We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beach, mediocre stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach, mediocre stay.”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My husband and I made our first visit to St. Martin in March. We had no idea what to expect, but only heard great things. Firstly, the Radisson Blu is located over 45 minutes away from the main airport and the drive was bit daunting. Upon our arrival, the staff was not very friendly. Also, the lobby is partially outdoors, so it is very humid and buggy. Our room was very dirty and management was not happy about moving us. We were happier with our new room and thoroughly loved our time spent at the beach. We traveled to Grand Case for dinner, but the restaurants across the street were also very good. Sunshine and Alan were superstars, but the rest of the staff was rude/snobby! Breakfast was also a nice addition. However, I would not chose to return to the Radisson Blu.

Room Tip: Be cautious that there are no rooms facing the beach! Ask for a view of the marina, it's the nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    800
    303
    121
    81
See reviews for
663
1,109
41
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was our second visit in 12 months, with the last visit being July of 2013. Both times, we stayed in a Marina Suite.

We came to stay here back in July after arriving at our real destination, La Samanna, and finding there was no beach! Beach erosion had created such a drop off into the water that the beach was virtually unusable without a rope to get in and out. We like using the beach instead of the pool so we decided to check out and see if the Weston or Radisson was better. Beach was very rough at Westin so our driver suggested the Radisson.

The main draw of the Radisson is the beach. Nestled within a cove between two mountains, the beach is outstanding. You have privacy and serenity- calm waters. It's easy to relax and get lost here, hence the reason we went back!

The pool is also great, with one end for kids where its shallow, and the other, better suited for adults.

Despite it being a busy Spring break week, we never felt it was too crowded.

The rooms are nice, but the bathrooms need updating. For nearly a cost of $800 a night, its not the luxury you'd expect or find at La Samanna, BUT- you have the beach and close proximity to Grand case for fine French dining.

Service at the resort is hit or miss. Front desk area was great, but we couldn't seem to get housekeeping to leave soap, shampoo or conditioner, without calling each time we needed it. They left one towel for each person- nothing special-- no complimentary water-- it just lacked that extra something you usually get at this price point.

It was clear on this visit, something had changed with the hotel and we came to find out it has been sold and is in a transitional period, moving to an all inclusive platform. This could explain why the service seemed to have fallen off from July to now.

Food at the resort is good. Have to mention the lobster at the C'Le restaurant. The butter was infused with Vanilla. OMG- nothing ever tasted so good! Even with all the amazing French food in Grand Case, this was a food highlight!

Room Tip: If with children, try a Marina Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milobite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

It was our first trip to St. Martin and we weren't quite sure what to except. We booked the hotel after reading the overwhelming number of positive reviews on tripadvisor and I'm so glad that we did. The hotel is beautiful and well-maintained. It's on the north side, near Grand Case but up a very steep hill with the beach tucked away in a cove which gives a lot of privacy vs being on a large strip of beachfront.

Food: We only stayed for the complimentary breakfast buffet. You can't really go wrong with breakfast buffets--everything was good. Didn't get a chance to check out the other restaurants but Grand Case is only a 10 min drive away. (We made the mistake of not getting a rental, I highly recommend booking one as it is impossible to walk anywhere else from the hotel as it's on the hill, mentioned above)

Rooms: We stayed in the Deluxe Rooms, it was very simply decorated but roomy for a deluxe and very clean. The bathroom was spacious and the water pressure in the shower was strong. My only warning for the ladies is that you need to bring an adapter w/ converter as the outlets are universal outlets but with european wattage that my curling iron couldn't handle. As with many beachfront resorts, there are no rooms with a real beachview. This is to keep the tropical paradise ambiance when you're actually at the beach.

People: Although I did see some children, they were few and far between. We definitely picked this place because it wasn't a family-centered resort. There were mostly couples and some smaller groups.

Amenities: Pool is huge and goes along the beach and spacious and clean, with a large spa to fit a dozen as well. The beach is pristine, you can't beat the warm Carribean waters. The beach is well maintained with plenty of chairs for all. They also have a rental area on the far left-side for sea-doos, paddle boarding, snorkeling, etc. They have a fitness center which I never made it too. As well as outdoor area for volleyball, soccer, etc.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this property and would likely come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week at this resort on a family vacation. The hotel delivered on a relaxing, indulging vacation.

The hotel grounds is ideally located for this who want a beach retreat. Away from casinos and mega shopping but close (10 mins drive) to Grand Case the center of fine dining. The beach feels private with a great pool.

The staff were super attentive always going the extra mile. Despite the high season of Easter / spring break they managed what could have been chaotic breakfast service very well. Even at capacity there were plenty of lounge chairs so no stress.

A totally relaxing trip! I highly recommend this hotel and the French side in general for those seeking R&R.

Minor improvements suggested:

- not enough wait staff at pool and beach side to come by and take orders.
- they could offer 1 free DVD rental per room. To charge 5 euros each was unnecessary when we are paying enough. Or in-room entertainment would be nice for movie nights

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank markypao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel is beautiful, the staff is wonderful, the pool and the beach are really fun, but there is one catch that would seem to be the smallest thing, but it isn't - the water pressure in the showers. It took me almost five minutes to get a simple squirt of conditioner out of my hair! the resort is otherwise awesome, so this was a dissapointment. The staff is awesome. When we requested a new room, they excepted in stride. when you first drive up, you are greated by a towering white building with long blue and white curtains. Then you are welcomed by a staff member, and told your room number. Then you would hop in a golf cart (yes, I really did say a golf cart) and drive to your room. this is the only time that you go in the golf court (much dissapointment to the children in our group:)) so savor it! The breakfast buffet is really good escpecially the omlettes. everything is great besides the water pressure in the showers, and did I mention we killed about five mosqitos in our room in about an hour? too bad, because the rest of the resort was utterly amazing.

Room Tip: ask for an upstairs room, they may have better views. Also, if you are not happy with your room or s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelugaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The pool is lovely and the beach location is spectacular. Couldn't have been happier from that perspective. We also liked the international flavor of our fellow travelers. It made it feel like we really were getting away. The room left a bit to be desired. Not uncomfortable or unclean just nothing special. Same with interior corridors where rooms are located. And elevator was downright "yucky" --- They really need to instruct their bellmen to send guests via the stairs if they are able and meet the guests at their rooms. This was the WORST first impression of the place ever.
Other then the concierges who were quite helpful, I found the service disappointing. During our visit there always a line at least 2 deep at the concierge desk - the hotel should staff more during busy times. Often a line at breakfast too. Staff just seemed disorganized and unsure of what they were doing, but were great at making excuses. I was extremely disappointed with what was supposed to be our "special dinner" at Le C restaurant. Service was poor. Practically had to beg for water. Extremely disorganized.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lrmls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was our 5th visit at this hotel and each time it has just gotten better and better. The staff is terrific and really add to the experience. They exude a great deal of patience with some pretty demanding people from what we saw. The Radisson Blu is an excellent family vacation spot. I would recommend going before the sale takes place this June if you can! All inclusive I think will hurt much of the charm - ie being able to walk across the street to Calypso for pizza with the kids while we had well priced red Burgundy with steaks and sauce roquefort! Also, it was so nice to take a cab into Grand Case to dine at some great spot there (Tastevin is outstanding!).

Room Tip: Marina Suites are VERY worth the added expense. We liked the lower level suites as it was easy to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Marcel
4.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.0 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
2.2 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
7.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
7.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace St Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Property: Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Address: BP 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace St Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hotel The Hotel Riu Palace St. Martin, situated at the beachfront on the Caribbean island of St. Martin, is the perfect place for a dream vacation and it's ready for you to enjoy all the amenities and services RIU offers to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, West Indies, Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace St Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin Hotel Anse Marcel
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina And Spa St. Martin
Radisson Anse Marcel
Anse Marcel Radisson
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin St. Maarten-St. Martin/Anse Marcel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing