We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I have only rated this property a 3 because the external grounds and spa is it's only saving grace. We stayed in a Family hotel room. It was honestly a disappointment. The room is dull and everything is old. The bathroom consisted of a bath/ shower with brown rings in the tub and the toilet also had brown rings in the bowl. The balcony was dirty. What was really shocking was the dirt in the passageways outside the rooms. This was most off putting. There are no extras in rooms like hairdryers or safes. Breakfast was minimal. most of the food items that we tried were overcooked or stale.

The external grounds are beautiful and well kept. there are many pools and activities for children. The spa is great, well kept and professional.

It is sad because with just a little TLC and effort, this could be a really amazing get away.

Room Tip: Rather go to Warmbaths
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melisha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan Smith S, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Greetings from Natal Spa,

I wish to thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

Firstly thank you for choosing to stay with us at Natal Spa, we value your support.
Thank you for your valued feedback. All the concerns you have raised have been investigated and please be assured have been dealt with at the highest level

I also wish to thank you for your positive feedback regarding the well kept grounds, pools/activities and the Spa, I will pass this feedback onto the respective Heads of Department.

We are continuously upgrading and You will be pleased to know that later this year a number of our family rooms will be undergoing a refurbishment.
I do hope that we will see you back at Natal Spa again soon. Please request one of the new family rooms on your next visit. I trust that you will pleased with the improvements.

Once again, thank you for your valued Feedback and Support

Kindest Regards
Ryan Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We've been coming to Natal Spa for many years & it's definitely improved since new ownership. The campsite is large with powerpoints & ablutions are clean & adequate, but no communal kitchens so you have to bring EVERYTHING! There are tennis courts, crazy golf & a good water slide, but the springs are the best. Relax, watch the rock Hyraxes chasing each other over the rocks (strangely, they sound like ducks when they fight!) & enjoy a hot & cold shower when you finally drag yourself out. The hotel generally only provides a buffet in the evenings which is rather out of our budget & appetite, but they do provide a la carte if there are less than 30 guests. We were there in April & be warned, it can be bitterly cold, so take thermals!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan Smith S, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Greetings from Natal Spa,

Firstly Thank you for your support over the years and for choosing to stay with us at Natal Spa.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. Your valued feedback is important to us and I am thrilled that you are in support of all the improvements that have been made at Natal Spa since Gooderson Leisure took over. There all lots more improvements still to come.

I trust that we will see you back at Natal Spa again soon.

Kindest Regards
Ryan Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Hotel rooms were old but clean. The breakfast and supper were great as we're the mountain bike trails (labeling could have been better though) but the overall maintenance of the property was terrible. The pool area had never been swept (not nice when you have wet feet) and it seemed as if they were operating with minimum staff and this for the Easter long weekend. Could be a great resort if it were better managed!!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois R, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Dear Jeff A

Thank you for reviewing our resort and for your positive suggestions.

Best Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The hotel is located in a great location but is let down but old fashioned rooms and poor maintenance, and haphazard service. The rooms were adequate but the bathroom was not great, there was a shower over the bath - my pet hate!! nowhere to put one's washbag and definitely not room for more than one person. There was no fridge in the room and no safe.

The food was very good but the service was a bit lack lustre, we had to find waiters to order drinks in the evening and there appeared to be only one barman serving the whole hotel and he would disappear and then come back.

We booked spa treatments and arrived only to find the therapists had changed shifts and so we had to wait whilst they sorted themselves out.

The pools themselves were great and the super tube looked like a great attraction. it was a very busy weekend and there was no one from the hotel supervising in the pool area and some kids were running riot screaming and splashing - in spite of notices that this is not allowed. These kids and their parents shold have been removed, they made it unpleasant for others.

The resort needs a bit of TLC, basic painting, weeding in flower pots, removing dead plants in pots.

that was the bad now for the good, the scenery was magnificent, the grounds have beautiful tress and we went running on the mountain bike path which was amazing we discovered to our delight that there was a running race on the Saturday, which turned out to be the highlight of the weekend, very friendly organisers, great fellow runners, awesome spot prizes and a challenging hilly course.

we have been to other Gooderson resorts which had better facilities and charged the same rates so that was a bit disappointing

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ruthsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois R, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Dear Ruthsten

Thank you for taking the time reviewing our resort.

Best Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

4 hours from Durban with a short stop included this resort is good for some rest and relaxation.The hot mineral water pools which are natural are the main attraction and after an hour just wading and swimming in them makes you feel very relaxed and tired as well.The unit we had was excellent and we had outside sone dassies(large squirrel like animal) and cats to keep us company.Kids loved the 100mtr slide into the pools.I got tired after about 5 tries.Even my 6 year old enjoyed it.My 14 and 10 year old went tge whole day.Management was very accommodating especially Ricki Lake who gave my wife and I complimentary access to the wellness spa.Some negatives were we wanted to do a quad biking trail as a whole family but there was only 1 quad bike available.Also with the horses there were not enough to accommodate us as a family.The 100mtr slide closes at 4pm which is odd.Got a little lost coming in to the resort and reception staff on duty at that time were not very helpful telephonically.Also the price is a bit on the expensive side according to me.R1600 per 6 sleeper per night.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank sumisat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois R, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Dear Sumisat

Thank you for taking the time reviewing our resort and for your positive suggestions.

Best Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We decided to stop here on our way back from the coast, the spa is in a beautiful area with great views.

We swam in the mineral pools and made use of the spa which we enjoyed.

The reception arranged an early checkin but nobody there to help with our bags and show us our room(221).

The room was clean and had two double beds with a couple of TV Chanel's to choose from on a dated tv.

The hotel is old which can give character but in this case it needs a lot of TLC and maintainence.

The food was good, buffet for supper (not included in the price) . The staff were friendly and helpful.

We did enjoy our one night stay but would probably stay somewhere else with better value for money.

I booked through bookings.com (on trip adviser website) and saved almost a third of the price of what the group were offering.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank BluffyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois R, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Dear BluffyBoy

Thank you for taking the time reviewing our resort and for your positive suggestions.

Best Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We used Natal Spa as an option of our vacation club and it was clearly below standard compared to other places we recently stayed at. The unit was not clean and is clearly due for a make over. There is however little concern about occupational safety. There is currently a serious problem with wasps/bees which are taking over the resort. Reporting it elicited little response. At the trampolines one is missing but the pit is not properly barracaded off. The steps to the unit and the deck was also a safety risk. The general standard of maintenance is also very low. At the Wellness Spa some doors have been broken for quite some time. There are all sorts of rules which are not enforced. People with day wear are allowed in the pools and as a result there are often bare female bosoms. Over a weekend it have been noticed that small groups of people simply take over the jacuzzi's. This clearly needs to be mananaged better.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francois R, General Manager at Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2017

Dear Stephanus B

Thank you for taking the time reviewing our resort and for your positive suggestions.

Best Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paulpietersburg
17 mi away
Rita's Guesthouse
Rita's Guesthouse
#6 of 17 in Vryheid
12 reviews
24.5 mi away
Dusk to Dawn B&B
Dusk to Dawn B&B
#1 of 16 in Piet Retief
252 reviews
18.1 mi away
Petra's Country Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Koubad Farm Lodge
Koubad Farm Lodge
#1 of 1 in Vryheid
17 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Oxford Lodge
The Oxford Lodge
#3 of 17 in Vryheid
12 reviews
17 mi away
Villa Beryl Guesthouse
Villa Beryl Guesthouse
#1 of 17 in Vryheid
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort

Address: Lot 191 Remainder Koubad Farm | Koubad Farm, Paulpietersburg 3180, South Africa (Formerly The Natal Spa Hot Springs and Leisure Resort)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Paulpietersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paulpietersbur...
Price Range: £64 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 550 hectares of beautiful KZN bushveld amongst giant Cambrian granite boulders that are millions of years old, the Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort has beautiful views over the Bivane River and abundant bird life. Legend has it that the river at Natal Spa's warm water and bubbles were the work of a large black snake with an underground lair. While that myth may have kept the ancient San people from the healing mineral waters, it certainly didn't have the same effect on Oom Piet Wessles or the generations of visitors who have stopped over at this oasis between Vryheid and Paulpietersberg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Natal Spa Hot Springs And Leisure Resort Hotel Paulpietersburg
Gooderson Natal Spa Hot Springs & Leisure Resort South Africa/Paulpietersburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing