We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What B&Bs used to be like”
Review of Gillbank House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thornhill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gillbank House B&B
Ranked #5 of 5 Thornhill B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Thornhill is not exactly the centre of the universe, so other than Drumlanrig Castle and Dumfires, there's not that much to do there. We stayed at the Gillbank for a night and hoped that it would live up to the five star AA rating proudly displayed at the front door.

It is a nice house and kept in good order with spacious bedrooms furnished traditionally and well decorated, although one still gets the impression it is somewhat dated. The big issue for me was the sleep quality as the beds were firm and covered in coarse white sheets with the texture of dry towelling whilst the duvet wasn't much better. The result was that I didn't get the comfortable nights sleep I'd been looking forward to.

Breakfast was of a good standard, particularly the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs which gave a great start to the day.

It's been quite a while since I last stayed in B&Bs, the last time being 20 years ago, when the general standard was variable at best, but generally not of the standards one would expect these days. Gillbank could be much better, with some small changes such as the bed linen and some nice touches such as bathroom toiletries rather than a big bottle of combined soap, body wash and shampoo, which would make it a much more attractive proposition. The rate charged is veering towards that of a good quality hotel, so overall it has reinforced my more negative personal experience of B&Bs all those years ago, with one of two exceptions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caldeany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

Gillbank House is bright and cheerful. We had the room with the four poster, good fun. Corner room, sunny and a decent breakfast. The family own the hotel/pub round the corner, where you an get decent food. E
Worthwhile.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank HughJarseScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Uncomfortable night in rough Danish last-forever sheets. The like of which you could sand your floorboards. Breakfast consisted of a tablespoon of yoghurt sweetened with a teaspoon of honey. The bowl so bare, it looked ready for the washing up before I' d had the pleasure of a taste! Slowly followed by the 'Full' scottish breakfast, consisting of half tomatoe, one egg end one small rasher of bacon. Given a choice, stay elsewhere!

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We had stayed there for two night the owners were strange people. After we left the day after we were accused of stealing a towel and glasses. Rediculess why would anyone want to steal towels a glasses I am 100% certain the towels were there when we left. Then we were told we would be charged £10 for the towel we didnt take. It is over priced for the standard of the hotel. Oh and please dont be fooled by the pictures on the website of 4 poster beds because there is only one room with it in.Breakfasts were skimmpy aswell. We only wanted to stay one night and was told we had to stay two as it is a small village we had to stay two as everywere else was takeing up and we had an occassion to aytend. Money grabbing people reccomend no one stays there.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Steffyxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Gillbank House is a delightful red-sandstone house, run by a Danish couple who have lived in Scotland for twenty years. It was a joy and a find. I should have guessed. It was built for the Jenner family whose famous department store Jenner's still graces Princess Street in Edinburgh.

The rooms are spacious and light, the windows wonderfully large, some with views onto the verdant pasture that once (and may even still) make for the Contented Cows of Carnation Milk.

And content were we. The breakfast was wonderful, with seats in the bay window so that we could see what Thornhill children ate on their way to school. As they enjoyed sausage rolls, we tucked into marinated herring, a Danish speciality we assumed, that was both filling and delicious. We suspect the more conventional breakfasts Gillbank serve are just as good. The couple also run the Thornhill Inn where the suppers are superbly cooked and presented (see our other report.)

Gillbank was a great start to our holiday north of the Border, welcoming me back into the county I had loved and left as a boy. It just showed how much can improve when one's back is turned.

Room Tip: The upstairs room looking out to the left of Gillbank was spacious and received good wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnrnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We spent one night travelling through in June 2013. Very nice house on good location in the center of the village. Large, clean, comfortable rooms with everything you need. Excellent breakfast and friendly hosts.
Poor wifi but that was the case at most hotels we stayed at during our two weeks visit in England / Scotland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I spent a night here on my way back to my home in Worcestershire after visiting my daughter in Kintyre, Argyll. I remembered it with pleasure from a previous stay 5 years ago. The room was spacious and comfortable, bathroom well-equipped and convenient, and there was a seemingly new and excellent TV. I had a good dinner in the Thornhill Inn, nearby. For breakfast, always willing to try something new, I chose the 'Gillbank Special', which was herring with onion and hard-boiled egg. Delicious! The Danish owners are most welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graham G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornhill
0.1 mi away
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
7.2 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gillbank House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gillbank House B&B

Address: 8 East Morton Street, Thornhill DG3 5LZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Thornhill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Thornhill
Price Range: £38 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gillbank House is a boutique guesthouse located in the centre of Thornhill and offers luxury en-suite accommodation with private car parking and gardens. Recognised by the 5 AA Diamonds proves the quality and consistency of this establishment.Built in 1895 by the Jenners family from Edinburgh as a holiday home it offers grand rooms with panoramic views of Nithsdale and the Lowther hills in Dumfries and Galloway.The property has king size double and twin rooms with one four poster and two ground floor rooms with one having disabled facilities. The rooms all have Digital LCD flat screen televisions an there is free WIFI access.Thornhill is only 3 miles from Drumlanrig Castle situated on the Buccleuch and Queensberry Estate. The Madonna of the Yarnwinder by Leonardo da Vinci used to be on display at Drumlanrig Castle until it was stolen in 2003.Thornhill is located only one hour drive by car from Glasgow and 1 hour and 20 min from Edinburgh. Ideally located for Golfing, Fishing – Trout and Salmon, Shooting at Drumlanrig Estate, Walking, Hill Walking, cycling, Southern Upland Way, Mountain biking, Weddings, exploring Andy Goldsworthy’s works or simply exploring the area.We can recommend Thornhill Inn’s Restaurant for a quality and comfortable dinner experience. Thornhill Inn is located approx 150 metres from Gillbank, just a short walk round the corner.We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gillbank House B&B Thornhill, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing