We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Breeze Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strand
Velddrif, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never Again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

The photo's on the website is really misleading. The guy at reception was very unprofessional and we received no welcome, no information regarding breakfast times or anything else. Thinking that we might find all information in the room, was also to no avail. No information ledger in the room. The couch in the room was torn and bleached. No remote control for the TV. No coffee mugs. Found a dirty saucer in the cupboard. The neighbour next door is a permanent occupant who decided 06h30 this morning to water his plants and wash his balcony. Water was swept over the balcony and the broom was knocked against something over and over. No sleep possible after this. The breakfast and restaurant staff is the only positive point in this establishment.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    14
    16
    14
    14
See reviews for
24
27
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Had a great experience here... Lovely people who couldn't do enough for us. The penthouse is really worth experiencing. Would recommend it highly. Food was great and the breakfast was cooked exactly how we liked it.

Room Tip: Try the Penthouse, great views and value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boksburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

My family and I had wonderful stay at Ocean View Hotel. The room we were booked in had water damage but was move to another room. The view was to die for...tranquil and peaceful. My children enjoyed themselves especially hotel pool. the breakfast was refreshing and filling with wide range of...fresh fruits and yogurt every morning. Only one thing that needs improvement and that is the carpets in passages needs upgrade. other than that very friendly staff lady at reception very helpful. didn't even need the safe trustworthy cleaning staff .

Thank you Ocean View form Francis Fam in 211.

Room Tip: we had the standard rooms I which was ok...next time I'll rather choose more spacious or two bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerFR_N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackenfell, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

Positives: the view, good GM, good food by the chef from Kenya, good breakfast on the veranda, comfortable bed

Negatives: no welcome on check in, blocked basin, no key for the safe in the room, loud guests 4 o'clock in the morning next door who just came from their nightclub, loud TV while having dinner in the restaurant with soft background music, the bar is very limited with drinks

It was overall an average experience at the ocean view hotel.
They have a new GM who is trying his best to get the hotel on a better standard.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kleinwaterval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Flying again to South Africa I decided to stay in an Hotel on the Beach not to far from Cape Town international Airport. In fact Strand is a part of CPT
I can recommend the Ocean View Hotel to everybody because of several reasons.
*Unbelievable views of Valse Bay (and the Ocean),
*The whole Cape Peninsula is visible, even the Cape Point lighthouse's light at night (60kms away),
*Nice Beach,
*Excellent staff (apparently there is a brand new management that improved the service dramatically),
*And last but not least, the food was very good. There was a rump special of R 65 of 300 gramms (but I strongly suspect it was bigger) with excellent pepper sauce and French style French chips. The cook Patrick is apparently a master from Kenia and really knows what he does-and that whilst you watch the fantastic panorama...

Room Tip: See side is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

From working in the hotel industry for a few years my back is always up when it comes to service

We barely greeted by the receptionist who started tying up her hair the moment she saw us and did not find it a problem to exchange requirements and information while doing this. Basically the reception was receptionless, no hello, no smile no welcome, no enjoy your stay. No assistance with bags from the porter who only used rastafarian lingo

The hotel smelt old, and the delux room was disappointingly standard. A worn torn couch, kitchen had a fridge in the cupboard was swollen from a previous water leak, the fridge door would not close, we had to go to the resturant to have a tin opened.

No DSTV of any kind. What hotel in this day and age only does SABC 1,2, and 3?

I will commend the resturant staff the resturant manager, waiter and chef were welcoming and interested in our stay, even though the breakfast was standard and uninteresting. Going for breakfast both mornings was a pleasure and the views were stunning.

Check out was equally as cold with no thank you for your stay

Bottom line, accommodation was standard dispite the delux request, and pictures don't tell the true story. Bathroom fan does not shut off and is noisyReception staff are a huge disappointment, this from two different receptionists.
This was a once off, never to be repeated. There are better options for accommodation in Strand

Room Tip: There is better accommodation elsewhere at much better prices for much better service, with way more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Strand hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

May 2012 We took our annual convention to the hotel using every room in the hotel. Some rooms flooded some toilets did not work and they had to paint walls to hide damp and damage before our delegates arrived. On two occasions the lifts dropped with people in them - only a floor but enough to terrify the ladies!
The view is awesome but the rates are not a reflection of the condition of the hotel and one can definitely do better on the same grade hotels in Cape Town surrounds.

Room Tip: Sea facing the best option. Not all rooms have been renovated and some are privately owned on lease...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WJamesS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strand
2.1 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
3.0 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
4.1 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
The New National - Lodge & Conference
3.5 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#5 of 6 in Somerset West
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.4 mi away
Loddey's Guest House
Loddey's Guest House
#1 of 15 in Strand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Breeze Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Breeze Hotel

Property: Ocean Breeze Hotel
Address: 17 Beach Road, Strand 7140, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Strand
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Breeze Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the Strand Beachfront right by the sea, the Ocean View Hotel is undeniably one of the most ideally located hotels in the Western Cape. With views of the majestic False Bay coastline, mighty mountain ranges including the Helderberg Mountains as well as our world renowned Table Mountain, this hotel offers captivating scenery, gastronomy and courtesy of staff fit for royalty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Breeze Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing