We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check this place out for yourselves!!”
Review of The Bull Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bull Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Check this place out for yourselves!!”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

ok, firstley I shall say one thing....DON'T just sit and read all the negative reviews on here, GO and see for yourselves what the Bull Inn has too offer.,,I went, along with four freinds (a couple, and two single ladies and myself) for the weekend at Easter. From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble too the welcoming and freindley staff at The Bull. It's interior is typicaly quaint English country pub and the real ale's on draught only goes too add too that. After been shown up too my single room, which was very clean and ample size for just me. I will add that a futon by a small window overlooking the street and a field where two donkeys grazed was great for just sitting and relaxing during my stay. The bathroom was lovley and clean and after a very welcoming cup of tea in my room it was time too get on my walking boots and go explore what West Tanfield had too offer. For walkers out there the area is amazing but more on that later! Walked to the Marmion Tower and along the river and the whole area is breathtaking... as was the standerd of food that evening back at The Bull. I was rather surprised to see that their Chef was so young to be honest as boy, that lad can cook! I choose a main course from the specials board (although the menu is more than ample with it's choices) and ordered pheasent on a bed of mashed potatoe with a creamy mustard sauce. I was not disapointed at all as it looked and tasted fantastic. I slept very well that night and woke ready to face breakfast, which was made special by little eggs on our plates... it's little touches like that you remember!! breakfast was very nice, with bacon,sausage, mushroom, beans and plenty of toast. Saturday was taken up by a leisurly 10 mile walk (yes 10 miles!!!) which took us through some great countryside and amazing veiws before reaching a very welcoming pub before walking along a much easier road back too the river and back along the banks too The Bull. Sunday lunch at the Bull was very nice. Plenty on your plate, and very tasty!! It was actually quite sad when I was packing my bags on the Monday morning but am planning to return later in the summer for more great food and more walking.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    32
    9
    12
    6
See reviews for
35
90
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We have stayed twice and found the staff to all be extremely helpful and friendly. The bar has a nice atmosphere so that walking in as a stranger I did not feel uncomfortable.
The rooms are good value, very clean and comfortable.
The breakfast was nicely cooked, plenty to eat and as my wife doesn't like to eat breakfast the owner gave her a little pack-up with smoked salmon bagel.

Room Tip: As it is an old inn the rooms vary in size from the compact to a large four-poster room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We didn't stay here but dined a couple of times. The staff were lovely and very welcoming. The food was cooked to a high standard and very good sized portions. It was snowing heavily outside but inside was very warm and cosy. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scarborough england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed for three nights. Wished it could have been longer. Rooms, food, staff, beer, location, value. Could not fault any thing. If you like relaxing in comfort or having a walk in the country you cannot beat this place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Would highly recommend The Bull Inn. Contrary to a previous review, we were not at all made to feel unwelcome not living in the area, quite the opposite. Very friendly landlord, we were able to choose our own table, the food was excellent quality, and not badly priced. Generous portions which meant sadly- no room for pudding which looked gorgeous! Very pleased!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I have stayed in many pubs and hotels but very few come up to the standards of `The Bull Inn`.
The new owners have got it all right, offering deliciously tasty food at the right price and a warm welcome from all of their staff from the minute we walked through the door.Even the regulars were friendly and chatty.Typical country bar area,Nice cosy dining area, good varied menu and wine list. The food was freshly cooked and presented well.Very welcome and unexpected in these days of `ping` chicken and soggy Yorkshire puds! The Toasted Goats’ Cheese Crostini with Onion Marmalade was perfect and Seafood Pancake with Veg was "bloody lovely". The Homemade Soup delicious and Ribeye steak was cooked to perfection. Desert was sqeezed in to a full belly but enjoyed well. Coffee and a Courvoisier finished off a truly excellent night. The four poster en-suite bedroom overlooked the river and gorgeous views of the countryside and
was well equipped. Breakfast was a variety of cereals,fruit juices and a` full English` all good quality and hot.I`ll say it again ,DELICIOUS.
We cannot thank the owners and staff enough for making our stay so memorable and welcoming. We would recommend The Bull Inn to anyone and look forward to coming back again in the summer to enjoy the riverside garden.
Graham and Debra.

Room Tip: Pick the four poster room for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G-M-Spencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We stayed at the pub on 1st Dec 12, after receiving a voucher to stay at a Traditional British Inn. Well, you couldn't get much more traditional or British than North Yorks. We immediately felt very welcome and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. We got there around lunch time on the Saturday, and decided to have a proper meal. We both had the cajun pork pie which was delicious.

We had pre arranged to visit the nearby Masham for a tour of the Theakston's brewery, and the staff were brilliant at arranging us a taxi. They would always go out of their way to help us and we were also given the really lovely room with the four poster bed in and a fab view of the nearby river. The staff at the brewery were fantastic too. Very friendly!! Well worth a trip!

On our return from the brewery trip, we met some of the locals and had a few drinks with them. This turned into a really brilliant night, with a game of Who Where What? (putting postit notes on our foreheads with famous characters etc and trying to guess who they are). We felt like we were one of the locals!!

We would definitely visit here again, and fully enjoyed the relaxing weekend we had planned for!! Thank you so much for the beautiful breakfast too (although I couldn't quite eat it all - but that was Theakstons' fault!!! haha!!) Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RenFli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Tanfield
5.3 mi away
The Ripon Spa Hotel
The Ripon Spa Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ripon
746 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,531 reviews
3.6 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
821 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bruce Arms
The Bruce Arms
#2 of 2 in West Tanfield
41 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Property: The Bull Inn
Address: Church Street, West Tanfield HG4 5JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > West Tanfield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Tanfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer excellent quality home-cooked food,real ales, fine wines & friendly service.Where possible produce is sourced locally and a wide variety of salads, snacks or full meals are freshly prepared by our creative team. Children are welcome and dogs can be taken into the beer garden where we now have Brymor Ice Cream. We have five delightful en-suite bedrooms with picturesque views.Nearby attractions include Lightwater Valley,Harrogate, Bolton Castle, Ripley Castle,Fountains Abbey, and many more. Popular pastimes include canoeing onthe River Ure, fishing, tennis & walking.Situated in the gateway to the YorkshireDales, The Bull Inn is 6 miles from Ripon and10 minutes from the A1. Please note that we have on occasion been mistaken for the The Black Bull in Ripon as there is an error on google maps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Hotel West Tanfield
The Bull Inn West Tanfield, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing