We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was expecting a little more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Champaign, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Was expecting a little more”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very enchanting, and you really won't miss the air conditioning. Hotel service was good, but the bar service and restaurant service was really lacking. I did not feel the same connection to the people as I did when we stayed in Manuel Antonio. The food to me was just ok. We did stroll around the lovely gardens but did not make the coffee tour.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dutchtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Dutchtravlr: We appreciate your comments and are glad you had a nice experience. I am sorry that the service seemed slow, We live in a country that sometimes moves at a much slower pace than other places, We will work on making the dining experience better and will talk to the staff about this. I hope you will try to take the coffee tour next time you are in Costa Rica- it is really a hands on informative and visually beautiful tour, and at the end you get to try the coffee and compare it to other coffees in a cupping- the highlight of our tour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    512
    116
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
145
386
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We loved this place and can't wait to go back. The staff was wonderful -- every person we met from the front desk to the restaurant staff was attentive and gracious. The grounds are beautiful, and the rooms are interesting and very comfortable. The food is good too. No complaints at all.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travelingyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
DearTrqavelingyogi; Thanks for sharing your trip with the readers and we are all very pleased that you had a great experience. We are planning on building soon a special yoga and Tai Chi are and a massage and lounge area in an isolated spot with amazing views of the coffee farms and central valley below. Next time you visit we will have this open. We hope to see you again to try these out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We wanted a day to recover from 24 hours travelling from London and two nights and a full day here was perfect. Very quiet and comfortable, with great food and extremely friendly staff. We did the Coffee Tour which was relaxed and amazingly informative. Our guide, Ullyses, gave me a whole new take on coffee and I will enjoy it even more in the future.

It is a not far from the airport but 40 minutes or so from central San Jose and it seems that the travel agents don’t go for it because it isn’t central. Tell your agent you want to stay there anyway!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p47rick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear P47Rick; Thanks for writing into Trip Advisor and for your comments. I am really happy that you enjoyed the coffee tour and the whole experience. It is true that San Jose is 40 minutes away and we can certainly take our guests there if they want to see the capital city, but we are in the perfect climate of the Central Highlands- the Coffee Lands as this region is sometimes called- abut only 20 minutes from the International airport. After a long trip on a plane, it is a nice surprise to arrive at our 35 acres of beautiful organic coffee fields and to check in on our 8 acres of robust gardens that surround the hotel, all without having to drive another hour or more to arrive at your destination. We always recommend at least 3 nights here, as we are perfectly and centrally located to visit the central markets, the volcanoes (3 in close proximity!), coffee culture and our coffee tour, zip lining and chocolate tours etc.
thanks again for sharing your trip with the readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Puntarenas, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

Being a young couple (25,31) who were planning to spend a month travelling Costa Rica we thought we'd treat ourselves for the first two nights.

Arriving at Finca Rosa Blanca we were introduced to Toto at reception who couldn't have been friendlier, he whisked us on to what can only be described as a Willy Wonka and the chocolate factory tour, enlightening us the sustainability of the hotel and tour of the grounds.

All the meals we ate were delicious, the main portions at dinner were very large could have maybe done with sharing them. Ceverviche is incredible! All the staff were really friendly and helpful, Toto went above and beyond for us, arranged a hire car, booked our next two nights at La Fortuna (even got us a really good price) and booked us onto a tour of the local volcano.

The coffee tasted incredible and we really enjoyed the free coffee and biscuits at tea time.

The coffee tour was very informative but we thought it was a little expensive at $35 per person.

Overall it was magical stay and great way to start our trip.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgiewillco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Georgiwillco; Thanks for the nice comments about our small coffee resort. We laughed when you described Toto's tour as "Willy Wonka" and he sometimes is so exuberant and enthusiastic that that is a fitting description. We work hard at making every experience important, and food is definitely one of the things we concentrate on the most, as for us it should be prepared as an art form: delicious, well presented, healthy and fresh (slow food). The coffee is another passion obviously and we are one of the few "Cafes Finos de Costa Rica" which is indeed an honor, as the members are the highest ranked quality coffees in this country. As an added value, as you know, our coffee is also sustainable, shade grown and organic. Thanks again for sharing your experience and we hope to see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Finca Rosa Blanca was a wonderful place to stay in Costa Rica. Less than 30 mins from San Jose Airport, it was a great place to begin our Costa Rica vacation. My husband and I stayed here on Jan 11-13. The service and food were exceptional and our room was lovely with a private deck and great view. We did the coffee plantation tour and learned so much about the organic and sustainable methods for the coffee growth and harvesting. It was very interesting and the coffee is delicious. Very comfortable, clean and we would not hesitate to stay here again in the future.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Christine S; We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay here a couple of weeks ago with us so much. The coffee tour is certainly one of the highlights of staying at our hotel and the fact that we are an estate coffee which means we manage and monitor everything from the first plantings to the milling, drying, roasting and packing- makes for an informative and truly exciting tour. Also, as you enjoyed your deck so much- every room at our hotel has a beautiful deck or patio surrounded by gardens and almost all with great views of the Central Valley and farms below.
Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ansonia, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I stayed at Finca Rosa Blanca in August. It was the last stop on our 10 day trip to Costa Rica. I spent A LOT of time researching hotels and I am so happy that I selected this one. We stayed here for two nights.
We decided to try two different rooms 1) so that we could experience more of the charm the hotel had to offer and 2) so that we could experience the amazing honeymoon suite! If you can swing it, please stay in this room for at least one night - it was beyond all my wildest dreams. There were several different rooms including a deck, a wrap-around balcony, a bar, sitting room, beautiful bathroom, and best of all - an amazing bedroom at the top of a spiral staircase! You have to see it to truly appreciate it's beauty. The views from the room are excellent. The first room we stayed in was El Cafetal. This was also good, but nothing in comparison. Still cute though. Both rooms were housed in the main house which had a common living space-filled with so much character- a waterfall, and a shared computer with Wifi.
In addition to the rooms, she property was also perfect. We were lucky to have almost the whole resort to ourselves (I guess August is the slow season). We had the joy of swimming in the beautiful waterfall pool, hiking the nature trails, and enjoying the sunset on the restaurant deck. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They provided coffee and cookie tastings and even cooked up a little traditional snack for us! If you have the chance, have dinner inside next to the fireplace! It Was Beautiful!
It was an easy ride to the airport and the front desk was more than willing to help book any transportation or trips that you desired. If you have the chance, take the Poas volcano tour early in the morning! It was beyond belief. We beat all of the other tours, and as soon as the others arrived the Poas Crater was covered in fog for the rest of the day. Take a short trek up to the Botos Crater Lake to see the amazing blue-green water. Overall, a great day trip!
If you are looking for a great alternative to staying in downtown San Jose, than this is the choice for you!

Room Tip: The Finca Rosa Blanca Suite was spectacular! The views were amazing! If you are looking for a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear JennyKK; Thank you for detailing your trip here at the end of your visit to Costa Rica. spent A LOT of time researching hotels and I am so happy that I selected this one. I know you stayed here for two nights and hopefully next time you will stay for even more.
It was so great that you decided to try two different rooms so that you could experience more of the charm the hotel and so that you could experience the amazing Rosa Blanca Suite. Yes, it is true, if it is available, we recommend everybody at least once in their lives try to get to stay in this room for at least one night - I am so happy that you felt "it was beyond all my wildest dreams" We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

What a gem! Who would have thought such a place existed within 20 minutes of the San Jose airport? Unique, special, tranquil, friendly, serene, lush vegetation, luxurious accommodations....this is a wonderful place that we stumbled upon by accident. What a wonderful accident! If we ever make it back to Costa Rica, we will find our way back here!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Joyce C; So nice to read your exclamatory comments. We certainly hope you will return and spend 4 or 5 nights here with us to really take advantage of all we have to offer, and to absorb all the relaxing, authentic Costa Rican experiences. Please let us know when you plan to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Barbara
4.2 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
865 reviews
10.9 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,279 reviews
15.1 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
239 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Monte Campana
Hotel Monte Campana
#1 of 1 in Birri
408 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Bougainvillea
Hotel Bougainvillea
#1 of 1 in Santo Domingo de Heredia
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn

Property: Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Address: Apartado Postal 41, Santa Barbara 3009, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation and Inn is a world-class 13 room resort located in the middle of an organic shade-grown coffee plantation with lush colorful gardens and awe inspiring views of the Central Valley below. The recipient of many awards for being a global leader in responsible tourism and luxury, Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation and Inn is the perfect choice for discerning and knowledgeable travelers who want to be surrounded by beautiful coffee fields while nestled in a cozy world famous hotel awarded with the highest levels of certified sustainability. Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation and Inn is part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation And Inn
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Hotel Santa Barbara
Country Inn Heredia
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn Costa Rica/Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing