We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff and appalling service”
Review of Le Savoie Villars

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Savoie Villars
Hawkhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude staff and appalling service”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Nice location and food but the attitude of the staff was incredibly rude...we were in a group of around 20 which had been booked at the restaurant for about 2 months and confirmed the week before. Despite this they had only two staff members serving and a large number of other customers. When we dared to ask for bread and water having waited an hour with no service whatsoever, the staff became quite aggressive, implying we were in the wrong to be impatient as it was obvious they were busy. We felt completely unwelcome with plates and cutlery being slammed onto the table and comments being muttered under the staffs breath. The most unpleasant evening I have ever had in a restaurant which is a shame as it came recommended. We will certainly not be visiting again and will advise friends and family to avoid.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard t, Propriétaire at Le Savoie Villars, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
Hello

I can react strongly to your criticism that does not reflect reality

Indeed your group had booked for 7: 30 p.m. However the entire group was present that to 20h15.cela is not our fault if, during this time the you have expected .your appetizers which were offered by the House you were served when the entire group was present.

The bread, I would like to inform you that it is placed on the tables that when input arrives, what the nor was not the case. With regard to wines no request was made when making your reservation, you had the time to order it because you were an aperitif.There are also way nicer to ask to be aggressive like this was the case

With regard to the aggressiveness of myself and my waitress, I inform you that after being insulting by some people of your 'big pig' group, c.... «» food yucky ""move your big c... ". "etc etc, you can imagine that our cold blood have disappeared and we have told

You were not alone tonight la and I am sorry that you did not have exclusivity as you wanted.

The restaurant received very many group before you and absolutely all are returned in satisfied, I'm sorry if this was not your case. as some of you have mentioned me the customer is King but under certain conditions, the lack of respect that you had towards my staff is absolutely shocking and could not go unanswered. I never was also insulted by clients tonight with your group
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    12
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
13
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We booked 2 months in advance to eat at this establishment as a party of 25. Upon arrival, (at the agreed time) the tables were not prepared and we had go to a bar next door to wait. We returned after some time and were seated. We waited nearly an hour for any attention (drinks order, explanation...), and eventually received our agreed aperitif. When we requested some bread and water we were met with a particularly surly attitude and were told they had not been expecting us (!) and we would have to accept that they were understaffed. Some time later the starter, as part of the set menu, began to be served. Although the food was delicious, the attitude with which it was delivered was disgusting. Forks were slammed down, requests for drinks were taken with distain together with very loud, public, exclamations of "pah! - c'est imppossible!" (from the waiting staff).... it was perfectly Faulty Towers -esq!!!
I am afraid to say that after three of our party had been reduced to tears by the rudeness and aggressive attitude of the staff we left the establishment (i cannot call it a restaurant).

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The Auberge Savoie Villars reopened a couple of months ago (June 2013), having attracted a new proprietor, and then renovation work being carried out to renew the kitchens. We are thrilled to add the restaurant to our local list of favourite places to dine. As we live in the next village, we've already been 3 times; and once to celebrate a birthday! Mr Tiercelin is an excellent host and the chef is an excellent cook. So you can be sure of a warm friendly welcome and as the menu changes with the season, fresh tastey food is guaranteed.

Room Tip: If the weather is warm, ask for a table on the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PolskiLodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

highly recommend this restaurant- the food was superb and in a pleasant location. service, however, was pretty slow as the waiter seemed to be on his own, coping with numerous tables. the wait was worth it, though, for the quality of the food, and the menu itself was very good value at 22euro.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogyoungone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Le Grand-Pressigny
9.8 mi away
Relais De La Mothe
Relais De La Mothe
#1 of 1 in Yzeures-sur-Creuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant La Vigne
Hotel Restaurant La Vigne
#4 of 7 in La Roche-Posay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
4.6 mi away
Chateau de La Celle Guenand
Chateau de La Celle Guenand
#1 of 1 in La Celle-Guenand
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Aquarelle
Aquarelle
#3 of 7 in Sainte-Maure-de-Touraine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
9.7 mi away
Appart'Hotel La Roche-Posay
Appart'Hotel La Roche-Posay
#2 of 4 in La Roche-Posay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Savoie Villars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Savoie Villars

Property: Le Savoie Villars
Address: 10 Place Savoie Villars, 37350 Le Grand-Pressigny, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Le Grand-Pressigny
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Le Grand-Pressigny
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Savoie Villars 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Le Savoie Villars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing