We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super country retreat”

Never Daunted Self-Catering
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hogsback
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Never Daunted Self-Catering
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We had a wonderful long weekend at Never Daunted. We went with two other families, so we hired 3 cottages in all. It was absolutely perfect for our needs - clean and affordable. We could be together, yet private and the gardens were enchanting - even the big holly bush had lovely red berries! We gathered at Redwood chalet most of the time as the open plan layout lent itself to entertaining. The beds were snug with the electric blankets and the fire lent warmth and atmosphere to the cottage. We were given clear instructions about how to find the chalet and NOT to use the other entrance!I would agree with Britzfamily and LocalislekkerPE about Hogsback roads - they are not great in this little hamlet, so be prepared. Josef and Elsa Steyn were great hosts - they appeared promptly whenever we asked for something and they were most obliging. A really welcome and super break!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

My husband and I go to Hogsback between two and four times a year. We always stay at Never Daunted. The cottages are all nestled in beautiful gardens. Our favourite cottage is Redwood Chalet. The cottages are always clean. We did not need to go find wood somewhere because Josef and his staff checks everyday if their guests need wood for braais and fireplaces. Josef and Elsa are wonderful hosts who would do anything to secure the comfort of their guests.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My wife and I decided to stay at Never Daunted, we had an enjoyable experience there, the friendly owners Josef and Elsa made us feel welcome from our first night until the day we left. We arrived late at night and were there in the middle of winter, but this did not stop Elsa from coming out in the cold to find out if everything was to our satisfaction, which it was, with electrc blankets, heaters and enough wood for the fire place. The self-catering units are fully equipped so that one can spend several days there. We really and truely enjoyed it there, we have been back and will be going back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Every time I go to Hogsback, I return to Never Daunted. The couple that own\ run the business are very accomodating and most hospitable, making space for me whenever I need a "time-out". After quite an exhausting trip to Mozambique for work, I popped in and was able to recharge my batteries because the space afforded me the peace and quiet required. LOVED the winter sheets on the bed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We spent 2 nights at Never Daunted with friends and it was a good experience. The roads are what one would expect from a mountiness, remote destination. The unit is not "modern" however it was clean and comfortable. If you want 5 star accommodation then you must be prepared to pay 5 star prices. The electric blankets on the beds were great! The view from the cottage is spectacular. Mr and Mrs Steyn the owners were very friendly and accommodating.The only thing missing .... S N O W! but we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Britzfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I have stayed at Never Daunted twice and was never disappointed. My first visit in a little Toyota Tazz and made it up the path. Road conditions depend on the weather, but I would recommend going to Hogsback in an SUV or high clearance vehicle. None of the roads are tarred which is part of its remoteness and charm. Accommodation was clean and fully equipped and good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LocalislekkerPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Redwood Cottage

The unit was large with a spacious open plan lounge and kitchen. The kitchen is fully fitted. There are two bedrooms (1 upstairs with two single beds and adjoining toilet). There was a double bed in the lower bedroom. The bathroom had a bath and shower.

The unit was very dirty. The bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a very long time. We found a dead sun-bird in the upper bedroom. We felt that this further demonstrated that the unit had not been properly cleaned since the previous occupants had left.

The proprietors did not tell us that the Redwood cottage was not accessible via the signs to Never Daunted. The road to get to the cottage was barely driveable with a Toyota Corolla.

We left once we realised how dirty things were.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hogsback hotels
1.4 mi away
Maple Grove
Maple Grove
#1 of 6 in Hogsback
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
The King's Lodge Hotel
The King's Lodge Hotel
#4 of 6 in Hogsback
103 reviews
0.4 mi away
Laragh-on-Hogsback Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Nutwoods Park
Nutwoods Park
#2 of 6 in Hogsback
61 reviews
0.7 mi away
Granny Mouse House
Granny Mouse House
#6 of 6 in Hogsback
37 reviews
6.8 mi away
Elundini Backpackers
Elundini Backpackers
#3 of 10 in Hogsback
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Never Daunted Self-Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Never Daunted Self-Catering

Address: 6 Redcoat Lane, Hogsback 5721, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Hogsback
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Hogsback
Price Range: £37 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer five fully equipped, self-catering cottages overlooking a beautiful garden and the Hogsback mountains. The cottages are surrounded by indigenous trees, flowers and shrubs. Inquisitive Samango monkeys and Knysna louries are frequent visitors. Under cover braai facilities and cozy log fires ensure a memorable and peaceful breakaway. Hogsback offers scenic one-day hikes through lush forests, beautiful waterfalls and much more. Do join us and experience the magic of the misty rain forest, silver waterfalls and rejuvenating atmosphere. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing