We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'A real find'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornhill
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

One night stay booked to attend a course: warm welcome, nice atmosphere and excellent food. Staff were extremely helpful and accommodating. The room was newly refurbished and very comfortable, beautiful ensuite shower. On checking out after breakfast, my husband was able to remain in the Hotel for lunch and the rest of the day. Worked very well, thank you B&Q Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

I held a celebration for my wife's 60th here. This consisted of a buffet for about 70 followed by a ceilidh for 70+ with the band "Two Left Feet". The hotel arranged the buffet. The function room is on the first floor and the hotel provided a corner bar. The function room is attractively decorated and lit.

The manager, Alistair Knight, made arrangements very straight forward. He is efficient, helpful and offers good advice. His professional but friendly approach together with a similar approach from Derrick Spence of Two Left Feet meant that I was confident that the evening would be a success.

The evening was indeed a success. All the staff were helpful cheerful and courteous. I was very happy with the food. Based on my experiences I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

An adjoining large space or "break out area " beside the function room would be a useful addition and I gather this may happen one day. However, given that this is an old characterful building which has just been imaginatively and expensively renovated, it would be churlish to pick any holes.

Several friends and relatives booked rooms over the weekend and they all seemed very happy with their stays.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Profarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

well after our visit in november i decided we shoud book the christmas day dinner at this excellent hotel so we booked the price was not expensive and was going to be well worth it espicially with the high standard of food we had already sampled back in november so we arrived about 2 30 on christmas day and had a couple of drinks from the well stocked bar we ordered our meals and were shown threw to one of the dining rooms where there was a nice roaring fire and very nicely set up for christmas unlike some other hotels the buccleugh has got you set at individual tables for your party and not in rows like at a wedding our meal was served in excellence during which time the hotels owner took the time to wish all his guests a happy christmas as well as talk to every one a nice personal touch once again alister and his team have excelled them selves since christmas we have visited the hotel on 4 occasions the food and service is always first class and never disapoints anyone looking for somewhere special for a dinner special occasion or in fact for christmas day dinner this place shoud be at the top of the list

Room Tip: going by the pictures of the rooms and standards within the hotel all the rooms will be top class th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john r g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I would have never expected to find this level of quality of food and service in such a remote part of Scotland. The hotel was clean, well-kept, newly furbished and the staff was courteous and helpful throughout my 3-night stay.
I would say the best part of my stay was the food. Always something fresh, new and different on the menu. Even their coffee was impressive. It is sourced from a small traditional roaster in Modena, Italy and tasted incredibly authentic. Just the fact that you can get that kind of coffee in Scotland tells you a lot about the effort they make in sourcing top-quality ingredients.
It is a family-owned hotel ran by one of the family members who took on the role of general manager as a full-time job. His name is Arthur and he is the nicest guy and is extremely dedicated to make sure customer satisfaction is always at its highest.
Great job to the whole team and I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

i tookmy elderley mother out 2 weeks ago we ended up in the lovely village of thornhill we decided to have lunch at the buccleugh and queensberry 1st impressions very clean can remember seeing this place being renovated and what a top job they have done the whole bar and restraunt areas we saw were lovely homely with a nice fire the staff were top class drinks ordered served and a menu to match prices are reasonably priced decor is warm and inviting and the meal was definatly first class so much so we have booked our christmas day meal at this hotel which is approx 40 miles from our home but worth every mile the best of luck to the owner and staff on this excellent hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john r g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We loved the hotel, top floor big room, very comfortable and very clean.
The staff are all very friendly and very helpful, a real welcome to Scotland.
Food and wine were, to be honest, surprisingly excellent..........I'm just sorry we didn't stay longer than the weekend so we could taste more of both.

Room Tip: As we only stayed on the top floor, that is all we can recommend. However there is no lift, this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rennob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here for one night on on the way back from Scotland to break the journey south. Very pleased that we did because this hotel really is quite good. Money has obviously been poured into it and the whole place renovated to a very high and contemporary standard. Much thought has clearly also been put into the furnishings and decoration - all very tasteful and comfortable. Their web-site does not do the hotel justice, it is much better then you would think.

We were traveling with our dog which meant we were allocated a room facing the main road at the front of the hotel (and it is a main road) and as others have commented that means fairly bad road noise from about 5.30am mainly from heavy lorries slowing down for the mini roundabout right outside. The hotel's dog friendly attitude more then made up for that.

The food is upmarket and quite expensive but that's in keeping with the overall quality of the place. There is a public bar to the side of the hotel if all you need is a bar snack, although on the Sunday night we were there it was jam packed with very rowdy locals, so we gave it a miss.

The young staff on duty were friendly and efficient. Check in and out was faultless. Everything works as it should and Thornhill itself is worth a wander around.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the place.

All in all

Room Tip: Avoid room 1 or the others facing the main road, if you want a really good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swoggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornhill
1.5 mi away
Trigony House Hotel and Garden Spa
7.1 mi away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
11.1 mi away
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Nithsdale Hotel
Nithsdale Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sanquhar
212 reviews
14.1 mi away
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
Buccleuch Arms Hotel
#1 of 4 in Moffat
265 reviews
11.1 mi away
Woodland House Hotel
Woodland House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel

Address: 112 Drumlanrig Street, Thornhill DG3 5LU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Thornhill
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornhill
Price Range: £70 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Georgian building dating back to 1851 with an enviable position in the centre of Thornhill. The hotel has 15 bedrooms, comfortable lounge, lounge bar, restaurant, private dining room and function room. There are 5 feature fireplaces throughout the public areas adding to the comfort and luxury of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., HostelWorld, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buccleuch & Queensberry Hotel Thornhill, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing