We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The owners have a lot to be proud of in Ghillie's...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ghillie's Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Thornhill, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
_kate_rei...
Burntisland, United Kingdom
1 review
“The owners have a lot to be proud of in Ghillie's Cottage.”
Reviewed 13 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We certainly made the right decision in choosing Ghillie's Cottage for our week's holiday in the area along with our friends visitng from Australia. Great location for touring the area. A beautifully presented cottage with immaculate attention to detail in decor and provision. Booking process and communication with Laura was great.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2017
Hi Kate, Many many thanks for your very kind review of Ghillies Cottage. It is so nice to know that you and your visitors enjoyed the stay and our local area. We's love to welcome you back in future. Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmm662016
Duns, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect house, perfect location.”
Reviewed 11 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We booked this house, for a close family friend's wedding . It was close to the church and even closer to the reception venue. The house was very comfortable, plenty room for our family, 8 in total ! Would loved to have spent more time there, There's a very relaxing atmosphere about the place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for your kind review! Glad to accommodate you for your wedding and we hope you come back again for longer! Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamela401...
Sutton-in-Craven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We have just spent an amazing two weeks here at Ghillies and it was out of this world, plenty of room for friends and family and the garden was great for Alfie our Cocker. Every thing you need is here, walks from the door step, wonderful views and friendly local people. Thank you Laura and David for letting us spend time in what has to be the best relaxing time we have had, we will be back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2017
Hi Pam,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Ghillies Cottage, it's very much appreciated. I'm really glad you both enjoyed your visit to Dumfries and Galloway and we'd love to welcome you back in future. Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna N
2 reviews
“Beautiful Cottage. Beautiful Setting. Best Experience!!”
Reviewed 7 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

I can't say enough how much my family and I enjoyed our stay at Ghillie's Cottage! It was truly an incredible experience. We were drawn to the booking through the pictures on the website, but let me say that they don't do justice to the beauty of the cottage. We were blown away. Ghillie's is a beautiful (and spacious) home. It was just the right mix of modern and rustic influences.

Laura (the owner) clearly takes immaculate care of the house and went above and beyond to welcome us during our stay. We were greeted with a basket of goodies and recommendations for nearby attractions. We were a group of 8 and had so much space to relax after a busy day of sight-seeing. We made sure to take a few walks in the countryside to enjoy the setting. It was so peaceful. We are all eager to visit again!! Five Stars all the way!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2017
Thank you very much indeed for your glowing review! It's so lovely to get such amazing feedback. I really appreciate it. Please come and visit again, we would love to welcome you back. Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great stay, again!”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This was our second visit (same time as last year) and it didn't disappoint.

Cottage is lovely and clean and has everything you need.

Both Laura & David are very friendly and accommodating. (Even managing to arrange the glorious weather again for us!)
Took advantage of the farm tour again this year, kids thoroughly enjoyed it.

Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Hi There! Thank you very much for your fantastic review. It was so kind of you to take the time and very much appreciated by us both. Hope to see you back again in future! Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJR131981
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
“Gorgeous place!”
Reviewed 15 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have spent a long weekend at Ghillies cottage and have loved every second. The cottage is so homely and comfortable and was very spacious for our family.
We loved being able to watch the cows and their calves out of the windows, particularly in the bathroom, out of the gorgeous roll top bath!
The attention to detail was great and everywhere was very clean.
Strongly recommend staying here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
It is so kind of you to leave such a positive review. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back in future. It's a lovely time of year with all the young animals out in the fields, glad you enjoyed watching them from a relaxing bath! Many thanks, Laura.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyprice...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Ghillies Cottage is an extremely well appointed and cosy cottage set in lovely surroundings and yet close to local facilities. We had a really superb 8 day break and were fortunate to enjoy the majority of the time in glorious Spring sunshine.
The cottage is ideal for walking from the doorstep or is well sited to further explore Dumfries and Galloway.
Thanks to Laura for sharing this lovely cottage with us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2017
Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your week at Ghillie's Cottage. We really appreciate you taking the time to submit this and hope to welcome you back again in future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing