We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect!”
Review of Les Limornieres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Le Grand-Pressigny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Limornieres
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This was a perfect place to go to round out our France trip (spending the rest of our vacation in Paris). It was easy to get to from the airport. Took the train to Tours, then rented a car. The hosts are lovely, helpful and friendly. Their recommendations for things to to were thoughtful and perfect for day trips. We will definitely be back, this time with our kids. Such a perfect place!
Initially we had planned to stay in Amboise and a brief stop off in that town on our way back to the train station in Tours confirmed that we made the right choice. I recommend bypassing the more touristy towns to spend time in a more authentic country-side location. Even though we don't speak French, everyone was helpful and nice. Highly recommend this area and specifically this lovely place.

Room Tip: We loved the cottage which was the original farm house. Perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2013

Les limornieres is in a beautiful, quiet rural area, and was the perfect get-away for our family (2 children - 4yrs & 7months) and our friends who stayed in the next house.
We loved being able to hang out in the garden, feed the animals, play on the trampoline, and eat lovely meals al fresco. Lots of great cycling on the bicycles (free to use).
After we had already left Les Limornieres, and we were on our way out - we had some car problems. We were still close - so we came back to the house. Alex went out of his way to find a creative solution to mending our car - something I would never have thought of myself. This went WAY beyond the call of duty - especially given that we had already left...
A big thanks to Alex and Nicole!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We spent 4 days at the Saule cottage. Alex and Nicole who live next door are very helpful with local info and prompt when you need something. The communication by emails/ phone leading up to the holiday was brilliant too. We are a family with a 5 yr old and a 11month old baby.

We travelled to Paris by Eurostar, then to Tours, hired a car from Tours station. The cottage is about 60km from Tours and takes about 1 hour.

Cottage: The cottage is self- sufficient and big thanks to Nicole for leaving some milk, butter, bread, dishwasher tablets (4), washing liquid, bin bags, tea/ coffee, sugar, pepper, olive oil and a carafe with some local wine in the cottage before we arrived. We had asked for a Uk adaptor for the baby monitor which was in the cottage when we arrived. The are plenty of toys and books, DVDs to keep the children happy. The wood burner fireplace was lovely and offered a rustic charm. Most evenings we returned to a warm cottage as Nicole would start the fireplace in our absence. Do carry some washing detergent for your clothes and salt. the bedrooms are beautifully decorated and very relaxing. I loved sitting by the full window, watching the open fields while sipping coffee each morning.

Outdoors/local: my boy loved the play area which has the trampoline, swing, chicken coop, a mini tractor to use on the lawn. Locally there is a goats cheese farm which we enjoyed visiting. Do remember all shops shut between 12.30 to 2.30 pm and consider Sunday timings if you want to buy stuff for your stay. We enjoyed our visits to loches and chinon. In April, there isn't much to see of the vineyards. The farmers market in Descartes was disappointing. In the village centre of grand le-pressigny there is a Spar shop, a butcher and a bakery.

Weather: Nicole did say that it was unusually cold in April this year which is otherwise much warmer. We found it cold wet and windy. So do carry warm clothes. I recommend carrying thick socks or slippers to wear inside the cottage.

Overall. Recommend this cottage as the hosts are perfect. The location is rural and calm. Most village attractions are accessible within an hour. Farmers markets appeared repetitive but we loved the local food. We will be back- so what can be a better endorsement!

Room Tip: Saule is bigger compared to other two cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rad2780-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

This is the best family holiday by far that we've had since having children. Nicole and Alex are so welcoming and have thought of everything you might need so you really don't need to take anything but your clothes. A truly relaxing holiday and we especially enjoyed having a few nights off cooking and enjoying Nicole's delicious home cooked meals - ba real treat!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We had a fantastic week's holiday at Les Limornieres. Alex and Nicole were so helpful and informative, there when we needed them but not intrusive. I was ill one of the days and Nicole very kindly dropped in some soda, which was a massive help and I very much appreciated the kindness. The garden was a perfect size for our 1 year old and there were nice little villages nearby, as well as some amazing chateaux.
We'd highly recommend this holiday!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

My husband and I spent five days at Les Limornieres and it was just delightful. After three weeks of travelling this was the perfect end to our holiday - so relaxing we unwound and nearly stopped!
Alex and Nicole were perfect hosts and a fount of local knowledge. The cottage, setting and location were delightful - particularly when you follow Nicole's directions!
Lindy

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2 story Noix cottage. Beautiful but if you have trouble with stairs could be a prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed at Les Limornieres for 5 days of glorious autumn sunshine. Nicole and Alex were the most charming and welcoming hosts, with a wealth of information about the surrounding area. We were delighted to be able to pick fresh fruit, tomatoes, herbs etc from their extensive gardens, and to borrow bicycles. The cottages are absolutely gorgeous, rustic, furnished with taste and most comfortable. Strongly recommended. Will be back!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Fishie x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Les Limornieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Limornieres

Address: route des Roches, 37350 Le Grand-Pressigny, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Le Grand-Pressigny
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Le Grand-Pressigny
Price Range: £67 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free use of bikes Restaurants/Bars <3km Hairdryer. Washing machine. The perfect base for your Loire Valley visit. Set in peaceful Loire Valley with far reaching views. 3 Self-contained self-catering cottages in landscaped flower filled gardens available to rent individually or together for up to 12 adults holidaying together. Countryside setting on doorstep, many marked walking & cycling circular routes via quiet lanes, woods, rivers & fields. Bikes to borrow for all guests. <3Km from village le Grand Pressigny - museum, chateaux, restaurants, bars. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing