We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best guesthouse for a Cape Town-Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chameleon Lodge

Chameleon Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chameleon Lodge
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best guesthouse for a Cape Town-Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Chameleon Lodge in Strand is a wonderful choice if you want to see all the different facets of the beautiful Western Cape Region. With your rental car you reach all the beautiful places within 30 min (Cape Town, Clarence Drive, Muizenberg, Stellenbosch, Winelands, Bettys Bay......) - means the location is priceless. You live also close to the Somerset West Mall, where you can spend ours for shopping - as well as the beautiful beach in Strand, that you reach within a few minutes walking.

The Guesthouse itself is hosted by the lovely Joubert-Family, who makes you feel at home from the first minute you enter the guesthouse. Sandy and Jake do have the best advices and reccomendations for the area - EVERY restaurant they recommended was absolutely wonderful. - There was NO day, that they didn't had a solution for our plans - even if it was raining for one day :)

The rooms are spacious and decorated with heart - Rita - the wonderful house keeper makes sure, that the rooms are tidy and clean every day - we never had any complaints.

In the garden is small but very nice pool and a beautiful garden, where you can relax, if you choos to stay a few hours "at home".

The seperate kitchen area in every rooms gives you the possibilty to cook for yourself or even have a Braai outside - Jake&Sandy give wonderful tipps for the best braai-evening.

Overall it is the best accomodation I have stayed in South Africa (after travelling around and seeing quite a bit) - can recommend it as for a single (stayed there 3 weeks) or as a couple (just stayed 2 weeks) or even as a family with kids (book the seperate cottage).

Go there - you wont regret it! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AnjaK119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
7
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We have returned to jackals lair for 4 years as it is a comfortable holiday home with easy access to town and the airport. Sandy has welcomed us back each year and has made us feel at home and comfortable each time. The house is clean and has all you require for a self catering home. Lots of restaurants nearby if you don't want to cook. Our next stay will be a longer one. Thanks Sandy see you again soon. Richard and Shirley

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Shirley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed at The Sandz from 3 - 7 Jan 2013 and I must admit we were pleasantly surprised by the friendly reception by from Sandy & Jake on our arrival. Everything was so neat & clean and we felt right at home, right from the start. A big bonus for us was the convenience of two well-known stores close by and the information package they shared with us around restaurants and entertainment in the area. It was simply a fantastic week and we thoroughly enjoyed every second of it. There is already a big chance we will be back the end of this year. We actually felt quite sad when we had to leave out little "home". A big THANK YOU to Sandy & Jake for making us feel so welcome. You guys are the best. PS ... I actually forgot my laptop in the apartment when we left and I got it back safe & sound with no hassles. All I can say is : The service was simply awesome, the apartment was neat & comfortable and I will recommend them any time.

Randall Hendricks

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

A lovely house with great facilities and easy access to the beach. The staff were excellent and the hosts very charming. A few extra bits in the kitchen would be helpful and also pool/beach towels. Also these days, I am afraid, kids expect bigger TV screens.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

Ac is a must ! The fan worked well for me but may not be acceptable for all the guests. Swimming pool was nice , but only one towel for swimming and shower. Would have liked to enjoy a glass of wine next to swimming pool.

Room Tip: Just saw one room ...so difficult to make suggestions
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strand, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We arrived on Friday the 4th of January and Sandy gave us a very friendly greeting and showed us the cottage which was lovely. We had a fully equipped kitchen, full DSTV and a very comfortable king size bed to sleep in! The cottage was very clean and had everything we needed. We also had our own private braai area and access to the saltwater swimming pool. The property itself is very well looked after and neat and we had a great time staying there. Thanks to Sandy and Jake for a perfect weekend away!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HildaM311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strand
1.4 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strand
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
4.4 mi away
Gordon's Beach Lodge
Gordon's Beach Lodge
#1 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
2.8 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Krystal Beach Hotel
Krystal Beach Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gordon's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Loddey's Guest House
Loddey's Guest House
#1 of 15 in Strand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pips Place
Pips Place
#6 of 11 in Strand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chameleon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chameleon Lodge

Property: Chameleon Lodge
Address: 22 Herschell Street | Lochnerhof, Strand 7140, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Strand
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Strand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chameleon Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chameleon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing