We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pianella
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Unbelievable experience”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Fabulous stay for 3 nights with my husband and two teenagers. Classy, quiet, beautiful, accommodating, service-oriented and high quality are how I would describe this hotel. We will be back again (this time without teenagers). The views are breathtaking and it was the highlight of our two week trip.

Room Tip: the ones with the patios are fabulous - splurge! It will be worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion W, Direttore generale at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for having chosen us for your stay in Tuscany with your family. We will be looking forward your return.

Kind regards.

Marion Winski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    18
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
234
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at Le Fontanelle for 3 nights at the midpoint of our Italian honeymoon. As you would expect from the price and the number of stars, this was a special place that made our honeymoon much more special.

The fact that the hotel is a bit hard to find as it's off the beaten path adds to its charm. The staff was extremely cheerful and helpful, the rooms were large and charming and the property itself exudes relaxation. After almost a week in Rome, this was the perfect place for us to recover and relax while also seeing the famous Tuscan hill towns.

Le Fontanelle is perfect for couples and definitely worth the price. We hope to go back on a future anniversary.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion W, Direttore generale at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we thank you very much for having chosen Hotel Le Fontanelle for celebrating this special moment in your life and we all have been honored to share your Honeymoon with you and lead you toward your Relax!

Hoping to meet you for your Anniversary then, we wish you a special life together!

Warm regards.

Marion Winski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquitlam, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel was amazing and I recommend it to everyone. The staff is very professional and they highly value the quietness of their hotel.

We did get off on the wrong foot at first when I asked how late the bar was open (it is in a cozy den, great for curling up in a chair and reading!) This is because my husband has trouble sleeping and I thought we could just quietly grab a drink / read a book / news together at night, which is what we do normally at home. The gentleman who was helping us check in seemed a bit taken aback and said that the hotel was "quiet" and its patrons valued the calmness and they generally do not have parties late. Perhaps it was our age, but it seemed rather rude that it was assumed we would be partying and we were reprimanded for asking this simple question.

However, it is all easily forgiven as the remainder of our stay was perfect. I can understand why the gentleman said what he did because the hotel is truly a piece of heaven in the heart of Tuscany. The restaurant had amazing food (we ate at the hotel for all meals for the 3 nights we stayed) and the staff of course is great. My husband and I will definitely come back to this hotel.

(Note, we were there in July 2012 when it was hot in Italy, but up where the hotel is situated, the temperature was just right)

Room Tip: It really depends on what you like. My husband and I wanted our private garden to have a glass of w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion W, Direttore generale at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Guest,

We are honored of the fact that although it has been passed a year since your stay at our Hotel, you are still finding time to dedicate your thoughts to us. We really appreciate it and thank you very much for your kind review.

We are sorry to learn that your first impression at our Property was a bit “undertone”, but believe us, it came from a sure misunderstanding because probably the Receptionist on call did not explained well. Surely there are no problems if our Guests would like to spend their time at our Lounges Bar areas at night and, in case of necessity, they could be also supported by our Night Audit Supervisor.

However we are happy your stay turned immediately into a pleasant experience and we hope to meet you again in the future.

Kind regards.

Marion Winski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

i have stayed in 3 hotels in Tuscany, this is by far the best, spectacular service, beautiful pool, breathtaking views from restaurant for breakfast lunch and dinner, excellent food, plenty of things to do, renting bicycles or vispas,

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdullah_AlAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion W, Direttore generale at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Guests,

We are really happy you enjoyed Service, location ad activities at Hotel Le Fontanelle and are honored you valued us as the best Hotel among the 3 you had the chance to visit during your trip around Tuscany.

Thank you!

We wish you all the best and remain with our kind regards.
Marion Winski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Having driven in the morning from Badia di Morrona we were lucky to experience the most scenic of drives from one rural part of Tuscany to another. Approaching the hotel we knew we were in for a treat given its vantage point across rolling hills. Our treatment on arrival was fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed all of our meals.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion W, Direttore generale at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Guests,

We are happy you had the chance to explore the surrounding area a bit around: it is gorgeous!
The Chianti Classico offers sceneries of spectacular pristine beauty and it seems like entering in another dimension, which really helps people to escape from the daily frenzy life.

Our Property also is oriented to let people seeking for their Relax and interior wellbeing. So, we would be pleased to welcome you again in a next occasion then.

Warmest regards.

Marion Winski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We have just returned from a week at this beautiful hotel and want to return as soon as possible, The views are fantastic, the service from all the staff is to the highest standard, the attention to detail is amazing. The restaurant is excellent but quite expensive. You could not wish to stay in a more beautiful place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion W, Direttore generale at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for having chosen us and for having appreciated our intention. Regarding the location, yes, it is breathtaking and our main aim is trying to keep intact what God gave us.

Waiting for your possible return, we send you our kind regards.

Marion Winski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Absolutely fantastic place to make a real rest! Spectacular view and amazing silence surrounds us so much that we do not need any spa treatments :-) Excellent service, very friendly and professional . We had a feeling that someone who created this place put his heart here. We really wish to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bahe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion W, Direttore generale at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Dear Guests,

We are glad you found hearth at Hotel Le Fontanelle: it is the biggest "means" we used/use at our Property both from its restoration and service. We are plead you had a nice experience and hope to meet you again.

Warmest regards.
Marion Winski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pianella
5.7 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
680 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
472 reviews
8.4 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
617 reviews
1.6 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
379 reviews
16.5 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Fontanelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Fontanelle

Property: Hotel Le Fontanelle
Address: Strada Provinciale 408, km 14.7, 53019 Pianella, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga > Pianella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pianella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Fontanelle 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Fontanelle, is a 5 star luxury Hotel located in the Chianti Classico region, capturing the magical essence of Tuscany and the preciousness of its landscapes, offers to its Guests sceneries of spectacular pristine beauty, for a memorable stay or a private special event. With its 25 rooms divided into five different typologies, the Hotel proposes a special refined comfort, turning into the perfect choice for a pleasant holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Fontanelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Fontanelle Pianella, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing