We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Tutapere!”
Review of Last Light Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Last Light Lodge
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Tutapere!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My 3 children and I stayed here when we went to do the Stump the Hump event in early February. We stayed in the lodge accommodation, and the rooms were very clean and beds comfortable. The communal kitchen is the best I have seen, and once again, kept very clean with plenty of cutlery, pots and utensils. The restaurant/cafe has a very nice feel to it, with seating on the decks under a big canopy. Craig, the owner was very friendly, relaxed and helpful. He was very happy for the kids and I to celebrate our 67km hike (in 21 hours) at breakfast the next morning with drinks that we had brought in. A great place to stay if you are doing the Humpridge Track or if just wandering around the southern tip of the South Island!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tansendoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    17
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
12
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Craig does all the cooking. Food is lovely and fresh every morning. The place has a buzz about it as he is so enthusiastic about the area. Lots of information and ideas for places to go.
Everyone is lovely and it is worth a stop.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Doghank01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Great place to stay before and after the Humpridge tramp. The restuarant was very accomodating to us as we started early for the Humpride track and wanted a good breakfast to start with. The rooms were clean and a great place to come back to after 60km of tramping.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed just the one night here on our way through and it had everything we needed. The kitchen space is very big with lots of cutlery, crockery, etc. The room was small and dated, but clean and tidy. There was a single bed in with the kitchenette and a door between, which would be great for families or friends in separate beds as you don't always get that much privacy in backpackers lodges. The grounds were lovely - we strolled around to look at the vege garden and the chickens, then relaxed in the sun with books and drinks. The only other thing I'd mention is the communal bathrooms (unisex) where the showers have curtains, not doors - I probably would have felt uncomfortable with that if I had been on my own. Something to think about...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sedky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
343 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Spent four nights here recently.
Perfectly adequate lodge accommodation. Good communal kitchen and hot showers. Also the staff were very accommodating over access to the computer and internet access. Nice warm rooms

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We had stopped at Last Light last year when passing through on Southern Scenic drive,loved Craig's date scones and the feel of the place. So it was our choice for the pre-track accommodation for the Humpridge track. We weren't dissappointed.. great food (wonderful vege garden too), clean basic rooms but best of all the atmosphere here is great, the staff friendly and obliging. Well done Craig!

Room Tip: Rooms 2, 3 and 4 are away from car-parking area otherwise all rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanDSunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Having been freedom camping at Cosy Nook, the family desperately needed a shower & whilst the guidebook suggested another place in town, we found it to be run by a very grumpy old man.. so discovered this pace which was a delight... Friendly staff, great showers, & though we couldn't stay, what looked like an excellent restaurant/cafe with lots of home made looking goodies !!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Last Light Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Last Light Lodge

Property: Last Light Lodge
Address: 2 Clifden Highway, Tuatapere 9620, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Tuatapere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Tuatapere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 4.5 Acres of park like grounds and spray free gardens, approx 1km from town center. 25 minutes from the start of the Hump Ridge Track and 1km from their office. Last Light Lodge has a large communal kitchen/dining/ lounge area, 3 large bathrooms,coin operated laundries. 22 private rooms(Twin/double rooms) with basic kitchenette facilities. 10 Powered camper van sites (on site dump station) 10 non powered tent or van sites And a fabulous Restaurant-Cafe-Bar (see our reviews) Last Light Cafe is open everyday and night and onsite. Free WiFi for customers. Free off street car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Last Light Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing