We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unimpressive” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Table du Marche - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Table du Marche
Cuisines: French, Seafood
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unimpressive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Le Domaine so the first night we decided to just eat at the hotel restaurant. Ugh, big mistake. First, the service was terrible until the poor GM of the hotel came in and started waiting on us. She was great, but that isn't her job. The food was good but the portions very small. The champagne was terrible - thought I was drinking Andre! Since we didn't do a inclusive (thank god) we paid out right and the price was ridiculous for what we got. Never eating there again. And to boot we went down for breakfast and after paying 30 euros for a breakfast buffet with no servers and watery eggs, there is no way eating there again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cbedall03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    2
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Fresh and Delicious.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

You must order the Chilean seabass and Local Gambas dish. End with a variety of desserts, all are good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WassimS500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
“Too expensive and not a good vibe”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

We ate at Table du Marche the first night we arrived. We didn't know any better. There were very few people in the restaurant, which should have told us something. The food was okay, taste-wise, but the portions were small and the cost was high. On top of this, the presentation of the food was pretty pathetic (shrimp curry served in a little bowl, with a separate little bowl of rice), and the service was a little cold. The hostess was nice but there were a handful of male waiters that didn't crack a smile. Overall, we just thought the place was a ripoff, and so we never went back. Every time we walked by it at night, we assumed the people eating there (which were few) were also there because it was their first night and they didn't know better. With so many good restaurants in St. Martin, this is just not worth it. Got to Grand Case or if you stay in Anse Marcel, go to Victoria's in the little town. It's new and delicious with a very friendly staff, good presentation, and much more of a deal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 63AndrewL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Bays, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not What I Expected...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Upon our evening arrival at Le Domaine we logically dined at Le Table du Marche. The location is soothing, the the sound of waves as background. The service fair, the menu obviously for gourmands. The serving size very small & priced high. I had the shrimp curry which was very tasty, my son had the fish balls which were delicious. I wanted red snapper but at 9 euros per 100 grams, and the only fish they had was a minimum of 2.2 lbs or one kilo; it was way too much fish for one person , let alone the high price it would have cost. We had water no appetizers no coffee no dessert the bill was almost $100. Not the best choice for dining with children but If fine dining on the beach is your thing, and money no object this would work, they are eager to share their craft.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vhadland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
134 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overhyped”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Good service, average food. More PR than substance for this restaurant. Beautiful setting though, so if you don't mind paying top dollar for average food in a spectacular setting you'll like it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MNtravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Table du Marche also viewed

Anse Marcel, Saint-Martin
Anse Marcel, Saint-Martin
 
Anse Marcel, Saint-Martin
Anse Marcel, Saint-Martin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing