We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Biking History” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Scottish Cycle Museum at Drumlanrig

The Scottish Cycle Museum at Drumlanrig
Ranked #3 of 5 things to do in Thornhill
Attraction details
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Biking History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great exhibition and history of the bicycle, from the earliest to the very latest. Who needs to read a book on biking history when you can see the real thing ?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank caldeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    7
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Everything I didn't know about bicycles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

From a position of little interest I moved up to being fascinated. Well worth a visit. As is Drumlanrig Castle.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ConradWebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cold and plain, but still worth visiting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

For any cyclist this is worth visiting, also for anyone interested in Scottish industrial history.
Frustrating in its lack of investment, and plainly done on the cheap. This is very nearly a great place to visit, but somewhere the finance department lacked courage. Come on guys this is 2012, people expect more than this ! So close, but yet falling short - sad.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KRittick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a land rover of discovery!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

As part of a stay in Moffat we decided to check out a local attraction.A simple phone call and booking gave directions to the castle, and we found the place very easily, then took the lengthy drive through the grounds to the imposing castle. After a general mooch around to the castle shop and tea room which serves a very nice earl grey we headed off for our pre booked landrover trip tour, the guide for the tour was the very knowlegable Brian and for the next 90 mins or so we were given a guided tour around the estate. He answered the questions that we asked of him, and were given an interesting selection of anecdotes. The scenery in the estate is spectacular, and there were regular stops to take photos.
On returning to the castle, we then joined the tour of the castle itself. Again the guide was very knowledgeable, and helped to keep the tour interesting and not dry. The one down side of the tour was that there were some members of the tour who didnt appear to want to listen to the guide, but make their own commentary, rather too loudly. The guide, Stewart, handled the situation very well.
On return to the entrance and shop, we browsed around the shop for momentos, and founf the lady very attentive and chatty.
Overall, a most pleasant visit, helped by staff who understood the concept of customer care

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank erart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Small but surprisingly interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

Basically one large room filled with various bikes. Does not look promising until you notice how old some of the bikes actually are, or what some have been up to. Exibits, even very old ones are there right in front of you. Free once you have paid to get in to the estate. Worth a few minutes.

Helpful?
2 Thank Davefromdumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Scottish Cycle Museum at Drumlanrig also viewed

Dumfries, Dumfries and Galloway
Thornhill, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Thornhill, Dumfries and Galloway

Been to The Scottish Cycle Museum at Drumlanrig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing