We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous tranquil family getaway”
Review of Les Limornieres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Le Grand-Pressigny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Limornieres
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous tranquil family getaway”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed here last week. It's a fabulous place to visit if peace and tranquility are what you are looking for. We came back refreshed and well looked after. our three year old loved having playmates from the other cottages and children are well catered for with toys and books etc.
The cottage itself is spacious enough for a couple with a small child and very rustic. The beds are super comfy and we had all the comforts we needed including Cbeebies. We loved the rural location and managed some good visits to Loches, Descartes and Bellebouche lake. The whole area is very friendly and children are made very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
101
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Alex and Nicole offer a friendly, warm welcome and a wealth of local knowledge. The location is an ideal base for exploring the Touraine region and beyond. The accommodation is ideal for families and guests are provided with toys, books, DVDs etc to keep the children entertained. We would certainly consider returning.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dofragi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed in Saule for five days in June 2011 with our three children 10yrs, 12yrs and 14yrs after four weeks travelling in Europe. The Loire Valley was our last stop before Paris and it was a welcome haven in which to recharge before moving onto the city of lights!
Our hosts Nicole and Alex and their daughters were excellent at being there just when we needed them. We had many interesting conversations and they helped shape our visit by suggesting lots of interesting avtivities. The highlights were: visiting the goat cheese farm near our gite, the market in Descartes, horseback riding and swimming.
All our e-mail communications with Nicole and Alex were smooth and clear. This little gem tucked in the beautiful Loire Valley is exactly as you see on their website, in fact it exceeded our expectations when we arrived. The arrival snack was an excellent touch and so appreciated especially after a long car ride.
If we ever have the good fortune to go back to France we will definatley visit the little gite we called home for our time in the Loire. Thanks again Nicole and Alex!
p.s. we hoped you enjoyed the Tour de France...we were so jealous watching back in Canada knowing you were right there!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherriAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Bc
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed for 4 nights with our 3 daughters (11, 13 and 13) in the Saule gite - we wished we had booked longer as we all loved it! A great place to relax after 5 days in Paris. The hosts (Nicole and Alex) were generous with their advice on things to do in the area (thank you to Alex for helping us find a spot to view the Tour de France!) and the gite was very clean and comfortable. Our daughters LOVED the trampoline, tether ball and bikes. They also appreciated the books that Nicole stocked in our gite. My husband and I loved the delicious meal waiting for us when we arrived, as well as the fresh eggs in the morning. If we ever make it to the Loire Valley again we will definitely book Les Limornieres again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smhenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed here last week with my wife and two young girls for three nights. The quality and attention to detail is immediately apparent on arrival, with Nicole and Alex providing a warm welcome making one feel very much at home. Chene Cottage is by its nature a fairly small cottage but is plenty big enough to accomodate a family of four if one child is still young enough for a cot.

Nicole provides a very efficient and high quality optional breakfast and dinner service if required, a lot of which is made with ingredients from their own kitchen garden or from the immediately neighbouring farms - very handy if you have been out all day and don't wish to cook.

Alternatively, there is a range of barbeque equipment available for use, as well as fully equipped kitchens in each property.

Le Grand Pressigny is 5 mins away by car and has all the usual facilities, e.g. baker, bank, convenience store, bar etc. For a proper supermarket one must go to Descartes which is only 15 mins or so away. The latter also has a very appealing public leisure pool, which makes up for the lack of this facility at the property.

There is a plentiful and wide variety of activities within the locale, chateaux, animal parks, vineyards, historic and picturesque towns etc. Alex will even accompany you as a guide for a fishing trip if this is something that is of interest.

I very much hope to visit the property again, soon, and for longer!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTW1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We spent 4 days in Chez Anna at Les Limornieres when we were attending a wedding celebration. The accommodation is beautifully appointed, and it was the little touches such as the welcome pack and the genuinely friendly welcome which made us want to stay longer. We loved the way the buildings had been refurbished, combining respect for the historic origins with detailed attention to providing for every need. We thoroughly enjoyed a great BBQ with Alex, Nicole and their children on our first evening, Nicole provided detailed information about the area and gave us useful directions to more out of the way places. We had fabulous weather, and were fascinated by the farm crops all around - sunflowers in particular. We will certainly be recommending this place to our friends, and we hope to go back there one day.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve20016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highgate, London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

My husband and I stayed for 10 lovely days with our little boy, we had a great time. The chene cottage is perfectly proportioned and it was so lovely to have use of the garden too. The family are veery hospitable and couldn't do enough to help out. Would definitely recommend staying here. The area is beautiful and the food is amazing. There is even a Michellin restaurant in the next village!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyBala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Les Limornieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Limornieres

Property: Les Limornieres
Address: route des Roches, 37350 Le Grand-Pressigny, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Le Grand-Pressigny
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Le Grand-Pressigny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free use of bikes Restaurants/Bars <3km Hairdryer. Washing machine. The perfect base for your Loire Valley visit. Set in peaceful Loire Valley with far reaching views. 3 Self-contained self-catering cottages in landscaped flower filled gardens available to rent individually or together for up to 12 adults holidaying together. Countryside setting on doorstep, many marked walking & cycling circular routes via quiet lanes, woods, rivers & fields. Bikes to borrow for all guests. <3Km from village le Grand Pressigny - museum, chateaux, restaurants, bars. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing