We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to Unwind”
Review of Les Limornieres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Le Grand-Pressigny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Limornieres
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Having just returned from a week stay at Les Limonieres I am bracing myself for my return to work. I can't remember the last time that I relaxed so quickly with a 3 year old (and husbund) in tow. Nicole, Alex, Izzy and Amelie have a slice of heaven in the middle of the French countryside. The gite was very comfortable, clean and well equiped. Nicole had even tailored the toys and books to suit a 3 year old boy. The food provided on the first night was excellent (charcouterie, quiche, salad, summer pudding, cheese and coffee) with some of the produce coming from the garden.
Our stay was lucky enough to coincide with Bastille Day and Nicole and Alex kindly invited us to join them and their other guests for the evenings festivities in the local village which included moules and frites, dancing and a fire work display. This was typical of their hospitality and a real treat.
If you are looking for a place to unwind and relax with sightseeing opportunities within easy driving distance, this is for you.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groovykNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2009

From first arrival we knew this was a place we would love. The host and Hostess were fantastic and made us so welcome. It was very peaceful all the time, hardly any cars on the roads and at night the sky was incredible. So many stars. We also loved watching the bats by night and all the other birds, flowers and butterflies by day. Never bothered to do much site seeing as walking the lanes and just sitting watching the wild life was enough for us. We spent 5 days of heaven there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheezyFobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

A marvellous venue with welcoming and helpful hosts. The Chene cottage had every comfort possible, including snacks in the fridge for tired travellers! We loved the ambience and the very friendly hosts. Definitely recommend to all; lovely gardens, views, good location for visiting chateaux or just smelling the roses! A wonderful place!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneHelenY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChezANIA, Owners, manager, PR manager, cleaner, gardener, cook etc. :) at Les Limornieres, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2009

Great to hear you enjoyed your short stay at the end of your long tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

A fab place to stay: quiet and calm with full home from home comfort. We really disconnected from the world and relaxed with the kids. We opted for Nicole's meal delivery on the first night and arrived to an AMAZING 3 course meal and a roaring fire. Everything was spotlessly clean and decorated with real attention to detail. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything from a corkscrew to a brand new dishwasher. The kids had a ball running up and down the courtyard, bouncing on the trampoline and feeding the chickens. I really dont' know how I could fault these gites unless it was to say that they are too far away for us to go more often. We have already confirmed our next stay - this time in the summer sunshine... we can't wait!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mad-Mum-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChezANIA, Owners, manager, PR manager, cleaner, cook etc. :) at Les Limornieres, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2009

Good to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you in August for your return visit. BBQ at the ready this time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2009

I have travelled to Les Limornieres twice now, once for a short romantic break with my partner and once with a group of friends for a Bike Tour.

The cottage was perfect for chilled evenings with its wood burner, comfortable leather settee and UK satellite telly!

The kitchen had everything we would have needed to cook, as much as at home, but as we were on holiday we took up the offer of Nicole's breakfasts delivered to our door! Delicious, warm croissants, home made jam, fresh coffee (perfect for getting you up for a long ride or for romantic start to a day)!

Located right in the middle of fields and woods with a sunny patio. no road noise or light pollution so great views of stars (We had a late start to riding one morning because we sat out so late, sampling the local wines).

Also it was so close to the town with bars and restaurants and loads of the Loire Valley chateaux and vineyards to visit.

The region has some wonderful road (smooth roads and friendly drivers give you enough room when over taking - not like UK) and off road riding so any cycle enthusiast will find something to suite there needs (great space for storing your bikes securely too).

I really enjoyed both stays with the guys at Les Limornieres and we are currently trying to get the group back together for another visit, hopefully this May.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinLit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We stayed here last June and have to say what great value, for a lovely relaxing place to stay. Thank you for all your tips on the area, we especially enjoyed our trips to Loches on market day & to Chinon. The boys had great fun going fishing with Alex (which gave the adults some time to themslevews to enjoy a glass of Loire Valley wine) and exploring on your bikes Therefore a great holiday for us all!!

We will certainly be telling our friends of our find & hope to bring them along next time!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank So - C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Les Limornieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Limornieres

Address: route des Roches, 37350 Le Grand-Pressigny, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Le Grand-Pressigny
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Le Grand-Pressigny
Price Range: £67 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free use of bikes Restaurants/Bars <3km Hairdryer. Washing machine. The perfect base for your Loire Valley visit. Set in peaceful Loire Valley with far reaching views. 3 Self-contained self-catering cottages in landscaped flower filled gardens available to rent individually or together for up to 12 adults holidaying together. Countryside setting on doorstep, many marked walking & cycling circular routes via quiet lanes, woods, rivers & fields. Bikes to borrow for all guests. <3Km from village le Grand Pressigny - museum, chateaux, restaurants, bars. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing