We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in the mountains!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Utuado
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Grande Mountain Retreat
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Utuado
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife had a very nice 2 night stay. We were in room 10 which had a great view of the mountains and valley. The road by the unit was a little bothersome but not many cars go by, you can enjoy the sound of the river and Coqui . Even though there is no a\c it wasn't an issue, there is a ceiling fan and plenty of windows that keep you cool. My wife was concerned but we both slept great both nights. The food at the hotel restaurant was good and reasonably priced. Service was great, and the grounds were beautiful. We would definitely come back!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank gaddy1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Very nice place to relax and disconnect from daily routine. Nature beauties within. Delicious food in a cozy restaurant. Very nice people. Highly recommended if you wish to pamper and endulge yourself enjoying the beautiful and peaceful view full of plants, flowers, palm trees. Excellent offering a good price

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LizElvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Located along VERY curvy mountain roads (might get car sick driving along them), Casa Grande was a beautiful mountain retreat. Options for breakfast and dinner (not included). Wifi was very poor. Friendly staff! Very clean and updated rooms and bathrooms. Very nice pool.
Options for massage and yoga class. Also they have board games to play.
No air conditioning, leaving no choice to leave windows open at night which was SO loud with frogs and bugs (couldn't sleep). Lots of bugs. Otherwise beautiful and serene.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Cleanliness
Thank Alflick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Founder-Director, Owner at Casa Grande Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

There's no a/c as it is our intention to provide a natural setting. WiFi is available but not at thigh speed because of our remote location. Of 350 reviews we've only received a few comments about bugs. We're very glad you enjoyed the beautiful setting, the friendly staff, the general cleanliness, the upgraded guest quarters and the swimming pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This place is remote, which is nice, but the experience was not something I would drive out of my way to experience again.

The food was nothing to write home about.

The room was clean and pleasant. I will second other reviewers in noting that the shower was better than elsewhere in PR. However, the walls offer no sound privacy. I awoke to the conversation next door.

The grounds are beautiful and the surrounding forest is stunning.

But, other than a dip in the pool, there is nothing to do on the grounds. It is very much a place to sleep and then go off on your adventures. Something less remote and pricey would have sufficed.

If your goal is to get away, I would suggest Culebra.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimothyNott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This place is beautiful, surrounded by green mountains and flowering trees. The food was good, and this was the only place we stayed in Puerto Rico that had hot water no matter what time of day we checked. The lodging was great with a wonderful tile bathroom, fresh breezes, and a hammock outside out door. Loved the sounds of the roosters in the morning. This place does insist on check in and out occurring between certain set hours when the manager is working and we never got to use the incredible looking pool because it closed at the ridiculously early time of 6 p.m.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

I am so impressed. We only stayed one night but it was my favorite place that I stayed while visiting PR. It was well worth the drive. It is in an idyllic setting and so clean and beautiful! The dinner we had was also amazing. Overall an incredible experience and great value.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hlippert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Founder-Director, Front Office Manager at Casa Grande Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share your Casa Grande experience. We're glad you enjoyed your short visit to us. It's truly gratifying to receive such a wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We love the forest and gardens, the quiet and birdsong, delicious food at prices we can afford, staff dedicated to serving and not imposing, clean pool with plenty of sun. I could go on and on. (The drive is memorable indeed. Stay awake for it!) We will go back and back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoingGoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Founder-Director, Front Office Manager at Casa Grande Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Casa Grande. Thank you very much for this beautiful review . We will be looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Utuado
26 mi away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
15 mi away
Hyatt Place Manati
Hyatt Place Manati
#1 of 1 in Manati
499 reviews
39 mi away
Olive Boutique Hotel
Olive Boutique Hotel
#4 of 47 in San Juan
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 mi away
Royal Isabela
Royal Isabela
#1 of 6 in Isabela
319 reviews
38.4 mi away
Ciqala Luxury Suites
Ciqala Luxury Suites
#12 of 47 in San Juan
895 reviews
32 mi away
Parador Villas del Mar Hau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Grande Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Grande Mountain Retreat

Address: Road 612, Km. 0.3 | Barrio Caonillas, Utuado 00641, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Utuado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Utuado
Price Range: £86 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Grande Mountain Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a valley in Puerto Rico's central mountains, Casa Grande is an oasis of peace and tranquility. 20 rooms scattered up the mountainside, each with private bath, balcony and hammock. Freshwater pool, restaurant and bar. The Café serves comida criolla, contemporary dishes and vegetarian options. Fully equipped yoga facility offering morning class, birder's paradise, botanical gardens and woodland hiking trail. Near Camuy Caves, Arecibo Observatory, Caguana Ceremonial Park, Toro Negro and Rio Abajo Forests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Grande Mountain Retreat Hotel Utuado
Casa Grande Mountain Retreat Puerto Rico/Utuado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing