We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are dated but the grounds make up for it”
Review of Last Light Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Last Light Lodge
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed just the one night here on our way through and it had everything we needed. The kitchen space is very big with lots of cutlery, crockery, etc. The room was small and dated, but clean and tidy. There was a single bed in with the kitchenette and a door between, which would be great for families or friends in separate beds as you don't always get that much privacy in backpackers lodges. The grounds were lovely - we strolled around to look at the vege garden and the chickens, then relaxed in the sun with books and drinks. The only other thing I'd mention is the communal bathrooms (unisex) where the showers have curtains, not doors - I probably would have felt uncomfortable with that if I had been on my own. Something to think about...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sedky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

Spent four nights here recently.
Perfectly adequate lodge accommodation. Good communal kitchen and hot showers. Also the staff were very accommodating over access to the computer and internet access. Nice warm rooms

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We had stopped at Last Light last year when passing through on Southern Scenic drive,loved Craig's date scones and the feel of the place. So it was our choice for the pre-track accommodation for the Humpridge track. We weren't dissappointed.. great food (wonderful vege garden too), clean basic rooms but best of all the atmosphere here is great, the staff friendly and obliging. Well done Craig!

Room Tip: Rooms 2, 3 and 4 are away from car-parking area otherwise all rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanDSunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Having been freedom camping at Cosy Nook, the family desperately needed a shower & whilst the guidebook suggested another place in town, we found it to be run by a very grumpy old man.. so discovered this pace which was a delight... Friendly staff, great showers, & though we couldn't stay, what looked like an excellent restaurant/cafe with lots of home made looking goodies !!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We ended up in Tuatapere for the night before we started the Hump Ridge Track. We were very pleasantly surprised to find a fantastic cafe/restaurant and a great room. The room was clean, affordable and great value. The food was our highlight, and we were glad to have such an amazing choice on Christmas Eve - probably the best pork belly we've ever had! It was one of our best meals in New Zealand and we look forward to going back one day.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Stayed here for a night before we walked the Humpridge Track... accomodation is basic - we had a double room with shared bathroom, but clean and tidy. We found all the staff really friendly but the real surprise here is the quality of the food.
We ate both dinner and breakfast here and loved everything... from the homemade tomato sauce accompanying great fish and chips to a fantastic steak at dinner. In the morning, we were well set up for 3 big days of walking with the brilliant breakfasts. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank borschti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Last Light Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Last Light Lodge

Address: 2 Clifden Highway, Tuatapere 9620, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Tuatapere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tuatapere
Price Range: £38 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 4.5 Acres of park like grounds and spray free gardens, approx 1km from town center. 25 minutes from the start of the Hump Ridge Track and 1km from their office. Last Light Lodge has a large communal kitchen/dining/ lounge area, 3 large bathrooms with coin operated showers, coin operated laundries. 22 private rooms(Twin/double rooms) with basic kitchenette facilities. 10 Powered camper van sites (on site dump station) 10 non powered tent or van sites And a fabulous Restaurant-Cafe-Bar (see our reviews). Last Light Cafe is open everyday and night and onsite. Free WiFi for customers. Free off street car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Last Light Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing