We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Hogsback Adventures
Ranked #3 of 9 things to do in Hogsback
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The one and only way to experience Hogsback - Guided Mountain Bike Tours, Abseiling and Archery. Mountain Biking: Our scenic bike tour takes you past numerous waterfalls to hidden viewpoints off the beaten track. The guide's local knowledge will entertain you with interesting facts about the area while you take in the breathtaking views. Enjoy a refreshing swim in a natural jacuzzi and a picnic at Robinson Dam. Meander through pine plantations along the old jeep tracks, then enter the indigenous forests where you'll face some single track madness. Abseiling: Abseil down a 35m waterfall into the indigenous forests below - an exhilarating alternative to reaching the bottom of the famous Madonna & Child Waterfall. Archery: Looking for something safe, easy and fun for the whole family, then try your hand at the age old tradition of Archery.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Neels was such a good guide - it felt more like hanging out with a friend than being on some weird touristy experience. He's also incredibly knowledgeable about the area and its history and very patient with you if you're not so good at bike riding (ah hem, not that that was me ;) ). It was such a great way to see the area!

Visited June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogsadventures, Owner at Hogsback Adventures, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi Jenna

Thanks so much for posting your review. Well done on conquering the ride! We must let you know that we have now invested in some padded covers for the bike seats - I'm sure all future clients will have a slightly more comfortable journey ;-)

Thanks again and we wish you safe travels further.

Neels and Candy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    9
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We enjoyed our trip very much! The guide squeezed in some time for us, and we are very grateful for that. The area is just indescribable. Stunning views and waterfalls. But also, the mountain biking itself was a lot of fun and so was the guide.

Visited June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Thys16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogsadventures, Owner at Hogsback Adventures, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Hi there Thys

Thanks so much for joining us on the tour. Neels had a great time out with you guys, so we're glad we could fit you in on the day and show you our special mountain.!

Enjoy the rest of your time in South Africa and we wish you safe travels further.

Neels and Candy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Koh Tao, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Worthwhile”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Great thing to do even if you are not an avid biker, though I am and wish Id had more time to do more trails and go higher , the single tracks are excellent really fun the views stunning and the guides and staff really passionate and knowledgable about the area , highly recommended , thanks Tim

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bintobintang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogsadventures, Owner at Hogsback Adventures, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Heya Tim

Thanks for posting your comments. We're super glad you guys enjoyed the ride! We had a great time showing you our beautiful mountain :-), just sorry you didn't join us on the abseil that day!

Safe travels further, take care.!

Neels and Candy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool abseiling!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Going down the Madonna and Child waterfall was amazing! The view is stunning. It seems pretty safe and Candy is very professional. Just be aware you may get veeeery wet!

Visited June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank jarafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogsadventures, Owner at Hogsback Adventures, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Hi there

Thanks so much for your review. Indeed you're right - abseiling next to Madonna & Child is quite an adventure, especially when the wind blows the waterall right over you! On the flip side, if it's a still, Sunny day, you may be lucky enough to see the rainbow in the waterfall!

Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments.

Candy and Neels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulm, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hogsback from a different angle”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

If you've done the hiking trail and have a sense of adventure, then you must visit Hogsback Adventures. Partake in a guided mountain bike tour, and see Hogsback in a different environment. The guide is friendly and tell you stories as you drive through the forest. The whole journey is very relaxed and you stop often to take pictures of the beautiful environment and the waterfalls!
Remember to wear comfortable clothes and shoes and bring plenty of food and water. And have lots of energy for the hills. Don't forget your camera, because anything can happen during the journey!!!

Visited May 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Carrich101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hogsadventures, Owner at Hogsback Adventures, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hey Carlia

Thanks for taking the time to post a review - we really appreciate it.!

Very good advice there - to take your camera. We have some great "action" pics of your ride - thank you.! :-)

Hope to see you guys back in Hogsback soon for some more training...

Take care
Neels and Candy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hogsback Adventures also viewed

Hogsback, Eastern Cape
Hogsback, Eastern Cape
 
Hogsback, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Hogsback Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing