We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Pub in town”
Review of The Hogsback Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hogsback Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Hogsback B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2013

we are return guests in Hogsback Inn . Location you cant beat .It is an old hotel but money for value. The staff are superb and welcome you like family. The Pub and the pub food is a must, a warm fire for the cold evenings

Room Tip: rooms face carpark or garden depends if you are early hikers !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Copperdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

We only stayed here one night on our way down to the Garden Route and it was ok. To be honest, we wouldn't have picked it if most other accommodation in Hogsback wasn't already booked. You can tell the place was probably quite nice in its heyday, but it's quite run down and the rooms are in need of a renovation.

We really enjoyed our dinner at the restaurant, but wouldn't necessarily choose it again for accommodation.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DP301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We ordered steak and chips, steak was made to our satisfaction, thanks to the chef. The service of the waiter and the reception staff were very friendly. I would recommend anybody to eat there as it is worthwhile and the food really is delicious.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Based on a spontaneous decision my husband and I decided to travel to Hogsback situated in the Amathole mountains, Eastern Cape. We booked and stayed in a suite in the Hogsback Inn for 2 nights - it was fantastic! This Inn's staff were friendly, professional and provided world class service. Our suite was located at a stream on the edge of a magical forest - the view was thus breathtaking with the relaxing sounds of indigenous birds and the trickling stream. Our suite had an open log fire place in the middle which heated up both the bedroom and sitting room side. Tastefully decorated, spacious and has a jacuzzi bath. It was both romantic and very comfortable. There are beautiful hikes in the mountains, through lush natural forests dotted with magnificent waterfalls. A lovely romantic weekend getaway.

Room Tip: There are 4 suites - it is recommended to book one for your stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrigitCarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

the Amatole mountains just a CASUAL 3 hour very scenic drive from PE saw us stop briefly in Grahamstown to see the Settlers Monument and visit 2 museums... all dissapointing. The 3 mountains in the Hog range were less dissapointing...wow, what a vista and what clean fresh air.
Arrived in the hamlet to a friendly Jill and Dave who checked us in and a quick executive dec ision by my wife saw us upgrade to the executive suite alongside the mountain stream - this is world class accomodation!
Selby settled us down with a GnT and a beer and we watched the day disappear with sundowners and snacks.
Breakfast was hearty and was followed by a 10km hike via the big tree to Madonna and child falls. We had a romantic 2 people braai for late lunch and woke to mist after a fire in room chill out evening of chatting and reading.
We will be back...and cant wait to see the snow!

Room Tip: ROOMS 1-4 ARE EXECUTIVE ON THE STREAM..there is also a family room catering for 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We are touring SA on a motobike since weeks and so far did not have a single negative ecperience, regarding accomodation.
Until we hid this place..... Stayes in one of the self-catering cottages. The place was so rotten and sulky, you quickly had to close the door, otherwise the 250 year old carpet , might have been walking out on itself .
Whatever you needed or asked.... it was a "don´t know or don´t have" answer.....
The bar hasn t be renovated since Stoneage times and the rest ....... - no comment - ...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Popped in for a beer. Only patrons in hotel. Great service in the pub from Selby. A local gentleman who Gave us lots of advice on where to go and numerous hikes plus a bit of history. Interesting old
Place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndrewCTKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hogsback hotels
0 mi away
Arminel Hogsback Village
Arminel Hogsback Village
#2 of 2 in Hogsback
49 reviews
1.1 mi away
Granny Mouse House
Granny Mouse House
#5 of 6 in Hogsback
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
The King's Lodge Hotel
The King's Lodge Hotel
#4 of 6 in Hogsback
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Nutwoods Park
Nutwoods Park
#3 of 6 in Hogsback
61 reviews
1.7 mi away
Maple Grove
Maple Grove
#1 of 6 in Hogsback
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laragh-on-Hogsback Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hogsback Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hogsback Inn

Address: Off the R345, Hogsback 5721, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Hogsback
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hogsback
Price Range: £57 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Hogsback Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing