We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay”
Review of Les Limornieres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Le Grand-Pressigny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Limornieres
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We were the first to stay at Chez Ania without a car. This was not a problem for us, as we are interested in cycling and walking and like to combat increased cheese and wine consumption with a bit of exercise! The cottages are an easy 30 minute walk away from Le Grand Pressigny, which has a couple of bars and restaurants, a bakery, small grocery store and butcher. We borrowed bikes and cycled around the area with reasonable ease. Due to the bus services being linked with schools, the timetable was reduced for the summer holidays. This meant it was difficult to travel further afield by bus on a daily basis, but easy enough to get to and from the cottage at the beginning and end of our stay. The owners were happy to give us lifts if they were going somewhere interesting. The holiday was a total break away from the hectic pace of everyday life for us. Very relaxing, friendly atmosphere with everything we needed for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 74,709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2009

Both Nicole and Alex Crawford were extremely generous hosts. We got an incredibly friendly welcome to their beautifully renovated gite.

The peace and tranquility of the surrounding area certainly is a tremendous tonic for those of us who lead a busy working life. Away from the madding crowd, with wonderful views to recharge the batteries, this is an excellent base from which to explore the wealth of history, architectural beauty and tempting caves of the Loire region.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KFjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We spent 2 whole weeks at chez Ania and had a great time there. The cottage was very clean, fully equipped and very child-friendly for our daughter Evi (10 months old). Alex, Nicole and the kids where great and made us feel at home from the moment we arrived! Beautiful surroundings, good markets and lovely food!! Especially dinner made by Nicole the night before we left for us was very special. We did'nt go out for dinnen, but this came very close! We would love to go back one day!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tijgetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Having just returned from a week stay at Les Limonieres I am bracing myself for my return to work. I can't remember the last time that I relaxed so quickly with a 3 year old (and husbund) in tow. Nicole, Alex, Izzy and Amelie have a slice of heaven in the middle of the French countryside. The gite was very comfortable, clean and well equiped. Nicole had even tailored the toys and books to suit a 3 year old boy. The food provided on the first night was excellent (charcouterie, quiche, salad, summer pudding, cheese and coffee) with some of the produce coming from the garden.
Our stay was lucky enough to coincide with Bastille Day and Nicole and Alex kindly invited us to join them and their other guests for the evenings festivities in the local village which included moules and frites, dancing and a fire work display. This was typical of their hospitality and a real treat.
If you are looking for a place to unwind and relax with sightseeing opportunities within easy driving distance, this is for you.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank groovykNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2009

From first arrival we knew this was a place we would love. The host and Hostess were fantastic and made us so welcome. It was very peaceful all the time, hardly any cars on the roads and at night the sky was incredible. So many stars. We also loved watching the bats by night and all the other birds, flowers and butterflies by day. Never bothered to do much site seeing as walking the lanes and just sitting watching the wild life was enough for us. We spent 5 days of heaven there. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SheezyFobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2009

A marvellous venue with welcoming and helpful hosts. The Chene cottage had every comfort possible, including snacks in the fridge for tired travellers! We loved the ambience and the very friendly hosts. Definitely recommend to all; lovely gardens, views, good location for visiting chateaux or just smelling the roses! A wonderful place!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneHelenY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChezANIA, Owners, manager, PR manager, cleaner, gardener, cook etc. :) at Les Limornieres, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2009

Great to hear you enjoyed your short stay at the end of your long tour.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2009

A fab place to stay: quiet and calm with full home from home comfort. We really disconnected from the world and relaxed with the kids. We opted for Nicole's meal delivery on the first night and arrived to an AMAZING 3 course meal and a roaring fire. Everything was spotlessly clean and decorated with real attention to detail. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything from a corkscrew to a brand new dishwasher. The kids had a ball running up and down the courtyard, bouncing on the trampoline and feeding the chickens. I really dont' know how I could fault these gites unless it was to say that they are too far away for us to go more often. We have already confirmed our next stay - this time in the summer sunshine... we can't wait!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mad-Mum-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChezANIA, Owners, manager, PR manager, cleaner, cook etc. :) at Les Limornieres, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2009

Good to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you in August for your return visit. BBQ at the ready this time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Les Limornieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Limornieres

Address: route des Roches, 37350 Le Grand-Pressigny, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Le Grand-Pressigny
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Le Grand-Pressigny
Price Range: £68 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free use of bikes Restaurants/Bars <3km Hairdryer. Washing machine. The perfect base for your Loire Valley visit. Set in peaceful Loire Valley with far reaching views. 3 Self-contained self-catering cottages in landscaped flower filled gardens available to rent individually or together for up to 12 adults holidaying together. Countryside setting on doorstep, many marked walking & cycling circular routes via quiet lanes, woods, rivers & fields. Bikes to borrow for all guests. <3Km from village le Grand Pressigny - museum, chateaux, restaurants, bars. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing