We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Grande Mountain Retreat
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Utuado
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Monte Rio Hotel(Adjuntas)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
255
156
55
25
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
156
55
25
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmorning yoga classceiling fanyoga roompuerto ricobeautiful mountainsget away from it allno air conditioningrooms are basicpeace and quiethiking trailssmall poolold san juanforestcordilleraaccommodationsmountainsidepr
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Wonderful views, wonderful food, friendly staff....but no help getting the luggage up from the distant parking lot! Also, bare necessities: no hair dryer etc.
Casa Grande is the right place for a few days of "disconnecting", especially when you are with friends.

Room Tip: All are good. Perhaps the higher up the hill the less the noise from the road.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Restful M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Founder-Director, Owner at Casa Grande Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2014

We're delighted you enjoyed your Casa Grande experience. There's no bellhop at the retreat but upon arrival you may drive up to the hacienda, unload your baggage, and drive down to the parking lot. The walk back up is a lot easier without the luggage. The accommodations are rather Spartan and limited to basic necessities so hair dryers are not one of the amenities provided.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We love visiting the Casa Grande. Yes it is not easy to reach. Lots of winding, small roads. But when we arrived it was just as we remembered, quiet and serene. The food is reasonable and varied, a real treat. The staff could not be nicer. The rooms are quite spartan, but it fits with this environment. Our favorite room is number 10. It is very private and you can hear the river below.

Room Tip: Our favorite room is number 10. Very private with great views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Beautiful, peaceful place in the mountains, Go to sleep with the sounds of the jungle. Great service, little restaurent attached. We went as a family of four with a six and nine year old, in search of some peace after being forced to leave from a beach residence due to incredibly loud music through the night. We initially booked for one night as a "bolt hole" from the beach noise, but extended our stay. Rooms have everything you need. There is some great ziplining and rapelling nearby in Utuado, as well a lovely waterfall and natural pool a relatively short hike away. Toro Negro is also quite near and worth a hike to the top (we did it with kids). Note though , this is not a resort - and is geared towards independent travellers, or travellers in small groups.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We had a great one-night stay at this hotel.
We arrived late after getting stuck in a traffic jam and were worried about getting dinner, thinking that the hotel food was likely to be incredibly overpriced Well we were pleasantly surprised - the food was very, very nice, local Puerto Rican style and very reasonable in cost.

The hotel itself is beautiful, the grounds are gorgeous and we enjoyed going for a little walk the next morning up to the top of the ridge. Also lying in the hammocks in the morning watching the sun peak over the top of the hills.

The rooms are large, slightly sparse but who wants a TV on holiday in the mountains anyway? The shower was warm and the pressure strong - all you need!

Downsides:
- Bed not that comfortable
- I feel a hotel in the middle of nowhere, at the kind of price we paid, should include breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was very nice, however, when you have no choice and are a bit of a drive from anywhere else to get any food, it would be better if it was included.
- Yoga class in the morning also not included - this was my misunderstanding from various reviews and the Lonely Planet, not the hotel's fault, but I was under the impression it was free so was slightly disappointed on check-in to find it wasn't!
- Not sure what qualifies it as a 'mountain retreat' other than just being in a remote location.

HOWEVER, we only spent one night there and I wished we had spent longer. It was absolutely beautiful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajd87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

If you are looking for high end pampering go else where, if you are looking for excellent service, food and staff, this is your place. Its quite, simple and totally relaxing. Accommodations are simple and clean. The grounds and views are wonderful...Enjoy...Thank you Steve and Jose

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 41sandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews