We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage in a Lovely setting”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ghillie's Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Thornhill, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Waltor_11
Tenerife, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage in a Lovely setting”
Reviewed 22 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This cottage is very clean, well equipped and tastefully decorated. Everything you would need to enjoy this stunning part of Scotland. A welcome break from city life for all the family.

Hope to return again in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Wi Fi is poor and intermittent but that is due to the remote location, no fault of the owner
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. I'm so glad you enjoyed the cottage and the peace and quiet! It would be lovely to welcome you back in future to Ghillie's Cottage. Many thanks, Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dingle63
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Setting”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The Cottage is beautiful everything you could need(a home from home).
The Welcome hamper was a nice start to our holiday. The weather couldn't have been better and trips out to Thornhill(Thomas Tosh) great food, Drumlanrig Castle is only a few miles away and well worth a visit., also Castle Kennedy nr Stranraer, , Penpont Tea Rooms for afternoon tea is a must and The General Store for morning newspapers.
If you are into walking,fishing or paddleboarding and cycling or just relaxing watching the sheep,grouse,pheasants etc. this is the place for you, and at the end of the day a bath with a view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The level of comfort.
Liked least: No ramp to get on front step
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2016
I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ghillies Cottage. We aim to make it a cosy and comfortable base so guests can enjoy the surrounding area. It sounds like you really made the most of your trip. Many thanks for your review and please do come again in future. Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gillian08...
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday rental”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our family of 6 are approaching the end of our week stay @ Ghillie's Cottage. This is a beautiful house with fantastic facilities and accommodation. Laura (owner) has provided a house which is high quality, attention to every detail and most important, homely.
A car is needed, the views are stunning and we have enjoyed the lovely walks. If anyone likes cycling, perfect!
Thoroughly recommend to people who want a rural retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality, comfort & facilities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2016
Thank you very much for this great review. Lovely to hear that your stay at Ghillie's was enjoyable. We would be very happy to welcome you and your family back in future. Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveScotl...
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, remote, peaceful”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Ghillie's Cottage is the loveliest place in which I've ever vacationed! Spacious and beautifully appointed. I can't recommend it strongly enough. You will need a car or a very accommodating tour guide.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your very complimentary review. It's great to hear that you loved the cottage. We hope to welcome you again at Ghillies Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey G
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful Cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

At the outset of booking Ghillies Cottage my queries were dealt with and replied to within 24hrs. I was reminded of final payment in good time. This all helped us to secure the cottage.
On arrival we saw a beautiful cottage beyond our expectations. outside and on the inside.we were greeted with a welcome basket to settle us in. with everything we needed until our arranged shopping order came which I ordered from Tesco in Dumfries for the same evening.
The cottage was very tastefully decorated with lovely furnishings. There were 4 bedrooms a double bedded room and 2 single rooms on the first floor with a luxurious bathroom on the same floor. on the ground floor there was a twin bedded room and a bathroom.which had a shower. The ktichen was well equipped with large fridge freezer and family size dishwasher. There was a utility with washer and dryer. The cottage has everything you would need to make it a home from home.
It is in a beautiful location with easy travel to ameneties and attractions.
All our party thouroughly enjoyed our stay.
Thank you Laura for a wonderful holiday..

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Ghillies Cottage. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your break and the cottage. We hope you will come again in the future. Many thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 16 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lovely cottage in peaceful location.

Whole family had a great time and thoroughly enjoyed the farm tour; especially the kids.

Would love to come back and thinking of doing so next year!

David & Laura; the cottage is a credit to you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2016
Thank you so much for this wonderful review Christine. So glad you enjoyed your stay at Ghillie's. We hope to welcome you back in future! Laura and David.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRAIG T
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“THE PERFECT SETTING FOR A FAMILY REUNION”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Everything about our stay was wonderful. The Owners are amazing, Upon check in we were given a welcome hamper which came in handy after a long drive, and is such a thougtful touch. The house is equipped with everything you will ever need for a home away from home stay. We cooked a huge dinner for my family and it was just do easy. The House is perfect for those who like hanging out in the kitchen, watching TV, getting cozy by the fire or taking a long luxurious bath in a bathroom that is worth of Better Home and Garden Magazine. You can completely unwind and enjoy the setting of the house, go for long walks if it's not raining - explore the local area, there are some amazing drives around this part of the world too - . It's also worth noting that I had the best sleep in the longest time.The next time I visit the area I will definitely stay here again. I use vacation houses more frequently than hotels - and this is definitely top of the list for me. Clean, well-maintained, organized, modern and comfortable. You will not be disappointed if you book Ghillie's Cottage

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of the property, House was modern, the upstairs bathroom. comfortable beds, amazing kitchen
Liked least: making phone calls was a challenge sometimes.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your glowing review! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, especially after such a long journey. I really appreciate your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again at Ghillies Cottage. Thanks again, Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing