We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon suite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Kingsport, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon suite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

My husband and I ended our Honeymoon at Finca Rosa Blanca after having stayed at the Peace Lodge and several other places north of Costa Rica. We stayed in their honeymoon suite and did not want to leave it! It was an incredible experience, so romantic and private with a breath-taking night view of the city. Pictures don't do this place justice. We were so thrilled and thankful we found this place! It exceeded our expectations. It's a spacious room, more like an apartment, and so unique. In addition, we had a great host welcome us and show us around the property. The restaurant and coffee time were a great experience. We hope to go back someday!

Room Tip: the honeymoon suite has the best view, being one of the highest with a balcony that wraps around the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Lisette T; I was so happy to hear you got to stay in the Rosa Blanca Master Suite. That room was originally built for my mother, who had always dreamed of "sleeping in the clouds". We couldn't quite do that for her, but we came as close as possible building the 360 degree view in the cupola with the king size bed placed in the middle. I know how wonderful that room is, and now that I am writing about it, I think I will try to find a night when it is not occupied and stay there again myself! Thanks for describing it to the readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    110
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
137
363
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
FireIsland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We just returned from a stay at this resort and had the most wonderful experience - located on a coffee plantation you would never know you were in San Jose - architectural style and design make you feel that you are in a country setting - even Spain or Portugal. The Manager Johnny, Front desk Carlos and reservationist Edguardo were most friendly and helpful as well as the wait staff. The rooms were the best - all different decorating styles - light and airy - clean and comfortable. A must is treating yourself to a message- the best I have had - thanks Pablo, I am thinking I am misspelling his name so I apologize, but he is the massage man!! Food was fresh and delicious. A must on our next visit to San Jose. Put it on your list.

Room Tip: I would say all are equally wonderful, depends on size you require.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RonandRoberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear RonandRoberta; Thanks for describing your experiences at Rosa Blanca. You were quite correct about the spelling of Pablo's name and he is one of the best massage therapists around. Unfortunately I seldom have the time to enjoy one myself, but you know they say the "cobbler's children have no shoes". His wife Karina is also an amazing therapist and her treatments with organic coffee or other skin enhancers are really a treat. And why not? While at Rosa Blanca, there are certainly lots of activities and adventures, but the place is built for comfort and self pampering, so we are glad you were able to enjoy that part of our hotel experience. Thanks again fro writing in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Finca Rosa Blanca is a quaint little coffee plantation set on beautiful grounds with fabulous, attentive staff. The complimentary coffee and cookies in the afternoon is delightful. The grounds are fun to explore and learn about coffee. Breakfast is included and did not disappoint. The bed is so comfortable and each room is unique. We enjoyed sunset by the pool.

Overall, this was a great transition sleepover between Manual Antonio and the Osa Peninsula. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: All room are great and unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowGoose007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear SnowGoose007; Thanks for taking time out of your day tow rite about our little hotel. I am very glad you enjoyed our beds and bedding as we consider the sleep quality to be as important as anything else in your vacation. Also, after doing all the activities we offer here, or just swimming in our 22 meter pool, you need a good night's sleep before starting again the next day. Thank you again for your nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I concluded our 8-day first anniversary trip to Costa Rica with a final night's stay at Finca Rosa Blanca. We could not have asked for a better place to spend the actual evening of our anniversary. Everything, from the room (we stayed in El Higueron) to dinner that evening (with a lovely view of the city lights of San Jose) was perfect. Since we were only there for one night, we were not really able to enjoy everything the inn had to offer, but we did wander around the grounds, which were beautiful. We enjoyed talking to the man at the front desk (now that it's been several months since our trip, I can't remember his name - but he was super friendly and sassy!) and loved the rose petals in our room, a special touch for our anniversary. The ONLY thing I can complain about is that apparently a large group had completely cleaned out the bags of coffee in the gift shop, so we were unable to take home any with us! Love our stay, and if we someday return to Costa Rica, we will be back!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank metzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Metzsmith; I am so glad you had a wonderful time and thoroughly enjoined the fantastic views and our staff. I think the wild and crazy guy you were referring to was Toto, who indeed is a dynamic and ebullient character. I hope next time you come to
Costa Rica you will stay for more days, as there is so much to do here, that just one night isn't nearly enough. I am sorry about the coffee- luckily for us (but not for you this time) our coffee has been very in demand and we ran out int he stock room with not enough time to roast some more before your trip home. You can purchase it online though at cafemilagro.com and it will be delivered to your door freshly roasted. Thanks again for coming to stay with us and congratulations on your marriage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Grange Park, il USA
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I started our 10 day journey thru Costa Rica here for three nights. When we first arrived we were impressed by the service, the views and the feel of being so close to San Jose with the small town feel. The rooms were spectacular and a great balcony to watch the sunset. We had great service from Marcos in the dining area and we took his recommendations on new wine every night which were all fantastic. Our coffee tour was so educating, Ulysses really has a true passion for coffee and it showed in his amazing tour. We learned so much about how they are a true organic shade grown coffee plantation and how to taste the quality of good coffee. We also set up a half day tour to see Paos volcano, this was spectacular. Although the ride there has a lot of twists and turns it was worth it. It was a clear day so we saw the whole crater which we heard was active two weeks prior. On the ride back to the hotel we stopped at a place the guide recommended for a typical Costa Rican lunch, it was great! So glad we got to stop and we also tried fresh strawberry juice since they grow strawberries all along the way. We truly enjoyed our stay at Finca Rosa Blanca and would recommend for anyone looking for a great getaway and close to San Jose. Pura Vida!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Mary Kate D; We are so please you enjoyed Finca Rosa Blanca so much, and that you got to take the coffee tour with Ulises, who is indeed an encyclopedia of coffee. Not only does he love his job as a tour guide and "cupper", he also is one of the most passionate people I know when it comes to coffee, and reads voraciously anything he can get his hands on about the subject. I love it when people comment on the small town feel, as that is how we all feel who live here and it is exactly that that lends itself to the comfort, laid back atmosphere and great service. Thanks again for writing about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We decided to stay at Finca Rosa Blanca because it is located in such close proximity to the airport. As we explored the website we added three extra days there. It was a good move on our part. This is one of the most beautiful places we have been. From the folk-art and murals that decorate the buildings; the lush and interesting gardens on the grounds; and the panoramic views of the mountains and central valley from the restaurant. Service is relaxed but attentive and incredibly kind. The food was delicious which was good as we ate almost all our meals at the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in several rooms. Each rooms is uniquely beautiful but I think our favorite was La Ventana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EWK-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear EWK-NY; Thank you for sharing your experiences and for your nice review. We are close tot he airport, which is a nice way to start our end your trip, as in only 20 minutes you can be in the middle of the premier coffee growing region of Costa Rica and enveloped by our gardens and grounds. Next time you will definitely have to come for 3 or 4 days so you can really get to know all we have to offer here, including a multitude of exciting and adventurous activities and culture sojourns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I've managed to stay in some beautiful hotels and this is easily the best hotel I've ever stayed in. It's half the price of the May Fair in London and double the value. The setting is breathtaking and service unbeatable. From the unexpected complimentary local drinks on arrival, to the twice daily housekeeping, I can not compliment the Finca Rosa Blanca enough. The restaurant serves a simple, yet brilliant menu which is very reasonably priced. The service was spot on, with all staff appearing genuinely happy. We stayed in the Rosa Blanca suite which is definitely worth the extra £ if you're looking to treat someone special. One tip would be to check in at 2pm and check out as late as possible as you won't want this stay to end.

Room Tip: Rosa Blanca suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max_Hepworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Max; Wow, we are overwhelmed that you felt that this was the best hotel you ever stayed in- we all love our work and this place, but when it makes that kind of impression we are all so flattered and moved. Thank you for sharing this with the other readers of TripAdvisor! We hope you can come back soon and enjoy it again and we will take you on new and wonderful adventures. Saludos and thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Barbara
4.2 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
8.7 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 9 in Heredia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 9 in Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
5.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Buena Vista
Hotel Buena Vista
#4 of 29 in Alajuela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Bougainvillea
Hotel Bougainvillea
#1 of 1 in Santo Domingo de Heredia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn

Property: Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Address: Apartado Postal 41, Santa Barbara 3009, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation and Inn is a world-class 13 room resort located in the middle of an organic shade-grown coffee plantation with lush colorful gardens and awe inspiring views of the Central Valley below. The recipient of many awards for being a global leader in responsible tourism and luxury, Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation and Inn is the perfect choice for discerning and knowledgeable travelers who want to be surrounded by beautiful coffee fields while nestled in a cozy world famous hotel awarded with the highest levels of certified sustainability. Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation and Inn is part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Hotel Santa Barbara
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation And Inn
Country Inn Heredia
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn Costa Rica/Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing