We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food and Wine with updated accomodation”
Review of Logis de la Barque

Logis de la Barque
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Logis de la Barque
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very Good Food and Wine with updated accomodation”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I have been coming to this hotel for many years each June to watch the le mans 24 hour race. The food and wine have always been the strong point - may I suggest the divine starter of warmed foi gras with raspberry jelly!!! Now the breakfasts have been improved to international breakfast standards - formerly they were minimal traditional French breakfasts of coffee, bread and jams - and the rooms have been updated with nice furnishings, flat screen TV's, etc. A very honest and genuine hotel for discerning travellers

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    24
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
7
22
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Booked the hotel through Logis de France website and received confirmation for a half board stay for two people. When we arrived the place was shut although people were working inside. We managed to intercept one of them on the way out who told us the hotel was closed that evening and we couldn't have made a reservation. After being told we had confirmation of our booking, she consulted a man who had just come into reception who just mumbled it wasn't possible. Her advice was that we should go to the Tourist Office opposite which, unsurprisingly, wasn't open. It was obvious that someone had made a mistake with the reservation and availability at the hotel/restaurant but the dismissive way we were treated was appalling. This hotel does not deserve to be part of the Logis network and it seemed to us that the proprietor's style, referred to by previous contributors, lives on

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Figary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beaumont-sur-Sarthe hotels

Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We did not stay in the Hotel, we were camping at the local campsite. However, when we enquired if there was anywhere we could get a meal that evening (Sunday) the lovely lady at the campsite said she would make some enquiries for us. The restaurant was supposed to be closed that evening, but for some bizarre reason, they had a coach party booking so we were welcomed - and also very lucky!. The meal was lovely. I had the salmon which was cooked to perfection. The whole bill for three courses for two including a bottle of wine came to around 60 euros. Just for information we found no other restaurant in the tiny but lovely village however the bar situated just to the right of the Logis gets the sunshine on the outside terrace (even though it does face the busy main road) and has a genuine locals feel to it - although it closes once the sun goes down.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siand33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

my neice booked through booking.com and as per rules was able to cancel within 24 hours if needed. due to airline problems and train arrangements in total she changed the booking 4 times.
when we arrived at the hotel the proprietor was very upset with us as the last booking had not been cancelled by booking.com and he had expected us to get there at the weekend but had turned up on the tuesday.this was booking.com fault but he told us we should book direct with him next time. if he spoke english we may have considered this but my neice who speaks french even found some translation difficult and over the phone we want to be sure we get it correct. he only spoke to us when we spoke to him. however in the hotels favour the bedrooms were very clean,well decorated and looked as though it had been refurbished since our visit last year. we are at a disadvantage that this is the only hotel in beaumont sur sarthe and we need to stay there when visiting my sister who lives 3 miles away. we did not eat there for evening meal but the breakfast was very adequate continental style.

Room Tip: we have stayed there twice in different rooms and both times the rooms were very quiet and had all f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindacunnington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I booked through booking.com as I wanted to stay in this area. Earlier in the year when using the main road to get to le Mans for the MotoGP I saw that Beaumont had an old town and a older bridge crossing across the Sarthe.

The hotel has one drawback and that is the traffic on the road. Everything else is really good. We had a room at the back overlooking the car park. It is quiter. The room we had was a double with bath and loo. I had booked parking but in the end we could park across the road for free and it was pretty safe. I may have used the private parking if I had had the bike.

Another positive is the restaurant. The food on the menu was really good, well cooked and the plates stacked with food. Excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InvictaMoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

travelling from cherbourg to montpellier we needed a stop over hotel. i have stayed in logis hotels before and always found them very good value. this was no exception. very comfortable, clean and agreeable room at a very reasonable price. the restaurant was pretty good value too. probably wouldnt spend a weeks holiday here but great for one or two nights.

Room Tip: probably go for a street facing room. ours overlooked some rooves
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linda o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We had exactly the same problem reported by another contributer, with I'd guess the same employee.
Very casual, offhand, and rather offensive. They will not serve anything like the hours they advertise their restaurant as open. I think we had an even more negative experience as I am an awkward cuss who simply will not fork up a 100 euro for a family meal if the staff are going to be rude. Four weeks in France without any problems and then that near the end was a really upsetting experience.
For the money, the room is okay but very basic e.g. no soap holder in shower.
This place is more a restaurant for locals - travellers would be well advised to look somewhere else.
Doesn't deserve to be a Logis.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beaumont-sur-Sarthe
12.0 mi away
Inter Hotel Alizea
Inter Hotel Alizea
#2 of 7 in Saint-Saturnin
86 reviews
14.4 mi away
ibis Alencon
ibis Alencon
#2 of 11 in Alencon
238 reviews
12.9 mi away
Mercure Alencon
Mercure Alencon
#10 of 11 in Alencon
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#1 of 2 in Villaines la Juhel
406 reviews
12.3 mi away
Logis Le Bretagne
Logis Le Bretagne
#1 of 1 in Sille-le-Guillaume
28 reviews
12.1 mi away
Brit Hotel Les Evens
Brit Hotel Les Evens
#3 of 7 in Saint-Saturnin
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis de la Barque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis de la Barque

Property: Logis de la Barque
Address: 10 Place de la Liberation, 72170, Beaumont-sur-Sarthe, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Beaumont-sur-Sarthe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaumont-sur-Sarthe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Logis de la Barque 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Logis de la Barque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing