We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elundini Backpackers
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Elundini surpassed all expectations. Lieve was always available by phone as I called with questions, directions, informing that I was late, etc. So that was reassuring. I arrived and Lieve had prepared a delicious meal of steak and pap which was just perfect after a long road trip. She and her husband were lovely company and gave me the best tips for hiking in Hogsback the next two days. There are so many options there and I must say their advice was spot on, taking into consideration weather conditions, timing, distance, etc. Elundini is located just outside of Hogsback in an idyllic setting and in a quiet, traditional Xhosa village with very friendly locals. It is a great place to get that Out of Africa experience. I did some hikes from the lodge just up the hill and was rewarded with lovely views. Wish I had time to do the trail that Lieve's husband actually made with tree markings and all, but that will be next time. It was also fun to hang out with her children and those of her neighbors. Very cute and a great way to learn a few Xhosa words. The rondavels are spotless and huge. The bathrooms and showers clean and the water nice and piping hot, good water pressure. I must say I much preferred Elundini to other similar African community backpackers such as Bulungula. Definitely stay here - was only sorry I was there for two nights. Could have stayed much longer if I did not have to rush to Grahamstown. But will most definitely be back. And Hogsback and surroundings are gorgeous, beautiful mountains, forests, waterfalls and safe. Go for it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KincsZoltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

If you are wanting to get away from it all, then this place is for you. Nestled between Alice and the scenic mountain region of Hogsback, the property is located on a large plot of land on the outskirts of a working Xhosa farming village.

Elundini is a place where the everyday reminders of the chaotic outside world such as the notifications of incoming emails and annoying buzzing of cell phones are replaced with the 'mooing' of cows and the tingling of a neck bell from a passing herd of sheep.

Accommodation consisted of a traditional rondavel that was simple but comfortable. With all buildings on site being constructed predominantly from natural materials the property achieves a rustic atmosphere.

We ate the meals provided by the owners (Lieve and Elliot) that were hearty, filing, delicious and budget friendly. The owners themselves being an incredibly friendly and hospitable duo.

The best part of Elundini is the ability to be either active or complacent. Myself choosing the complacency. Swinging in the hammock reading a book or sitting on the verandah watching a thunder storm creep it's way up the valley.

Finally, remember to charge your electronic appliances before you come as the property is off the grid, or better yet just leave them at home for a more authentic experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We knew we wanted to stay here after our email correspondence from Lieve, who went above and beyond to help get us there - as we were travelling around South Africa in merely public transport/local minibuses etc (which is perfectly fine/safe by the way!).

Lieve and her husband are two of the nicest hosts we've encountered so far on our travels. They've built the whole complex from scratch and if you want to really 'get away from it all' (we went to Hogsback first and found that you can't really do that there as the place has been invaded by street sellers/drug pushers/beggars and such) then opt for Elundini. It was our first time staying in a rondavel and a long time since we'd stayed somewhere without electricity - but that's the beauty of the place. They have a large outdoor fire area, a pool table and big common area for socialising purposes. We enjoyed our very first South African 'braai' here, cooked especially for us by Lieve and Elliot. I can't imagine we'd sample a better braai elsewhere, to be honest. Exactly what we were looking for - delicious homemade food.

The 5* hospitality and the sun setting over the hillside in the background made for a perfect couple of days. Thanks guys and I hope others find this real gem of a place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wilkoxx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

The stay here was part of an overnight horseride with Shane from Terra - Khaya: arriving in this village on horses was like a scene in Western movies, very impressive arrival and a warm and very friendly welcome from Elliott and Lieve at Elundini was the icing on the cake. The views are mesmerizing, the food jummy and the lounge-dining area in their home vast and cozy. Elliot took us on a hike to show the surroundings and his knowledge is endless, the best guide you can have. You feel part of the family and this makes this BP special and unique. Visit the village school, the shop, Xosa cooking, hike in the beautiful surroundings, just be lazy on the terrace enjoying the views, ... I can only recommend this cozy place with a fantastic family running Elundini. Elliot and Lieve, I will be back :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Lieve and Elliot are doing a very good job to make you feel very welcome, the food they prepare is excellent. You can take long walks into the beautiful valley, they will guide you, they show you around the rural village. Let local Xhosa people show you there way of life by participating in a cooking lesson, making local bread . The rondavels in wich you can sleep are cosy, very clean, spacious and authenticly build. There's no electricity but you don't really miss it, it 's part of the authentic way of life here !!!! If you want to meet locals, this is the place to be !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boogschutter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank marygabrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lieve C, Owner at Elundini Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: attention aux vaches errantes sur le chemin, surtout de nuit, même si ça fait aussi parti du charme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kennedy76140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hogsback hotels
6.3 mi away
Granny Mouse House
Granny Mouse House
#6 of 6 in Hogsback
35 reviews
6.7 mi away
Laragh-on-Hogsback Cottages
6.4 mi away
Maple Grove
Maple Grove
#1 of 6 in Hogsback
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Nutwoods Park
Nutwoods Park
#3 of 6 in Hogsback
59 reviews
6.8 mi away
The King's Lodge Hotel
The King's Lodge Hotel
#4 of 6 in Hogsback
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elundini Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elundini Backpackers

Address: Elundini Location, Hogsback 5700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Hogsback
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Hogsback
Price Range: £7 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This backpackers gives you a true Xhosa experience you won't find in any brochure. Stay in tradional rondavels and join the activities organised by local people trough their 100% self owned businesses. At night have a sundowner around the campfire and gaze at the galaxy of stars on a moonlit evening. A true sense of living guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Elundini Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing