We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“this time was breakfasts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Edge

The Edge
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Hogsback
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“this time was breakfasts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have had excellent dinners here on previous visits, but this time we had a few breakfasts here. ...and they were excellent! Amazing a la carte menu for breakfast including wonderful berry dishes, eggs of all kinds with wonderful choices for accompaniments. I said to the waitress on the first day we had b/fast that I didn't want it to end it was so good! Lovely coffee and cappuccinos. And of course you have a beautiful walk you can do around the Bluff right there!! ...after your hearty breakfast! So thankyou all at the Edge for our memorable family breakfasts we had there this time, sitting outside in the sunshine or under the tree. yes, you have a beautiful facility there, and you are an asset for Hogsback!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank vikki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    39
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hogsback
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Wonderful home made burgers, chips to die for. Had a selection of Tapa's for lunch the next day, so tasty. Great views. Coffee was very good. Very helpful staff when planning your day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenton-on-Sea, South Africa
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sort of OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

It was lunch we had there, and we ordered Lamb Burger - it was not what I expected. And when we asked for a fly swatter (to get rid of the flies) they did not have one. I expected a bit more hospitality. Perhaps it was just a bad luck day

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Logymurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

This place is stunning!The dining room has its own peacefulness.The food was excellent.With the toast came their own homemade apricot jam

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cassSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dar el salamm
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“views are a must”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Walk the labrynthe, sit at the edge and drink in the views, then take English tea and scones in the restaurant. Stunning

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Edge also viewed

Hogsback, Eastern Cape
Hogsback, Eastern Cape
 
Hogsback, Eastern Cape
 

Been to The Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing