We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Calm Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Calm Beach”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Very nice hotel with its own beach and a harbor. The beach is a gem - no wind, no waves, beautiful sand, and no screaming kids and people.

The room was very clean and there was a Nespresso machine in the room, which was a really nice touch and we definitely took an advantage of that. Our hotel room was on the outer part of the building that didn't have any view of the grounds, which was a little disappointing (if you can, ask for a room facing the grounds).

The food was okay. We had breakfast buffet every morning and there was enough selection of to keep us satisfied. We had only one buffet dinner at the hotel restaurant and it was just good but not over the top. The appetizers were definitely better than the main course as the main course was just a selection of grilled meats and fish (a little bit overdone for my taste). All other nights we drove to nearby Grand Case where there are dozens of amazing restaurants.

The hotel is not on the main drag of Grand Case or Orient Beach, so one definitely needs a car to get to those more popular places. But, if you want to relax on the beach and don't mind driving few miles for an excellent dinner or for island exploration, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kamilka1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    967
    823
    313
    125
    87
See reviews for
683
1,138
42
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We visited last April for spring break. Resort is located on amazing stretch of sand, views are gorgeous. It has European flavor that we liked. I felt relaxed from the moment we stepped into their lobby- white chairs, sand/white/blue colors - very earthy and pleasant. Then it was wonderful just walking around the property and admiring hotel grounds. Room was small but we didn't spend time in it. Nespresso in the room is awesome touch! Beach was so relaxing with trees providing shade and lots of lounge chairs and wonderful bar serving drinks and bites. I am planning a return visit, most definitely!

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alena-voyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The grounds and the beach were nice, everything else was sort of average. Spa was also very good. Check in was interesting since our room was not ready even though we arrived at 11am one day later (our flight from a neighboring island was canceled so we arrived in St Martin the next day). We waited in the lobby for 30-45 min waiting for the staff to get ready the room we were supposed to check in the day before…. Breakfast buffet strongly favored quantity vs quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenzi001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, Colorado, USA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

What u need to know: it's a beautiful property on the French side away from the crazy action of what can be the Dutch side or public beaches.
Beautiful private beach, spectacular infinity pool, attentive staff, good room service and lovely options for food by the water.

Child-friendly, quiet, no blaring music, free non- motorized water sports.

Need a car to explore the island. Rent it from travelocity before u get there. Hertz is on the property, but u get a better deal, much cheaper, if u reserve on line ahead of time. Yes, the hotel is located on a steep road, but we didn't have any trouble.

Rooms don't have water view. We didn't find that to be an issue, but I felt it was important to point out for the next person who visits.

Try Del Tony Italian restaurant at the marina. Delicious.

Free breakfast didn't blow me away. Other reviewers have said it was great or raved about it. Sadly they haven't experienced a great free breakfast. To sound snooty- I have.
It was doable. Could be definitely better.

The selection overall was lacking, especially whey you stay for 8 days.

Nice omelets and French bread. Delicious coffee. But there could be more tropical food options ( we are in the tropics where is all grows) the selection was the same every day.

Having said it all, we'd go there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denvertraveler06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Radisson Blu St. Martin (now an RIU resort) from May 23rd - 30th.

Hotel is located in Anse Marcel, gorgeous cove/marina. The drive to the hotel is on a narrow, windy road that has great views, just make sure to hug the sharp turns as you go up and down the hill.

The hotel is best suited for those looking for a beautiful resort, away from tourist heavy attractions, and pristine waters. The hotel has their own private beach, plentiful beach chairs, beautiful pool area/jacuzzi. Water sports are available, for example, jet skis. The property is also surrounded by beautiful rolling hills, providing a serene and private atmosphere.

Rooms are well appointed, we first had a double bed room on the first floor. I'd suggest getting a room on a higher floor, which was accomodated by management. The beds are sleep number beds and bathroom is large/comfortable. The room included a couple nice amenities, for example a nespresso machine and ipod dock.

Breakfast is served daily at the le marche. Oustanding breakfast and a highlight at the resort. A plethora of options were available: eggs, meats, pancakes/waffles, baked goods, omelette station, fruits, juices, etc. Service was attentive and courteous. Staff works hard to make you feel completely at ease.

If you want to explore the island and take on a couple activities, recommend renting a car. Property has a hertz rental station on-site, huge plus for us since the hotel is about 30 min or so from Princess Juliana airport on the Dutch side.

The resort never felt crowded and was perfect to come back to after a long day of activities.

Recommend visiting Marigot, there's a smoothie stand by the port, that makes a killer banana shake. While at Marigot, hike up fort Louis for a great panoramic view of the port area. Also, go hike Loterie Farm, a challenging hike and keep a lookout for monkeys.

During our visit, we traveled to Anguilla and St. Barths (day trips) visiting resorts at both islands (Viceroy Anguilla, Eden Rock St. Barths). Everytime we returned to our resort, we felt more confident in our choice with Radisson.

Only recommendation for the resort would be to add more food options for lunch/dinner.

As we explored the island, good food options were scarce. It's easy to spend a lot at a nice restaurant and not be happy with the food. For example, stay clear from Rancho del Sol. You're better of getting fresh fish at Lolos beach restaurant in Grand Case, a bare-bones shack where locals eat. It may look run-down, but always follow locals for good food and good value.

A wonderful experience and I would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank RaymundoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I send an email for the book 3 rooms. I got an answer by mail but I send an email back for the confirmation. But now none is responding. Now I see that Riu hotels has take over the place if you want to make a reservation they also are not responding on my emails????
Is someone know how I can make a reservation for this hotel?

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cederic123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This past weekend, we spent 4 nights at the Radisson Blue Resort in French St. Martin--our first time on the island. It is located in Anse Marcel, about a half-hour drive from Princess Julianna Airport. The staff is friendly and attentive without being too formal: a great Caribbean vibe.

The property takes up a cove that is picturesque and a good size. There were other people around, yet never crowded. Our beds were "sleep number" and everything at the place is very modern/up to date. We had a deluxe room that was very clean, bright and spacious. Very peaceful at night. The pool is huge -- infinity at one end and a man-made beach area at the other end for kids who are too little for the sea that is within sight. Good sized hot tub.

The beach is white sand and beautiful, calm water with plenty of lounge chairs. There is an area where you can rent watersports equipment. We had fun with a jet ski, although it was a little expensive. Nearby is the covered patio where the breakfast buffet was -- everything you could want, including omelet station, loads of French bread and pastries, cheeses & meats, etc. Americans and French alike would be easily satisfied.

There's a gift shop with basic needs for bath and beach and some souvenirs (not the type of gift shop that sells diamonds and watches -- you can find those in Philipsburg!). One night a fire alarm went off for a few minutes, then stopped. The next day, the hotel sent every room a letter explaining there was no danger or significant issue. I was not put off by the alarm.

Anse Marcel is next to Grand Case -- with a street of restaurants that foodies should not miss! Parking was a bit of a hunt at dinner time but well worth it.

I would definitely go back to this Radisson Blu.

Room Tip: Elevator is at one end of corridor only -- if you hate long walks or stairs, ask to be near the elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse Marcel
4.7 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.0 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,798 reviews
2.2 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#6 of 8 in Orient Bay
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
7.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
7.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace St Martin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace St Martin

Property: Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Address: BP 581, Anse Marcel 97056, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Anse Marcel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anse Marcel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace St Martin 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hotel The Hotel Riu Palace St. Martin, situated at the beachfront on the Caribbean island of St. Martin, is the perfect place for a dream vacation and it's ready for you to enjoy all the amenities and services RIU offers to its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, West Indies, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace St Martin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina & Spa St. Martin Hotel Anse Marcel
Radisson Blu Resort, Marina And Spa St. Martin
Radisson Anse Marcel
Anse Marcel Radisson
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin St. Maarten-St. Martin/Anse Marcel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing