We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky hotel in peaceful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chesterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Quirky hotel in peaceful location”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We started and finished our trip to Costa Rica at the Finca rosa Blanca. Gaudi inspired rooms make for a quirky environment in the rooms. Coffee tour very interesting and all staff were very friendly and engaged in providing good customer service.

Room Tip: We liked Las Aves best out if the two rooms as it was private and quiet. El Robles was also a good c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hola Tracy W: Thank you for the nice review and I hope next time you will be able to stay longer and get to know more of the things we offer here and activities that you can choose from.
Again, we appreciate your taking the time to write in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    501
    112
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
140
377
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edson, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This hotel is really a destination itself- which is a pity because it seems that it is often sort of an in-between hotel. In fact, we stayed there "in-between" Arenal and Pacuare, and then "in-between" Pacuare and the long flight home.

My one regret is that we weren't able to stay in the Rosa Blanca Suite longer. We arrived at the FBR around 3 pm and had to leave around 5 am the next morning to catch our ride to Pacuare. The tragedy of having to leave that room cannot be properly conveyed. The 360 degree view from the bed upstairs, the hand-carved spiral staircase leading up to the bed, and the bathroom... Oh, the bathroom! A big open shower, a huge tiled tub with a view... you seriously have to stay in this room at the FBR. It's simply amazing. Even at sunrise, when I would have rather been sleeping, that room was simply glorious.

When we returned to FBR, we stayed in the La Piedra suite. From what we could tell, all of the rooms seem equally quaint and comfortable, but we liked our room very much.

The food in the restaurant was excellent! The service was also immaculate, no complaints there.

We were able to meet the owners (and their dogs) at lunch one day, and I just have to mention that we fell in love particularly with their Newfoundland dog. So... we got a Newfie pup when we got home!

Room Tip: You absolutely have to stay in the Rosa Blanca Suite. You'll never stay anywhere else like it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Hola Lindsey M; Thanks so much for such a nice and complete review of your stay. The Rosa Blanca suite was originally built for my mother Sylvia, , who had dreamed of sleeping in the clouds, and although we couldn't quite fulfill that wish, we came as close as we could to giving her that experience. Next time you can stay for several days, which we always recommend, not only to get the full effect of all the niches and secret areas of that room and its decks, but also to experience all the day trips and activities we have to offer. Most people lisle to stay about 4-5 days, and get zip lining, volcano visits, central market shopping, coffee tour and lots of relaxing with massages and indulging in our farm to fork cuisine.
La Piedra is one of our favorite junior suites and its view is stupendous so thanks fro writing about that as well.
Saludos and see you next time?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This place was the first accommodation on our honeymoon and it really didn't disappoint. The location, staff, food, etc, were all excellent. The room was beautiful and the coffee tour - with Leo, I think - was superb. They even went to the trouble of helping us get to and fro San Jose. Can't recommend enough!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jimmyfarold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Jimmyfarold; Thanks for taking the time to write a review, I am glad you could enjoy your honeymoon here and to get to know our small coffee resort a little. The coffee guide is named Ulises, although he worked with and was originally trained by the legendary Leo Vergnani, who is arguably the most knowledgeable coffee expert int he world. Ulises worked with him for many months before starting as a guide and they still have a close relationship. Leo is now living in Brussels, while his wife is getting her 2nd PhD in linguistics
Saludos and we hope to see you here on your first anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
201 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Our flight to San Jose arrived before noon and we knew that the airport is quite efficient, so we were looking for a location near the airport in an effort to get an extra half day of vacation. We chose Finca Rosa Blanca and it worked out very well. The Inn is very popular and by the time we got around to making a reservation they did not have the same room available for our entire 3-night stay. We thus arranged to stay in two different rooms, La Veranda to begin, followed by El Guarumo. What might have been an inconvenience turned out to be enjoyable: both rooms were in the same building so that we were able to make the switch quickly and easily and we had a chance to experience some of the room variety at the Inn. Although we would not consider the Inn to be in the luxury category, the rooms were comfortable and generally well appointed. One notable inconvenience were the "high-boy"-type closets, which had a very high clothes rack so that short people have a tough time hanging up and retrieving clothes (tip for the Inn: a small step stool in the rooms would come in handy). The buildings were notable for their charming and cheery murals. The restaurant offered either indoor or outdoor seating (the latter with a spectacular view of the valley and the night lights of San Jose) and there was a large bar area. Food was contemporary Latin and quite good; in general (with the exception of the breakfast bread, which we found to be quite boring), quality and variety were such that we didn't feel the need to stray off the property for meals. As others have pointed out, the property is not out in "the wild", but it is large and peaceful with plenty of paths and trails to walk. As birdwatchers, we were quite pleased that there was a birding guide available on some days to lead walks on the Inn's property and neighboring ones; he pointed out a large variety of species during the tour, which we found to be well worth the cost. Service was exceptional at all levels: from the telephone operator who helped work out our room situation, to the front desk individuals who helped with arrangements of the ongoing parts of our trip, to servers in the restaurant who were efficient and friendly, to the birding guide, who gave us some good birding tips for the remainder of our stay.

Room Tip: We particularly liked La Veranda for its patio and also for the small side room which turned out to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adanacsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear adanacsim;
Thank you for the detailed and descriptive review of Rosa Blanca. We always love to hear that guests got to experience various rooms, as every single room in the hotel is completely unique and different from the rest; we built the hotel with the ideas that each room would have its own personality, artwork and painted murals, as well as wonderful views and/or private secret lush garden patios.
Thank you for the suggestion to put a foot stool for the higher closet areas, this will certainly help with access to the upper areas.
Our bird guide, Manolo Muñoz who has been with us for almost 20 years, is one of the most well known and knowledgeable bird experts in Costa Rica, and is a wealth of information. He has spotted over 120 species of birds right on our property and the bird watching tours in the morning are really a world class experience as he can spot the most elusive and beautiful birds in the world while walking through the coffee fields.
Again thanks for taking the time to write a review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed at Finca Rosa for one night with our three teens. Very beautiful grounds and room. We did the coffee plantation tour which I thought was very interesting and the kids liked the tasting afterwards. Staff was very friendly and very good service. Only exception was the service at dinner which was very poor...waiter never came over to our table.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank my3girlsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear MythreegirlsFlorida; Thank you for writing in and remarking on our small hotel. I am glad all of you got to experience the wonderful coffee tour and the cupping afterward to understand the tastes and critical areas for ranking coffee.
I also wanted to say how sincerely sorry your service was so unsatisfactory and I will certainly make sure to concentrate on this, as for us, service is the core of what we do.
Thanks again for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

So myself and my new husband stayed here for the first 2 nights of our honeymoon and we couldn't have wished for better. The room was beautiful and immaculate, the bath was lovely (and we are not normally bath people) and the hotel was in the most beautiful setting. We ate at the hotel both nights as the food was brilliant and went on the coffee tour. This was brilliant and informative and we went away with even more knowledge around coffee and how to tell how good it is. The staff are an absolute credit to the hotel. They are friendly and helpful, very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna and happy to continuously make cups of coffee. I couldny recommend this place any more!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PenguinSalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Sallyansell
I am so glad you loved the Suite and its incredible bathtub. We originally built that for my mother who wanted a huge bathtub where she could watch the coffee fields and views down below and read her book if she felt like it (thus the armrests in the tub!). As for the coffee, we are so proud of the quality of our coffee and our coffee guide, Ulises who is an encyclopedia of knowledge and is truly in love with all things coffee.I will tell all the staff about your great comments and thanks for taking the time to write in about your trip. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Only stayed overnight here, so not enough time to fully assess FRB but it seemed certainly 4* and maybe 5*. The staff were welcoming and friendly. Great grounds including scenic views, and a small walking trail with a chance to see a few birds. The pool looked an idyllic spot. Good breakfast on a pleasing terrace.
Our "suite" was roomy and included a great funky bathroom, complete with beautifully hand painted Costa Rican birds on the wardrobe!
I would certainly recommend a night or two here. Incidentally if you are flying from the UK, avoid flying via the US if at all possible. They have no concept of "transit", and you can be faced with a unfriendly and tedious few hours. Better to fly direct from Madrid or even via Panama City.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrandote, Owner at Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Mike707
Thanks for writing about your stay in the Master Suite. We do indeed have some wonderful staff, who love their jobs and love meeting new people. I know how grueling it can be to fly from the UK to Central America and especially when having to endure an "in transit" layover. But getting to Costa Rica always saves it all, as it is such a beautiful and comfortable country to visit. Next time you will have to stay 4 or 5 days and really take advantage of our activities and our relaxing grounds and atmosphere. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Barbara
4.2 mi away
Xandari Resort & Spa
Xandari Resort & Spa
#1 of 27 in Alajuela
833 reviews
10.9 mi away
Peace Lodge
Peace Lodge
#1 of 7 in Heredia
1,250 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Chalet Tirol
Hotel Chalet Tirol
#2 of 7 in Heredia
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
El Silencio Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bajos del Toro
658 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Bougainvillea
Hotel Bougainvillea
#1 of 1 in Santo Domingo de Heredia
979 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 14 in Escazu
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn

Property: Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn
Address: Apartado Postal 41, Santa Barbara 3009, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation and Inn is a world-class 13 room resort located in the middle of an organic shade-grown coffee plantation with lush colorful gardens and awe inspiring views of the Central Valley below. The recipient of many awards for being a global leader in responsible tourism and luxury, Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation and Inn is the perfect choice for discerning and knowledgeable travelers who want to be surrounded by beautiful coffee fields while nestled in a cozy world famous hotel awarded with the highest levels of certified sustainability. Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation and Inn is part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation Hotel Santa Barbara
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation And Inn
Country Inn Heredia
Finca Rosa Blanca Coffee Plantation & Inn Costa Rica/Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing