort of place. We also have 2 separate fully equipped self-catering units available, each sleeping a couple, which allow for complete privacy if that is preferred. We do not accommodate children under 12 years. All units are en-suite and have private pool and garden-facing patios. Our swimming pool has a waterfall rock feature which attracts wonderful birdlife which may be viewed from your patio while sipping your tea. Most of the 8 acre property is given over to show gardens with views of all the surrounding mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Granny Mouse House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing