We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing and wonderful stay in the cozy countryside cottage”
Review of Les Limornieres

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Le Grand-Pressigny
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Limornieres
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We had a wonderful stay in the two bedroom cottage. Nicole and Alex have done an fantastic job with the cottages, bringing in all the modern amenities to a rural village in central france.

We stayed in the 2 bedroom cottage for 3 nights and we really didnt want to go back to our apartment in Paris. Nicole had a nice warm dinner ready for us upon arrival and had a lot of toys and games to keep my 4 year old fully occupied.

Their kids are wonderful and my daughter was soon chasing the chicken and rabbits with them all day.

I have already stared making plans for a longer stay next year as we could only spend 3 days this time.

Thanks again Nicole and Alex for being wonderful hosts.

ashok

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaviashok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Les Limornieres
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2010

We stayed in Chene Gite for four nights and really wished it was longer. The cotage is located a few minutes drive out of Le Grand Pressigny amidst farmland, forest and the odd contented cow.
The cottage has a well appointed kitchen making self catering easy, the lounge is comfortable and there is a TV with satelite channels plus a selection of DVDs for both kids and grown ups.
Great for kids - plenty of space, outside playground, chickens to feed. Not bad for adults either - a carafe of wine and coffee machine await.
Le Grand Pressigny has a few delights including the Chateau and the resteraunt Chez Grandma, and there is lots of easy day trips out - Loche being one we would recommend.
Alex and Nicole were welcoming and thoughtful hosts and refreshingly relaxed. We would love to return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BroomeTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We have just returned from a week's stay in the idyllic Les Limornieres. The Chene gite was a real home from home and had everything we needed for a family holiday with a young toddler in tow.

Travelling with a toddler can be a real headache, but the owners Nicole and Alex made this so easy for is - all the equipment we needed was on hand (including a proper cot instead of a travel cot), chickens and a rabbit (a source of great delight when you're only 2 years old), trampoline, swings, and a plentiful selection of other indoor and outdoor toys.

Althnough the gites are self-catering, you can have meals cooked by the owners. Both meals we had were absolutely delicious.

Les Limornieres is well placed for sightseeing - lots of towns with great markets and chateaux to visit nearby including Loches, Chinon and Cheninceau. The Chateau du Rivau is well worth a visit if you have young children. Lots of information about local sights and activities was available in our gite and Nicole and Alex were on hand to provide helpful suggestions.

Although we travelled with our young son, our gite would equally appeal to a couple without children.

I'd happily recommend Les Limornieres to friends and family and we will definitely consider returning next year.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Robson_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We immediately felt relaxed and comfortable when we arrived. The hosts were always ready to help or give good advice. The cottage was full of rustic charm, but yet was extremely clean and very well equipped. The surrounding scenery was beautiful and we really enjoyed sitting by the fireplace on cooler evenings. The location was perfect for visiting a multitude of interesting villages and châteaux. We did not want to leave and would highly recommend Les Limornières as a great vacation destination.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCGJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Immediately on arrival, we reaslied we'd discovered treasure! After a long drive from the UK, we received a very warm welcome from Nicole and Alex and after a quick exploration of their beautiful surroundings (old restoried buildings, gardens, chickens, endless views over fields), we settled down to a very thoughfully provided 'welcome' pack - perfect to enjoy in our secluded private garden.

The gite itself is very thoughtfully furnished and set out, perfect for a self catering base or to store picnics in between days out. The folder of brochures and good ideas, set out by distance away and with Nicole's helpful guidelines, set the tone for a week of relaxation and exploration. We slept so very well too!

This was a real tonic from busy lifestyles - we promised ourselves at the start of the week that we wouldn't rush around to see too many sites and therefore not relax. But still, from here, we managed to see the very best of the Loire countryside, chateaux, fortresses, vineyards and peaceful historic towns.

We can recommend, besides this fantastic accommodation, the Amuse Bouche restaurant, Jeanne d'Arc pizzeria in Chinon, Amboise, Blois, Cheverny, Chenonceau, Chinon all round, Vouvray and Montlouis sur Loire for wine tasting, Grand Pressigny for tranquility and history...and so much more.

We'd love to come back - and have brought back some lovely wine to remind us until we do! Alex and Nicole, thank you for a wonderful break.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank verydarklilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2010

I can find nothing else to say about staying in Chezania Cottage, other than it was completely perfect. Alex and Nicole have created a beautiful retreat in the French countryside, perfect for families and couples alike.
The cottage was clean, comfortable and well-equipped. Nicole's cooking was also superb.
I sincerely hope this will not be our last stay at this wonderful place.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Our stay at Les Limornieres was fantastic! Our two girls, who are 7 and 9, bounced on the trampoline from dawn until dusk, and then came in exhausted to two happy parents just in time for a fabulous home cooked meal by the owners of the cottages.
It was great to have the kitchen, plus the bonus of ordering a delicious meal if you did not want to cook (which we didn't!).
The owners went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed - from contacting a local stable, to leaving us 4 bikes to explore the area.....
The accommodation is quaint, and we loved all the games etc that were on hand for the kids. The property is truly lovely.
We could find no fault with our stay here - perhaps apart from a morning when we had no matches to light the stove - that was a wee chilly but all part of the experience!
We cannot recommend this place highly enough - it was perfect, and Nicole and Alex truly did all they could to make us feel welcome - they are brilliant!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimandmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Grand-Pressigny
16.9 mi away
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
#1 of 1 in Availles-en-Chatellerault
257 reviews
3.2 mi away
Chateau de La Celle Guenand
Chateau de La Celle Guenand
#1 of 1 in La Celle-Guenand
152 reviews
1.6 mi away
Le Savoie Villars
Le Savoie Villars
#1 of 1 in Le Grand-Pressigny
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Limornieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Limornieres

Address: route des Roches, 37350 Le Grand-Pressigny, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Le Grand-Pressigny
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Le Grand-Pressigny
Price Range: £66 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free use of bikes Restaurants/Bars <3km Hairdryer. Washing machine. The perfect base for your Loire Valley visit. Set in peaceful Loire Valley with far reaching views. 3 Self-contained self-catering cottages in landscaped flower filled gardens available to rent individually or together for up to 12 adults holidaying together. Countryside setting on doorstep, many marked walking & cycling circular routes via quiet lanes, woods, rivers & fields. Bikes to borrow for all guests. <3Km from village le Grand Pressigny - museum, chateaux, restaurants, bars. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing