We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pianella
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013

...just go there and enjoy...
- the breathtaking view,
- the friendly service,
- the charming rooms,
- the relaxing spa
We stayed 6 nights and spend longer hours at the pool than planned. The garden is just beautiful and peaceful. The right place to relaxe.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion W, Direttore generale at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for having chosen Hotel Le Fontanelle.
We are pleased you had a nice stay at our Property and hope to meet you again in the future.

Kind regards.
Marion Winski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

My husband and I visited this hotel for 3 nights on our 3rd anniversary. The hotel provided very fine service. The food was outstanding and the dinners were served in a very romantic setting. We were disappointed that music was only played on one evening out of the three nights that we dined there. We also noticed that there were very few Americans who stayed at this resort during our stay. We were also disappointed that the outdoor pool was not heated as were many of the other hotels that we visited throughout Italy. We also did not like that the atmosphere of the hotel felt like a sanitarian. It seemed as if we were not supposed to speak above a whisper. In addition, our room was considered to be one of the nicest on the premises and it seemed rather rustic and outdated for the price that we were paying. In addition, I asked the manager for a jogging map of the property. The manager did not advise me to take a walking stick on the rough terrain. It turns out that I sprained my ankle while walking alone and was lucky to get back to the property. All in all, we had a nice time but we were very disappointed with the property and accommodations.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion W, Direttore generale at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Dear Madam,

We thank you for your comment and will answer you by point.
We are glad you and your husband appreciated our high quality services, food and romantic settings at our property, this thanks to the fact that we are located on the top of the hill surrounded by the breathtaking view of the Tuscan/Chianti countryside.
Regarding the music played –occasionally- by our Pianist Aldo, it is a choice, because we would like to balance also the needs of those people who better appreciate dining by being involved in the silence of nature.
Probably you have noticed that, as there were American travelers at Hotel Le Fontanelle, in the same way we are also focused on an international range of clientele in general.
Regarding the outdoor pool area, trying again to balance at best all possible Guests needs, Hotel Le Fontanelle has conceived and provided to all Guests both an indoor heated swimming pool and a second outdoor panoramic pool. Guests could also enjoy at our Property the use of sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi for free.
As mentioned, we are located in the countryside and are completely surrounded by nature and quietness, and the identity of our Hotel is to be a private typical Tuscan style Home, where people could feel pampered and relaxed.
Finally, probably it was based on a misunderstanding, because asking for a jogging map program I was in the believe you wanted to do some exercise. At any case the Hotel puts at Guests disposal for free both walking sticks and mountain bikes upon request. We are sorry you did not let us know about your ankle difficulties, because we could have had proposed you our medical assistance.
Sincerely I am really surprised about learning in this way your final comments, because I personally were at the front desk at your departure and receiving no mention about all those issues, I am feeling now powerless and at the same time a bit confused because on the opposite you told me you were satisfied of your experience at Hotel Le Fontanelle.

Kind regards.
Marion Winski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Fabulous stay for 3 nights with my husband and two teenagers. Classy, quiet, beautiful, accommodating, service-oriented and high quality are how I would describe this hotel. We will be back again (this time without teenagers). The views are breathtaking and it was the highlight of our two week trip.

Room Tip: the ones with the patios are fabulous - splurge! It will be worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion W, Direttore generale at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for having chosen us for your stay in Tuscany with your family. We will be looking forward your return.

Kind regards.

Marion Winski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at Le Fontanelle for 3 nights at the midpoint of our Italian honeymoon. As you would expect from the price and the number of stars, this was a special place that made our honeymoon much more special.

The fact that the hotel is a bit hard to find as it's off the beaten path adds to its charm. The staff was extremely cheerful and helpful, the rooms were large and charming and the property itself exudes relaxation. After almost a week in Rome, this was the perfect place for us to recover and relax while also seeing the famous Tuscan hill towns.

Le Fontanelle is perfect for couples and definitely worth the price. We hope to go back on a future anniversary.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion W, Direttore generale at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Guests,

First of all we thank you very much for having chosen Hotel Le Fontanelle for celebrating this special moment in your life and we all have been honored to share your Honeymoon with you and lead you toward your Relax!

Hoping to meet you for your Anniversary then, we wish you a special life together!

Warm regards.

Marion Winski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel was amazing and I recommend it to everyone. The staff is very professional and they highly value the quietness of their hotel.

We did get off on the wrong foot at first when I asked how late the bar was open (it is in a cozy den, great for curling up in a chair and reading!) This is because my husband has trouble sleeping and I thought we could just quietly grab a drink / read a book / news together at night, which is what we do normally at home. The gentleman who was helping us check in seemed a bit taken aback and said that the hotel was "quiet" and its patrons valued the calmness and they generally do not have parties late. Perhaps it was our age, but it seemed rather rude that it was assumed we would be partying and we were reprimanded for asking this simple question.

However, it is all easily forgiven as the remainder of our stay was perfect. I can understand why the gentleman said what he did because the hotel is truly a piece of heaven in the heart of Tuscany. The restaurant had amazing food (we ate at the hotel for all meals for the 3 nights we stayed) and the staff of course is great. My husband and I will definitely come back to this hotel.

(Note, we were there in July 2012 when it was hot in Italy, but up where the hotel is situated, the temperature was just right)

Room Tip: It really depends on what you like. My husband and I wanted our private garden to have a glass of w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion W, Direttore generale at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Guest,

We are honored of the fact that although it has been passed a year since your stay at our Hotel, you are still finding time to dedicate your thoughts to us. We really appreciate it and thank you very much for your kind review.

We are sorry to learn that your first impression at our Property was a bit “undertone”, but believe us, it came from a sure misunderstanding because probably the Receptionist on call did not explained well. Surely there are no problems if our Guests would like to spend their time at our Lounges Bar areas at night and, in case of necessity, they could be also supported by our Night Audit Supervisor.

However we are happy your stay turned immediately into a pleasant experience and we hope to meet you again in the future.

Kind regards.

Marion Winski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

i have stayed in 3 hotels in Tuscany, this is by far the best, spectacular service, beautiful pool, breathtaking views from restaurant for breakfast lunch and dinner, excellent food, plenty of things to do, renting bicycles or vispas,

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abdullah_AlAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion W, Direttore generale at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Guests,

We are really happy you enjoyed Service, location ad activities at Hotel Le Fontanelle and are honored you valued us as the best Hotel among the 3 you had the chance to visit during your trip around Tuscany.

Thank you!

We wish you all the best and remain with our kind regards.
Marion Winski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Having driven in the morning from Badia di Morrona we were lucky to experience the most scenic of drives from one rural part of Tuscany to another. Approaching the hotel we knew we were in for a treat given its vantage point across rolling hills. Our treatment on arrival was fantastic and we thoroughly enjoyed all of our meals.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion W, Direttore generale at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2013

Dear Guests,

We are happy you had the chance to explore the surrounding area a bit around: it is gorgeous!
The Chianti Classico offers sceneries of spectacular pristine beauty and it seems like entering in another dimension, which really helps people to escape from the daily frenzy life.

Our Property also is oriented to let people seeking for their Relax and interior wellbeing. So, we would be pleased to welcome you again in a next occasion then.

Warmest regards.

Marion Winski
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pianella
5.7 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
703 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
497 reviews
1.6 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
554 reviews
16.5 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
15.7 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Fontanelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Fontanelle

Address: Strada Provinciale 408, km 14.7, 53019 Pianella, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga > Pianella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pianella
Price Range: £338 - £401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Fontanelle 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Fontanelle, is a 5 star luxury Hotel located in the Chianti Classico region, capturing the magical essence of Tuscany and the preciousness of its landscapes, offers to its Guests sceneries of spectacular pristine beauty, for a memorable stay or a private special event. With its 25 rooms divided into five different typologies, the Hotel proposes a special refined comfort, turning into the perfect choice for a pleasant holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Le Fontanelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Fontanelle Pianella, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing