We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Cheman

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blaison-Gohier
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau de Cheman
Oswestry, shropshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We recently had the pleasure of staying for 4 nights at the beautiful Chateay de Cheman. In a peaceful and tranquil setting surrounded by vineyards a good nights sleep is guaranteed in the big comfortable bedrooms, quality furnishings, fab views. Jan and Gerdie are delightful and the warm ambience of their home seems to encourage a very friendly camaraderie between guests, we also were lucky enough to be able to eat there one evening with fellow Dutch guests, a great meal cooked by Gerdie accompanied by the very excellent wines produced by Jan, they really are very very good. Jan has made a lovely walking trail around his vineyards, and a longer walk with interesting information boards en route also goes through the property. We were lucky it was even warm enough for a swim in the lovely pool. Blaison village is delightful, although I would say the little restaurant there was a little disappointing in the evening, although much better for lunch and sitting outside with a coffee in the morning. Nearby Brissac is a wonderful little town, magnificent chateau, only about another half dozen people there on the day we visited too! and a great Thursday market. The beautiful Loire is very nearby, loved Le Thoreuil although ran out of time to eat at the lovely looking restaurant there, we look forward to going back to investigate the rest of this lovely area and enjoy staying in such a beautiful atmospheric chateau with friendly owners.

Room Tip: All excellent, we loved Cannelle as next to the delightful guest sitting room. Roses has a lovely ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester County, PA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

We booked over the internet after reading the reviews from Trip Advisor, and were not disappoiunted. We stayed in the Chateau de Cheman in September 2012. The room we stayed in was very confortable. The hosts were helpful and hospitable and the chateau is well siuated for touring the area. There are plenty of good restaurants in the area. Good for couples.

A GPS is a must for finding the chateau and finding local restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murphy313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We prefer to stay in chateaus when visiting France. My husband randomly found the Chateau Chemen on the internet and booked 2 nights stay during our visit to Loire Valley. What made it so special? Maybe it was the wonderful company of the two couples from Holland (repeat guests), or maybe it was the lovely, spacious room with views of the vineyard, or maybe it was the excellent food and wine, what ever it was, it was one of our most memorable chateau stays. The owners have done a superb job of restoring a previously dilapidated property and their welcoming hospitality made us feel at home. The breakfasts were delicious and we had a dinner at the chateau that included wine from the chateau vineyard. Two things stood out as highlights of this (second) trip to the Loire Valley - visiting the Villandry chateau gardens and Chateau Chemen. I highly recommend both.

Room Tip: There are 5 rooms all uniquely decorated. There is a 6th room, in a seperate guest house, that was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I_go_to_vail_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

I agree with the previous review. My wife and I recently did a walking tour through Loire valley. We started at Angers and Blaison-Gohier was our first night stop. We did not book but telephoned shortly prior to our arrival. Whilst the chateau is a bit out of town, Jan kindly collected us by car from the town centre. Jan also very kindly made a reservation for us in an excellent restaurant - La Caillotte in nearby Saint-Saturnin-sur-Loire and dropped us off and picked us up after dinner. We had a restful sleep (living in a city one is not used to total silence and darkness of a countryside). In the morning after a sumptuous breakfast in the courtyard, we bid our hosts good bye and continued on our way. Would be a great place for a few days of relaxing or exploring the nearby area. Can highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HonBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
185 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Situated south of the Loire but close to Angers. Recently renovated by experienced Dutch couple Jan and Gerdie Liebreks, we enjoyed a fantastic stay here. The rooms are extremely well appointed, within the old buildings. We ate both breakfast and dinner in a dining room guarded by a suit of armour and overlooking the vineyard and gravelled courtyard.
The delicious evening meal, which has to be reserved beforehand, consisted of 3 courses and coffee. The grapes are processed on the property and the wines are excellent.
Altogether an enjoyable experience, made all the more interesting by a Belgian couple and French Canadian couple staying at the chateau as part of their own celebrations with whom we had dinner and a drink or two.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blaison-Gohier hotels
0.0 mi away
Chateau de La Giraudiere
Chateau de La Giraudiere
#1 of 4 in Blaison-Gohier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chambres d'Hotes de la Boire Bavard
0.0 mi away
Le Mouton
Le Mouton
#4 of 4 in Blaison-Gohier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Cheman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Cheman

Property: Chateau de Cheman
Address: 49320 Blaison-Gohier, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Blaison-Gohier
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Blaison-Gohier
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing