We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typically French feel with warm British welcome”
Review of Maison Yvonne

Maison Yvonne
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Parnay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maison Yvonne
Ranked #2 of 2 Parnay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed here for a one night stop over on 30.06.2012 with my wife and 3 yr old daughter. We were met by our host, Gavin, with a very warm welcome, which was nice after a day's drive. The room and building was so typically French in a lovely location. Very quiet and peaceful. The suite had its own dining area and a luxurious, large bathroom. We were served a plentiful continental breakfast in the morning. Our only regret is that we didn't opt for a home cooked evening meal. Would definitely stay again. For €100 for the 3 of us, very good value.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoojayem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stayed at Maison Yvonne as a stopover on our drive to the Pyrenees. Welcomed by Gavin on Arrival we were shown our room which is fantastic. You have a bedroom, bathroom with separate power shower and WC. But the great surprise is the private dining area that you have for dinner, and do make the effort to partake, at 25 Euros each for a five course dinner with half a carafe of wine per person it is excellent value for money and quality food to boot. The service is impeccable and as Jacqueline (Gavin's wife) was away on business, Gavin's young son Jacob assisted with the service of dinner.

Breakfast consists of local pastries & croissants(collected that very morning by Gavin) confitures, yoghurt, fresh melon, tea and coffee and freshly squeezed juice and is again served in your private dining area.

This is a wonderful location to stopover or to have short break and enjoy the beautiful surroundings and Chateau of the Loire.

We will certainly be staying again in April 2012 for two nights as we drive back down to the Pyrenees.

Merci pour votre hospitalite et tres bon logement.

Room Tip: There is only one room but that makes it all the more special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HemelsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Maison Yvonne was an absolute perfect choice for exploring the loire valley and we could not recommend this B&B enough! Gavin and Jacqueline are lovely hosts and do everything they can to make sure you feel comfortable and welcome. The accommodation is classic french and excellent - the space is superb and is exactly what you'd want for a holiday. We stayed for a week and would have loved to have stayed longer!!! We combined exploring the local region with relaxing in the garden and cooling off in the pool - the local wine is fantastic - if only tesco would offer tasting before buying!!!! If you go at the beginning of august we would recommend that you go along to the Grande Tables in Saumur - we spent a great night with Gavin and Jacqueline (and some of their friends) and sampled lovely local produce including unlimited red wine!!! You simply must eat dinner at Maison Yvonne - Gavin's food is first class and shouldn't be missed. We will always remember our time at Maison Yvonne fondly and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karengraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

If you are thinking of visiting the western Loire Valley area then you must book into Maison Yvonne. Not only is it an ideal base for visiting the many local chateaux and wine producers, but the accommodation is first class - full of rustic French charm, with the added advantage of a luxurious ensuite bathroom. Breakfast is excellent and Gavin & Jacqueline are ideal 'mine hosts', providing plentiful and most useful insights into the local attractions, restaurants and even weather forecasts! We had such a pleasant, restful and enjoyable 7 night stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We stayed for two nights b&b, and this place was just perfect, a unique and charming bedroom, a bathroom to die for, and a beatiful breakfast set out in the dining room for whenever you were ready, lovely people with loads of good advice about the locality. Would recommend it unhesitatingly to anybody.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray186370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavino123, Owner at Maison Yvonne, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

Thanks Ray for your really kind review. Jacqueline and I are thrilled you enjoyed your stay so much and hope we can look after you and Alison again in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We have stayed in a variety of accommodation over a 5 week tour of Europe and it is fair to say that we will look back on this place as the one to remember. The term 'bed & breakfast' does not do Maison Yvonne justice. The sheer size of the accommodation makes one feel as if they're right at home instantly. It is tastefully decorated, well appointed, clean and certainly comfortable. One could easily spend the majority of their time in the 7 head shower in a bathroom bigger than some hotel rooms! Our advice would be to take the option of eating in when staying there. Having your own private dining experience will certainly be a highlight of your stay. Gavin and Jacqueline provide an excellent service and should be commended for creating a place that we simply can't fault. The only thing we didn't like was how far it is from Australia!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ksebire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavino123, Owner at Maison Yvonne, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

Thanks so much for your fabulous review. It was an absolute pleasure looking after you at Maison Yvonne and we really hope to have the chance again the next time you are up North!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

The Caldwell family made our stay one of the most memorable we have experienced. Service and attention to detail were exemplary. The accommodation is spacious and unique and direct access to the garden and use of the swimming pool both add to the quality of the experience. Breakfast served in the garden is good but the dinners Gavin cooks which are served in the private dining room are absolutely superb. There is a choice of good quality local wines to enrich the dining experience.
Maison Yvonne is very close to Chinon and Saumur, both of which are well worth visiting.
The only thing we would have liked to improve future visits woul be a king or queen size bed.
We will be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TOGtravellerEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavino123, Owner at Maison Yvonne, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

Thanks ever so much Mike for your kind comments. Jacqueline, Jacob and I are delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us this summer and hope we have the chance to look after you and Margaret again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Maison Yvonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Yvonne

Address: 16 rue Antoine Cristal | 49730, Parnay, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Parnay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Parnay
Price Range: £62 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Yvonne is a beautiful historic wine property, in the centre of the village of Parnay. Nestled in the heart of the Saumur-Champigny wine area, the house is a tuffeau built, maison ancienne with a large, private garden and beautiful views over the village. The property sits alongside the artisan wine makers of Château Yvonne and just a minutes walk from Château de Parnay, one of the most famous wine houses of the Loire Valley. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing