We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing this time”
Review of The Hogsback Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hogsback
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Hogsback Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hogsback B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We have had lovely stays here ...but this time, for the upmarket/luxury rates they charge ...... very disappointing. Its a shame! ...because this hotel has so much going for it! Basically a beautiful hotel that needs care and maintenance. With the rates they charge, you would expect perfection...or at least maintenance kept up, with ..... everything in working order, and gardens, grounds and swimming pool attended to. We stayed in the new wing in one of the suites, cleanliness was good.... but linen not up to standard, the towel heating rail did not work, absolutely no water pressure for showering. We complained , and hoped that it would improve, but for the entire stay it just got worse... to the point where the trickle of water was negligible. Plus on the last night the water pressure was so pathetic , and had got so bad....unable to shower at all , and the toilet could not fill for flushing, even through the night it was not filled by the next morning!! ... and we had to use the plastic waste-bin to fill up the cistern for flushing! The sliding doors fell off their rails so we couldn’t use them. The gardens are in serious need of attention, I like natural gardens ...but!! The swimming pool which could be lovely, even to look at, is in disrepair and an eyesore. It was very cold weather and the only heating available is when you light the fire, which is nice to have, but not practical if you come back late at night after dinner, or for warmth in the early morning. On checking out we felt our complaints again fell on deaf ears. maybe they knew that there were problems with the water pressure, and they were awaiting repairs(?) ... well, they should warn guests of the problem, so we have a choice.
The staff ..... cleaning staff, grounds staff and kitchen/dining staff are all welcoming and superb . They are wonderful , smiling and attentive. This is a wonderful hotel with its history, location and the renovations that have been done...BUT just so sad there is no upkeep! ... Luxury rates are charged for the new wing ......Do not know how these rates are justified! Yes, its a shame !!.... attention to detail would make this hotel a treat. Hogsback Inn could be a special place !!! ..with some TLC, maintenance and pride. I hope this hotel finds its glory and attraction again.

Room Tip: This hotel is an experience for the olde worlde feel ...... but before booking/checking in .... enq...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave J, Manager at The Hogsback Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

These guests visit us regularly and it is disappointing to learn that they did not enjoy their stay & that they did not make contact with me (one way or another) so that I could personally attend to these issues. The following points are relevant :
- We value all guest feedback & are appreciative of their specific input
- These guests always stay in our suites and, because they are "regulars", pay a very much reduced rate, almost a 50% discount on the normal rates
- Our rates in general are far from "Luxury" and are in keeping with what we offer & in accordance with what our market suggests we can charge
- The Inn is more than 130 years old and, because of its age, has a number of unique maintenance issues which require a great deal of regular care & attention. We do try to keep up but it is not always possible to do so all the time.

We will give full attention to the maintenance issues raised but must make mention of the following - The guests only mentioned the water pressure issue on the last day of their stay and, as we had a major mains water supply problem at the time, we assumed that the two were connected, The pool had been emptied as a result of the same water problem & the non-flushing toilet (reported on departure) resulted from dislodged debris (from the mains problem) blocking the valve & it worked 100% once the filter had been cleaned.
- The guests stayed during a windy period in autumn when it is impossible to keep up with falling leaves & other garden debris without employing a mega gardens team. Other guests will attest to the beauty & upkeep of the gardens & grounds any time other than autumn
- The swimming pool is lovely but is not used at all during the winter. As explained previously, it had been temporarily emptied as part of resolving the mains water supply problem

I was not on duty when the guest checked out & feel that this could have been easily resolved had I been on duty. We do our best with relatively limited means to operate & maintain the Inn and generally do a good job. The guests are correct, major spend on the property is required to restore it to its former glory but in the meantime, the budget rates offered provide clean, cosy and affordable accommodation which the bulk of our guests find quite adequate. I am glad that these guests heap praise on our staff as they are the ones that make the Inn what it is

I really hope that they will reconsider & that they will stay with us again. They have been more than satisfied in the past & I am sure that we can ensure that this continues in the future

The Inn does have some maintenance issues which need to be resolved (and we are working on them) but is still a great accommodation option with lots of charm & old world hospitality

Kind regards

Dave Johnson - Manager






































































































-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for The Hogsback Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

I have been staying here everytime I come to hogsback, a secluded peaceful village in the mountains. Every time the hospitality is outstanding and it is laid back and friendly. It has that old eastern cape charm which always draws me back

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kradmelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Old hotel in serious need of renovation. The staff were very helpful and the food of a good standard except for the lumpy custard served with the Malva pudding.
The barman, from England, was very chatty and helpful. The room that I occupied was ok, the carpet was discoloured and very old. The electric blanked on the bed was a nice touch.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Valerio1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our stay here was wonderful! First time and not the last! We stayed in one of the suites in the new wing, and all I can say is that it is neither too big nor too small, just right! Comfortable seating area, fridge and coffee/tea area, beautiful fire place with wood and kindling delivered every day, and the huge double bed very comfortable with beautiful linen. bathroom very spacious, with gorgeous olde worlde bathtub, shower for TWO (two rain showerheads!), double wash basins, fluffy towels on heated towel rails....we could not fault this accommodation! Plus! .. open the sliding doors and you have a beautiful running stream outside! ..beautiful to look at and to listen to! This hotel is in a good position, especially for peace and quiet, as you are far enough from the main Hogsback road, that you cannot hear traffic. A real treat. The staff are amazing ALL ...really wanting you to feel at home and you do! breakfasts have all the choices, service excellent, as is the bar service, and the bar food. We had numerous meals in the bar and ALL wonderful, from grilled fish, curries, hamburgers, salads and deserts. We really felt at home in this easy and relaxed atmosphere. Thank you to the management and all the staff!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vikki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I remember the Hogsback Inn from my childhood, and went back for the first time in thirty years. Hogsback is still beautiful, and highly recommended. We stayed in a self catering room. It had 2 double bedrooms, bathroom, a big lounge area with a pullout couch, and a kitchen. The self catering rooms needed quite a bit of sprucing up, but overlooking this, very good value. As Hogsback is a little hamlet, everything closes quite early in the evening, so don't wait to go out, otherwise you'll go hungry. The area is beautiful, with lovely walks, ranging from an easy stroll, to hard walks. Pick up the booklet of the walks at the tourist information. 49 Steps an easy walk, and Madonna and Child beautiful. Unfortunately the pool was green when we were there. I got the idea they have it tip top condition for the weekends, when they are busiest. Go to The Edge for a beautiful view down the valleys. Please be aware, the roads in the Eastern Cape are atrocious and in very poor condition.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budgetfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This mountain hotel has an warm and quaint feel to it. At first it is unassuming, but you soon realize that there is a deeper warmth to this old school hotel. It reminds one of an old English country lodge, set in an typical Tolkien world forest.

Room Tip: All the rooms are modern and comfortable
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernardd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

we are return guests in Hogsback Inn . Location you cant beat .It is an old hotel but money for value. The staff are superb and welcome you like family. The Pub and the pub food is a must, a warm fire for the cold evenings

Room Tip: rooms face carpark or garden depends if you are early hikers !
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Copperdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hogsback hotels
0.3 mi away
The King's Lodge
The King's Lodge
#4 of 6 in Hogsback
103 reviews
1.7 mi away
Maple Grove
Maple Grove
#1 of 6 in Hogsback
135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nutwoods Park
Nutwoods Park
#3 of 6 in Hogsback
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Granny Mouse House
Granny Mouse House
#6 of 6 in Hogsback
33 reviews
0.7 mi away
Laragh-on-Hogsback Cottages
7.0 mi away
Elundini Backpackers
Elundini Backpackers
#4 of 10 in Hogsback
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hogsback Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hogsback Inn

Address: Off the R345, Hogsback 5721, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Hogsback
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hogsback
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing