We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Fontanelle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pianella
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Just great! Service is very good, the hotel is very nice, and the view is like a painting. This area of Italy is great but this place in particular is perfect to relax. The restaurant was also a very good experience. The food was good and you can find very good italian wine.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion W, Direttore generale at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you very much for your kind review and are happy you pleasantly experienced our location, service and restaurant.

Hoping to welcoming you again, I remain with my kind regards.

Marion Winski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    18
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
55
234
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My family's stay at the Fontanelle was truly wonderful, better than this review's words can ever convey. The hotel staff earns it's five stars with service I've never before encountered in my many years of travel and experience in the luxury hospitality industry. While the location itself if quite magical, with breathtaking views, historical grounds, and a private place to relax or lounge around every corner, it is the people that makes this place so special. While everyone from the groundskeeper to management shows the utmost professionalism, it's the human aspect of the service that makes Le Fontanelle magnificent. Everyone at Le Fontanelle takes huge pride in what they do, and that extra care is visible everywhere. From the fantastic gourmet dishes the chef prepares, to the care the waiting staff puts in to spoiling you during dinner, to the poolside friendliness and comfort, the management and front desk's enthusiasm to help at any opportunity, Le Fontanelle deserves top marks in each and every category. I highly recommend the hotel for any getaway to the hills of Tuscany; you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion W, Direttore generale at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you very very much for your beautiful words. This is the most precious satisfaction we could get for being always more encouraged to do even more better if possible. Our Staff is spontaneous and does ist best with authentic dedication and professionalism.

We are pleased you noticed our care and enjoyed a peaceful Relax at Hotel Le Fontanelle, appreciating our location, views, service and restaurant.

Hoping to welcome you again in the future, we remain with our kind regards.

Marion Winski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This hotel is in a lovely setting, very well maintained with great service. My wife and I had a great stay and recommend it for anyone who looks for a relaxing experience. The dinners were of great Quality and creativity.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurgen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion W, Direttore generale at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guests,

We are pleased you enjoyed your experience at Hotel Le Fontanelle and thank you for your nice words.

We hope to meet you again in the future and send you our kind regards.

Marion Winski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2013

...just go there and enjoy...
- the breathtaking view,
- the friendly service,
- the charming rooms,
- the relaxing spa
We stayed 6 nights and spend longer hours at the pool than planned. The garden is just beautiful and peaceful. The right place to relaxe.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion W, Direttore generale at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for having chosen Hotel Le Fontanelle.
We are pleased you had a nice stay at our Property and hope to meet you again in the future.

Kind regards.
Marion Winski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

My husband and I visited this hotel for 3 nights on our 3rd anniversary. The hotel provided very fine service. The food was outstanding and the dinners were served in a very romantic setting. We were disappointed that music was only played on one evening out of the three nights that we dined there. We also noticed that there were very few Americans who stayed at this resort during our stay. We were also disappointed that the outdoor pool was not heated as were many of the other hotels that we visited throughout Italy. We also did not like that the atmosphere of the hotel felt like a sanitarian. It seemed as if we were not supposed to speak above a whisper. In addition, our room was considered to be one of the nicest on the premises and it seemed rather rustic and outdated for the price that we were paying. In addition, I asked the manager for a jogging map of the property. The manager did not advise me to take a walking stick on the rough terrain. It turns out that I sprained my ankle while walking alone and was lucky to get back to the property. All in all, we had a nice time but we were very disappointed with the property and accommodations.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion W, Direttore generale at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear Madam,

We thank you for your comment and will answer you by point.
We are glad you and your husband appreciated our high quality services, food and romantic settings at our property, this thanks to the fact that we are located on the top of the hill surrounded by the breathtaking view of the Tuscan/Chianti countryside.
Regarding the music played –occasionally- by our Pianist Aldo, it is a choice, because we would like to balance also the needs of those people who better appreciate dining by being involved in the silence of nature.
Probably you have noticed that, as there were American travelers at Hotel Le Fontanelle, in the same way we are also focused on an international range of clientele in general.
Regarding the outdoor pool area, trying again to balance at best all possible Guests needs, Hotel Le Fontanelle has conceived and provided to all Guests both an indoor heated swimming pool and a second outdoor panoramic pool. Guests could also enjoy at our Property the use of sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi for free.
As mentioned, we are located in the countryside and are completely surrounded by nature and quietness, and the identity of our Hotel is to be a private typical Tuscan style Home, where people could feel pampered and relaxed.
Finally, probably it was based on a misunderstanding, because asking for a jogging map program I was in the believe you wanted to do some exercise. At any case the Hotel puts at Guests disposal for free both walking sticks and mountain bikes upon request. We are sorry you did not let us know about your ankle difficulties, because we could have had proposed you our medical assistance.
Sincerely I am really surprised about learning in this way your final comments, because I personally were at the front desk at your departure and receiving no mention about all those issues, I am feeling now powerless and at the same time a bit confused because on the opposite you told me you were satisfied of your experience at Hotel Le Fontanelle.

Kind regards.
Marion Winski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Fabulous stay for 3 nights with my husband and two teenagers. Classy, quiet, beautiful, accommodating, service-oriented and high quality are how I would describe this hotel. We will be back again (this time without teenagers). The views are breathtaking and it was the highlight of our two week trip.

Room Tip: the ones with the patios are fabulous - splurge! It will be worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion W, Direttore generale at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for having chosen us for your stay in Tuscany with your family. We will be looking forward your return.

Kind regards.

Marion Winski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at Le Fontanelle for 3 nights at the midpoint of our Italian honeymoon. As you would expect from the price and the number of stars, this was a special place that made our honeymoon much more special.

The fact that the hotel is a bit hard to find as it's off the beaten path adds to its charm. The staff was extremely cheerful and helpful, the rooms were large and charming and the property itself exudes relaxation. After almost a week in Rome, this was the perfect place for us to recover and relax while also seeing the famous Tuscan hill towns.

Le Fontanelle is perfect for couples and definitely worth the price. We hope to go back on a future anniversary.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marion W, Direttore generale at Hotel Le Fontanelle, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Guests,

First of all we thank you very much for having chosen Hotel Le Fontanelle for celebrating this special moment in your life and we all have been honored to share your Honeymoon with you and lead you toward your Relax!

Hoping to meet you for your Anniversary then, we wish you a special life together!

Warm regards.

Marion Winski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pianella
5.7 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
680 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Borgo San Felice
Hotel Borgo San Felice
#2 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
472 reviews
8.4 mi away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
Castello del Nero Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Tavarnelle Val di Pesa
617 reviews
1.6 mi away
Borgo Scopeto Relais
Borgo Scopeto Relais
#1 of 1 in Vagliagli
379 reviews
16.5 mi away
Castello di Casole Private Estate & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Fontanelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Fontanelle

Property: Hotel Le Fontanelle
Address: Strada Provinciale 408, km 14.7, 53019 Pianella, Castelnuovo Berardenga, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castelnuovo Berardenga > Pianella
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pianella
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Fontanelle 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Fontanelle, is a 5 star luxury Hotel located in the Chianti Classico region, capturing the magical essence of Tuscany and the preciousness of its landscapes, offers to its Guests sceneries of spectacular pristine beauty, for a memorable stay or a private special event. With its 25 rooms divided into five different typologies, the Hotel proposes a special refined comfort, turning into the perfect choice for a pleasant holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le Fontanelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Fontanelle Pianella, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing