We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location with delicious food.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Route du Sel

La Route du Sel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: La Route du Sel is situated in a traditionally built tuffeau stone house, constructed in 1851, on the left bank of the Loire. Today, the restaurant is a family run affair, now with the fifth generation from the Region. A relaxed atmosphere, seasonal menus, local ingredients and famous but reasonably priced wines by the glass and by the bottle. In the beautiful and peaceful village of Le Thoureil, within the UNESCO World Heritage site of the Loire Valley, La Route du Sel offers unrivaled panoramic views over the river from its restaurant, terrace and garden.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Beautiful location with delicious food.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have eaten here twice, in the space of just a few days. Under new ownership, this restaurant has been refurbished and redefined in terms of ambiance and quality.

It is run by a young couple (he is English and she is french and from a local wine producing family of some stature in the Loire Valley) and together they have produced a varied and enticing menu....some local fish dishes, delicious home made pasta, as well as 'traditional' meals e.g confit de canard. A small but delicious desert menu and excellent coffee.

Service is charming, and discreetly attentive.

They have a cleverly chosen wine list with wines mainly sourced locally, but some (e.g. a Roanneais wine) from father afield. Some of these are available by the glass. There is also a small but innovative list of cocktails for an aperitif. Water is served on each table.

Outside there is a terrace for dining, overlooking a well manicured lawn and of course, the fabulous Loire is immediately just across the quiet road. We noted that well mannered dogs are allowed in the restaurant.

This is a little gem. Such is its popularity, it would be wise to book in advance. Parking is available on the street or nearby the church just a few yards away.

Altogether wonderful!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Juridique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    49
    17
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Extraordinary fine in the small town Le Thoureil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Thanks to a tip from the proprietors of the chateau where we were staying in nearby Saumur, we tried La Route du Sel for lunch. We were told that it has a charming location on the Loire, but that the food was modest, i.e. it's a place to stop for a salad and a sandwich. Imagine our surprise to discover this elegant little place with truly superb food! Co-owner Daniel Eastcott explained to us that they had opened it only six weeks before, and that his wife Marie Monmousseau is the chef. The space and the food are all presented with a maximum of good taste, and the service from the small staff was excellent. The wine pairings worked beautifully with the delicious food, and my partner and I agreed that the Tarte de Marie may be the finest chocolate dessert we've ever had! It's an intensely luscious flour-less chocolate dream crusted with a layer of toasted sesame seeds, served over a dulce-de-leche sort of sauce. When we commented on it, Daniel explained to us that it is a chocolate dessert that his wife got from her mother. I almost hate to give away the secret of this little gem, La Route du Sel!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sebastianpuig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Maze zing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch with friends who live in the village. We were blown away by the outstanding quality of food, local wine pairings and service from the team. Fantastic experience, can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
2 Thank sceneseek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumeray a Gennes
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Since posting my first review, we've eaten at La Route du Sel another twice and had fantastic food on both occasions. We were delighted and surprised to find the menu had changed reflecting seasonal ingredients and there were also one or two new wines on the list too. I had a delicious starter of finely sliced pear and endive salad with apple, walnuts and a roquefort mousse that was light and airy. The parpadelle pasta with fresh asparagus, peas and parmesan was delicious and our dining partners enjoyed fried baby squid to start and chargrilled veal with a roquette salad. The review from the unhappy diner is completely without foundation. Marie Monmousseau, the chef, is experienced and competent and has worked in some of the top restaurants in London, Paris and Dubai. It's true to say that the Crémant is not served in a flute but current thought on serving sparkling wine says that this is the way to go in order to appreciate the wine. This restaurant is a breath of fresh air for the region.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank loirewinefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourgueil, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch in Le Thoureil”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Fine cuisine in a lovely setting close beside the Loire river, with a good wine list too.

This restaurant has been open only one month but by word of mouth the good news is spreading fast. Reservation strongly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Route du Sel also viewed

Le Thoureil, Maine et Loire
Gennes, Maine et Loire
 
Les Rosiers sur Loire, Maine et Loire
Les Rosiers sur Loire, Maine et Loire
 
La Menitre, Maine et Loire
Les Rosiers sur Loire, Maine et Loire
 

Been to La Route du Sel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing