We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful mountain hotel”
Review of Hotel Dryades

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Dryades
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We spent three days at this hotel and it more than met our expectations. Would have no hesitation in recommending it. The service was excellent, the hotel well managed and the food was delicious. This hotel represented everything that a small Greek hotel should strive to be - authentic, comfortable and welcoming.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the valley have a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SazK955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

We spent 3 amazing days at this property during our 16 day tour to Mount Pelion. The comments on the reviews I read before booking were all excellent and I thought to give it a try. We were not disappointed, -in fact we can’t wait to be back.

NAME: The word “Dryades” in Greek mythology refers to the nymphs or fairies of oak trees and indeed if you visit the village of Agios Lavrentios where the hotel is located, you will get the feeling that its beauty comes out of a fairy tale. Wait until you walk its cobblestone paths. You will instantly fall in love with the place.

ARRIVAL: When arriving at a family hotel the welcome is warm and hearty. Instantly you notice the difference and indeed we experienced this feeling upon arrival. We went up to the room and we were unpacking when the management sent us a jug of cold water and homemade spoon desert. It arrived exactly the moment we needed something cool to drink.

SERVICE: Impeccable, excellent hosting, amazing people!

PROPERTY: The property and the old traditional manor house dated back to 1860 has been fully refurbished the result of which is this newly-built property which is set in an amphitheatric location offering guests breathtaking views and moments of relaxation.

ARCHITECTURE: ‘Dryades’ have a mixture of the local traditional architecture that blends well with modern touches in a sophisticated way and provides comfort and the warmth of a country stay with modern and everyday facilities. The interior is pleasing and inviting with the typical architecture of the area. It is obvious that it is a labor of love and every single piece of furniture in the property comes from the owners who know the work of carpentry well. The owner showed me four or five other rooms when I requested to see what the rest of the rooms look like and I was impressed. Every single room is unique with different décor. Some have small private balconies with panoramic view and several have a fireplace as well. The owner was telling me that during winter the rooms look even more beautiful with quilts and carpets on.

OUR SUITE: It was spotlessly clean, well equipped, spacious and comfortable with a nice small balcony overlooking the terrace of the restaurant below, and there was much light coming in from the 3 other windows opposite the fireplace. The idea of spending a few days out here in winter is so tempting. The contrast of purple and white on parts of the wall, matched well with white colour of the bed and wardrobe and the rest of the facilities. The room’s walls looked freshly painted that gave the feeling that nobody else has stayed here before us. Later on when I had a look in other rooms, the picture was the same. The property is well looked after and it is something guests appreciate.
Facilities like a mini fridge, a hair drier, and a safe are provided. The suite we had was comfortable enough to accommodate a family of three.

BATHROOM: Spacious and stylish with an impressive hand-crafted washbasin and a shower cabin. These beautiful washbasins come in different colour and designs and decorate the bathrooms of the entire hotel. (I have never come across such beautiful washbasins before) The pressure of water in the shower was similar to a Spa massage. Strong flow and so relaxing! Toiletries are those of the Skin Essentials and the Elaias brand.

WI FI: Free Wi fi access.

BREAKFAST: I would call it heavenly. It is served out in the restaurant’s beautiful grounds at the terrace under the sounds the gurgling water, the twitting of birds and the rustle of leaves. There is no need to rush here. Breakfast is served until 11.00 am. Dimitri the owner is a charismatic, talented and a professional chef. Everything is fresh and delicious. Besides the fresh orange juice, the amazing yoghurt, honey and different marmalades, we had honey balls each morning, (loukoumades) amazing cheese pies, seasonal fruit, a mug of coffee each, and dessert (gliko koutaliou). It was too much and everything was fresh, and flavorsome because the cuisine uses only organic produce.

RESTAURANT: ‘Dryadon Gefsis” is the name of the restaurant and the word ‘gefsis’ means tastes. It is surely the home of tastes!
Dimitri’s homemade specialties will surprise you. Several of the dishes are cooked the moment you set the order. Dishes are Mediterranean and local traditional with an artistic flair of nouvelle cuisine. Tastes are divine because Dimitri uses exclusively indigenous products and ingredients. All dishes are nicely presented, they are flavoursome and mouthwatering. The cuisine uses exclusively Virgin Olive oil, fresh spice and herbs to bring out natural flavor. There might be one or two other restaurants in the village but honestly, NOBODY BEATS the culinary skills and tastes of Dimitri.

ATMOSPHERE: The summer months the restaurant serves out in the beautiful terrace which is surrounded by plane and aspen trees and the food is served under the shade of a vine arbour. It is all green outside and the seating arrangement is in two different levels. The upper level overlooks the village’s square while the lower offers a fabulous scene as it overlooks the Pagasetic Gulf and the slopes of Pelion.
The winter months the restaurant functions indoors in the nicely furnished dining room by the fireplace. Through the large double glazed windows that go round the living room and the dining room, guests can enjoy breathtaking views from the comfort of the warm interior and enjoy a beverage from the bar. Carpets beautify the ground floor creating the atmosphere of a warm country lodge.

MENU: Ask Dimitri to recommend some of his amazing dishes and choose. There are more than 20 appetizers to choose from. Tip: Ask for ‘pikilia’ and expect several dishes in small portions to have the opportunity to taste several.
Highly recommended are the cooked specialties of Dimitri. You can try the Goat meat Oven baked (gida gastras) it is an exceptional Greek dish. The other dish I recommend is the Anklebone of veal meat with caramel sauce. There are indeed so many in the list that I don’t know what to recommend because I can easily recommend all. “Kleftiko or Exohiko or the Meat Veal with chestnuts….all these are out of this world! You will be amazed and want to be back. Have in mind that a meal here is not expensive at all. You will be surprised when you ask to pay.

Of course there are the summertime specialties like (Pastitsio, Mousaka, Gemista –staffed vegetables with rice and minced meat) fresh beans and more.

BEVERAGE: The list of wines and beer is long but the local home’s wine is just as good and I highly recommend it. It is the cheapest alternative and it surely worth a try.

DESSERT: The high quality ingredients guarantee the best flavor. The restaurant’s homemade delicacies are unbeatable. You can end your meal with Dimitri’s ‘loukoumades’ –honey balls sprinkled with cinnamon. Even yoghurt here tastes differently. Have it with honey and walnuts, or ask for ‘ravani’ a Greek dessert. At restaurants it is usually served with a ball of ice cream. Of course I could go on and on because I got excited with the quality and taste of every single dish we had here, but one thing is for sure. Guests will not leave disappointed. Everything is cooked to perfection, reasonable cost, and hospitality beyond compare.

THE VILLAGE: The village of Agios Lavrentios is still a hidden gem. It is not touristy like other villages of Pelion probably because when you come up here you have to take the same way back as the road stops at the square. But the best part and the mystery that comes out of this village is when you take a stroll through the cobblestone pathways that extend to all directions. I walked as far as the orchards of the village which are way up and they are full of chestnut and cherry trees, apples and dense forest. As you walk through the paths you get the feeling that you are hundred years back. Horse riding is also possible in the village and there are a few interesting places to visit like the Monastery of St. Lavrentios and the beautiful churches and chapels found here.

TIPS: Highly recommended for people who are nature lovers, who love history, photography and love tasting good food….I mean Real Good!
The hotel is not handicapped friendly as there is no lift.

In all, we spent 3 memorable days at this hotel and I can highly recommend it for the very good value of money, the exceptional stay and warm hospitality of the owners.
The cuisine of the hotel’s restaurant “Dryadon Gefsis” will surprise you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greekcypriot2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We spent a weekend in beautiful Pilion. We came to this house by recommendation of friends. And we will recommend it to all other friends.
The house is in a small village in the mountains of Pilion. The road is "dead end" which means almost no air-/noise pollution by traffic. Very quiet.
From our balcony we had an amazing view over the Pagasitic Gulf. Especially at night this view is beyond all description.
In the morning we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast where all our wishes were satisfied. Homemade food. And the variety of food for dinner was also great. Everything made from the boss of the hotel. The atmosphere and cleanliness was very good.
We have seen many hotels in Greece. But no hotel we saw before has such a perfect balance between individuality and perfectionism.
Our room was absolutely clean and equipped with Air Condition, TV, Telephone and fast WiFi-Internet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

In July, 2012 our family (parents, two elder boys and one young girk) spent two nights at the pleasant hotel of Dryades in Agios Lavrentios, in Pelion Greece.
The hotel is small an is managed by lovely and friendly family.We had two rooms. Both were clean and convenient. Breakfast was excellent. From our room we enjoyed view of the down hills of the village and of Pelion and the sea. I strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Yoav B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank xarismon1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
Thank Nektarios B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Άντζελα Π
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Lavrentios
1.7 mi away
Anovolios Boutique Hotel
Anovolios Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Agios Georgios Nilias
65 reviews
3.7 mi away
Pelion Resort
Pelion Resort
#4 of 12 in Portaria
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palio Eleotrivio Guesthouse
Palio Eleotrivio Guesthouse
#3 of 6 in Agios Lavrentios
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Sarafis Guesthouse
#3 of 5 in Agios Lavrentios
4 reviews
0.6 mi away
Iliopetra Suites
Iliopetra Suites
#2 of 5 in Agios Lavrentios
1 reviews
0 mi away
Archontiko Koti
Archontiko Koti
#1 of 5 in Agios Lavrentios
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dryades? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dryades

Address: Agios Lavrentios, Agios Lavrentios, Volos 373 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Thessaly > Magnesia Region > Volos > Agios Lavrentios
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Agios Lavrentios
Price Range: £70 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dryades 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Dryades reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing