We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just a quick sleep”
Review of Last Light Cafe

Last Light Cafe
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Tuatapere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$23
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We have a passion for food and flavour... Fantastic coffee, hearty breakfasts, yum lunches and many delicious home baked goodies. The menu covers many aspects of cuisine : gluten free, vegetarian, international tastes with fusion styles and classic dishes made with quality kiwi products.
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“just a quick sleep”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My room was simple, and had shared bathroom facilities, but as there was no one else staying in the accommodation block i was in, it was very private.
the best thing about this place is the great onsite cafe, that does breakfast, lunch & dinner.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    25
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very tasty, hearty meals”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed at the Last Light Lodge and decided to have dinner here too. Both our mains were generous in size and incredibly tasty. Good wine, great garlic bread and a range of homemade cookies, slices, chocolates and desserts topped it off. The lodge was great too. Very clean and tidy. Worth staying a night en route.

Helpful?
Thank sedky
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprising!”
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

We dropped in for coffee on a road trip from Te Anau to Invercargill & decided to stay for lunch because the menu looked great! Absolutely delicious food & warm atmosphere! The Pea & Ham soup & Smoked Chicken & Corn Chowder was amazing! Highly recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Be prepared to wait for lunch”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Recently had lunch here and waited 55 minutes for a bowl of soup. The soup was pleasant when it arrived however marred by the attitude of the waitress when I asked her why soup took nearly an hour to arrive. She said that a larger table arrived before us and although they had ordered full cooked lunches they were to be served first. When I said I was a bit annoyed by this she actually said that was my problem.
Terrible attitude never again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juzzyhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lastlightlodge, Owner at Last Light Cafe, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
This customer exaggerates the wait time hugely, sometimes things don't go as smoothly as we would like. We try always to exceed expectations and give quality and value.

Service was slow, considering the order, the kitchen was under pressure while we were training a new person. We are in a small remote town, with a small staff, dealing with customer fluctuations can be difficult in an environment where you have seasonal fluctuations of customer numbers.

Sadly we feel your attitude is a little hard nosed and I personally remember you coming and going and you weren't happy before or after your lunch.

You had lunch and waited around 25 minutes for 2 very nice bowls of soup and breads. When it arrived you said nothing but certainly had negative body language.
More attention to your table should have been given to you and for the wait we are sorry. But you were in a negative mood on arrival, before that wait.
When your husband paid he verbalised in a gruff way the waited had spoiled his day. She actually said that she was sorry the big table had arrived first and therefore was served first.

I think the volume of positive reviews show we do a good job. We certainly take any criticism seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Totally unexpected!!!”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We stopped at this cafe as we reached Tuatupere from Te Anau, riding on motorcycle with unexpected weather change (colder & extreme wind). At first we hesitated due to outside look: reception/facility building for a camp ground. But we really need a cup of hot coffee, so in we went. What an amazing place....modern yet really warm & family atmosphere. Best capucino & carrot cake I ever had. After hours of chatting with other fellow travelers (NZ and US), we stayed for lunch. Again, best foods. Great big garden with herbal borderings. Even toured the herbal patch, vegetable gardens, greenhouse with Graig, chef/owner. Despite the cold weather of deep south, Graig raises plenty of herbs (many types of mints/basils/oregano etc.) so fresh & organic herbs are available just steps from the kitchen. What can be better than that? We spent about 4+ hours at the cafe over a cup of java, the visit was short. We wished we had more time to stay for live music that evening (Frid night). This definitely would be a stop, for a night or 2 or more, for us when we came back. It is quiet convenient since Last Light also has cabins and camp sites. A must stop for foods or rest!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank apain_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lastlightlodge, Owner at Last Light Cafe, responded to this review, 11 May 2013
Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Last Light Cafe also viewed

Tuatapere, Southland Region
Orepuki, Southland Region
 
Riverton, Southland Region

Been to Last Light Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing