We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa the President
Ranked #7 of 15 Strand B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Booked this room within two hours arrival, although short notice, the hosts were so welcoming and friendly. the guest house is a lovely home with some interesting history, situated a very short and safe walk from the beach and you can see the sea from the room. The room was spacious, light and very comfortable. Lovely fluffy towels for the bathroom. The free secure parking was a bonus too.
We stayed in the standard room, which was fabulous, but we took a look at the honeymoon suite and it was amazing,
It's a shame we only stayed for one night, would def go back.

Room Tip: If you've got the extra bit of money pay for the honeymoon suite, it's amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ballyk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 8 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2013

It is a very attractive wing in a former presidential country house with some historical references. We very much enjoyed the spaciousness of the suite, its complete privacy, the very good service and last but not least the very nice host. The location near the beach is ideal and functions as a strategic base from which to start a great variety of possible tours in the winelands, along the coast, to the Karoo or to Capetown.

Room Tip: I would recommand the self-catering suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gijsbert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We had an exellent 4 nights stay, Everything was more than we expected, especially the owners of the villa, very friendly and helpful. They provided us with averything that we needed..The location and surrowndings where fantastic. We definitely would recommend this place to everyone.
Boris & Larissa

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

++ Nice looking room
++ View of the mountain (or the sea)
++ Heavy and large bath towels
++ Electronic safe
++ Microwave
++ Refrigerator
++ HDTV 26"
++ Staff very friendly
+- Thermostat is very effective for making room warming or colder but the temperature dial requires very fine-tuning to make the room a comfortable temperature
00 toilet with big or small flush
00 rectangular toilet seat very odd looking
00 three different pillows on the bed
-- No clock
-- Television selection bad by US standards
-- Shower only, no bathtub
-- Not enough electrical outlets, had to unplug bed lamp to run a CPAP
-- No washcloths

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_Leeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

*RIP-OFF:
A) MONEY - terms off agreements from reservation:
First of all the owner betrayed us by not holding herself to the terms of bookings, which said that by cancellation up to day 0 30% of the total sum have to be paid, which we agreed to pay after having had a look at the location and agreeing that we'd rather pay 30% for not staying there and look for a different accommodation which provides the setting for a "luxurious" holiday. The owner kept the whole 50% we've paid in advance. Which is ethical and respecting the booking agreements more then poor. This means that we've paid 400€!!!!!! for 10 mins looking at the place and deciding that it would be a penalty to spend our holidays there.
B) Homepage vs. Reality: Congrats to the photographer who knows how to take pictures in order to pretend something luxurious which is 180° different that reality. This place seems more like the owners have separated loveless a part of their house because the have to get somehow money. Which is based on the point mentioned as first their biggest value and not about the customers and respect and honesty.

* "NO PRIVACY" - it's got a little pool with no view but only through a huge window into the owners living room and a lot of weird fences around. It was a kind of having a swim in the owners living room feeling. And 2*4 meters space to sit - that's it.
*Depressing and loveless: Self-Catering Flat is big, but with a dark, loveless and depressing arranged living room and kitchen (which woman wants to spent her holiday time in and ugly dark kitchen even if it is only for preparing breakfast and for having the breakfast since there was no other chance to sit at an table outside?). Right - no outdoor space to sit (which is for us as Europeans important when travelling to S.A. in our European winter time), but a tiny terrace to the front WITHOUT fences, but a couple meters deep falling wall - HELLO - who want to have this with little children? And the only view from the terrace and the two bedrooms have been really ugly high-rise buildings right at the beachfront. There haven't been any furniture's anyway for having a nice meal outside.

*Strand itself: Ugly beach front - lots of high-rise buildings, no nice coffees, restaurants, road right at the beach, very windy and no charm at all

The only 2 positive points we can share are: the place seemed to be clean and the local staff made a warm and friendly impression.

Room Tip: go to the official toursim office - they help you very quick to find the right place to stay which h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunshineallyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Strand hotels
1.5 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#1 of 1 in Strand
98 reviews
1.2 mi away
Loddey's Guest House
Loddey's Guest House
#1 of 15 in Strand
136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chameleon Lodge
Chameleon Lodge
#2 of 11 in Strand
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tales of Whales Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Pips Place
Pips Place
#7 of 11 in Strand
2 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Green Gables Guest House
#2 of 15 in Strand
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa the President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa the President

Address: 9 De Jongh Street, Strand 7140, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Strand
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Strand
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa the President 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Villa the President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing