We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort, but noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Singhasari Resort
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Batu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely resort, but noisy!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at this resort for 2 nights, on our visit to Mount Bromo.

The Good:

1. The service was excellent. The entire staff was very courteous, helpful and service-oriented. Most of them spoke good English, though not all at the front desk were aware about traveling to Bromo and neighbouring areas, and other such touristy information.

We would specially like to commend Faud, who went out of his way to make our stay comfortable and deal with all our requests. He really did a great job !

2. The entire complex of the hotel was beautiful, scenic, and very well maintained. Quite a contrast from the little town in which it is located.

3. The room was big, comfortable, well-appointed, with lovely, modern decor and fittings as is the bathroom.

4. There was a sumptuous and splendid Continental breakfast spread (which is what we prefer) with an equally good Asian spread.

5. We arranged for a private car with the hotel for the sunrise trip and visit to Mount Bromo, and it was very well taken care of. The packed breakfast was hearty and a great relief, given that there are hardly any decent food options near Mount Bromo. The driver was skilled and very professional and courteous, and that allowed us to have a good nap on the 3 hour ride to and from Bromo !

The Bad:

1. This resort seems to have a huge problem with noise - some thing that is a big turn off for us, and would be for other seasoned travelers as well.

A. We came to this beautiful resort, in the back of beyond, after a long trip from Singapore and Surabaya, and were greeted by an extremely noisy welcome on account of it being an Easter weekend (which is not an Indonesian thing by the way at all ) The music was blaring and the design of the entire building structure is such that noise echoes from every corner, since they have no carpeting or other soft furnishing to dampen any sound.

B. We had to change our room from the topmost floor because the bar is also on that floor, and it plays LOUD, LIVE music every evening till 11 pm or later - and you can hear the bass and all other parts of the music in your room, which is quite a nuisance if you are trying to get some sleep before your sunrise tour starting at 1 am !!

We changed our room to the lowest floor, and we could still hear the bass pretty prominently. We asked the desk to get the bar to tone down the music, but it was met with only a temporary reprieve.

C. The next day we thought we would have a quiet lunch by the beautiful view in the lovely garden, but there were music and announcements blaring again from the pool area or some other venue upstairs where an event was being organised for Easter. As I said, the structure of this building is really faulty since it is really open, and noise leaks and echoes from every part. Plus, they really love to create noise!!

D. On the following morning, we again were not able to enjoy a quiet breakfast because there was loud music and announcements blaring from some other event !!

E. The rooms in general are not sound-proofed as you can hear all the noise of footsteps, and children's screams from the corridors outside which have no carpeting - so the noise really echoes around all the stone tiles etc.

The management seems to be really deaf to the noise they are creating here, since this resort is really very noisy in every way possible. Noise is not classy, not welcoming and not relaxing !! It needs to ask itself why anyone would want to pay so heftily to come to this beautiful resort, tucked so far away, and then have to feel like they are in the middle of a cheap city bar or community festival !

2. The other annoying part of our stay was that when we arrived at the restaurant for dinner at around 7 pm, there were hardly any other guests around and we thought we would get quick service. On the contrary, our very simple dishes took 45 minutes to arrive. We had been dying of hunger since our long trip from Surabaya, and there are no other eateries around, so it was really annoying to see loads of guests trickle in to the restaurant, get served before us, and many of them had finished their food and left before our food arrived !!

We learned it was because they had "reserved" and "pre-ordered" their meal before they came to the restaurant. Somehow we didn't know of this peculiar code of conduct and we received the short end of the stick.

And when the food came, the quality was just about okay.

I would give 3 stars to this resort on account of the tremendous noise nuisance and restaurant experience, and 5 stars for everything else.

Room Tip: Quiet room? Try your luck !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Swati G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    175
    28
    7
    5
See reviews for
325
49
3
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bekasi, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stay at this hotel for 1 night. Located in one of the well-known tourist attraction in Batu, Malang make this place into one of the best, including a view of a given. Occupy rooms accompanied with a balcony overlooking the mountain is truly a great experience. Hotel facilities is quite complete with its existing game center and a pool table. Service provided is good enough.

I think that there is a shortage in the restaurant and the food was served. Conditions restaurant at breakfast time really solid, you certainly will wait for an empty table if it comes too late in time of peak season. The food served was less variable and taste mediocre. And for this I do not think it is too difficult to do the changes.

If there is a chance next time, I will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: ake balcony room where there will be a very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dhika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSinghasari, General Manager at The Singhasari Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Dhika M,

Warm Greeting from The Singhasari Resort Batu!

Thank you for your comments related to your recent stay at The Singhasari Resort. I was delighted to note that you and the family enjoyed the facilities.

We have noted your comments regarding the breakfast and will look into this matter with our team.

We do look forward to welcome you back for your next visit to Batu – Malang.

Best Regards,

Fetra, Rusmaidi
General Manager
fetra@thesinghasari.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The hotel presents the natural atmosphere of Singhasari, known as Hinduism Kingdom especially its swimmingpool design as bathing place at that time. The view are nice, Swim at the morning or evening is the best time can enjoying the view of mountain, yet the water is little bit cool. But the hotel still provide at modern facility such as whirpool, sliding for children. The water are very clear, i think it's come from the nerby mountain. Room view to the mountain and swimming poll are recomended rather than the opposite, can relaxing at the balcon for a longtime. Breakfast are good many local food preserved. Lobby is a too spacious, i think but is nice, there some seat design for relaxing. Been this hotel at Desember, I was very surrpise it was a cold and suddently the fog down to the lobby oh it was gorgeous.....while enjoy the panorama of the fog in the lobby can lay down at the relaxing seat. Unforgetable moment. Agree with others, this is the best hotel in Batu. and don't miss to use the free shuttle they have to neaby interst place.

Room Tip: Swimming pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielmartinus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSinghasari, General Manager at The Singhasari Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Danilemar,

Warm Greeting from The Singhasari Resort Batu!

Thank you for taking your time to share with us your stay experiences. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the services and facilities offered throughout.

Again, thank you very much for your support and I look forward to welcome you back to The Singhasari Resort in future.


Best Regards,


Fetra, Rusmaidi
General Manager
fetra@thesinghasari.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jember, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

this hotel reminds me to balinese hotels.Complete and good hotel facilities from pool,jacuzi,sauna,tennis court,basketball,capel,cool cafe.
Room is comfort but average clean. Becareful with the slippery floor in the shower room.my daughter slipped and hit her back to th floor and head hit the glass.thx God she didn't get injure.
Book 5 rooms and get free 2 breakfast complimentary.thanks.
Very helpfull staff.they explained and gave info about good restaurants around.
There are lots of restaurants around the hotel.you should try warung wareg in front of hotel....all food was perfect and sambal is very yummy....

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank shieny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSinghasari, General Manager at The Singhasari Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Shieny,

Warm Greeting from The Singhasari Resort Batu!

Thank you very much for your support and hope finds you and your daughter well. I am very sorry what has happen with your daughter and I have noted your comment of the slippery floor in the shower room for our further improvements.

I would like to take this opportunity to wish you all the best and we look forward to welcome you back to The Singhasari Resort for your next visit to Batu – Malang.

Best Regards.

Fetra Rusmaidi
General Manager
fetra@thesinghasari.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidoarjo, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Enjoy the facility of this resort, especially for sport lovers. Location is perfect, not in the crowded area but easy accest to the heart of Batu city. If this Resort prepare a Library, I think it's a very perfect for Family with children for spent more night. The pool was great but unfortunately the water is very cold, so there's not much activity there. The restaurant is nice but there's much dust on the ornament of the building ( wood circle ).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vin280100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSinghasari, General Manager at The Singhasari Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Vin280100,

We thank you for taking the time to submit this review, and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back, with your family, on your next visit to Batu – Malang.

Best Regards,

Fetra, Rusmaidi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

a bit pricey but this resort is just awesome. big room with complete facilities, in room and outdoor facilities! love the huge swimming pool, love the Jacuzzi whirl pool, sauna, kids play, game room, golf field, tennis court and yeah, the view!!!! and of course, free wifi is the plus one. food was great, service was okay.

Room Tip: choose room with pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhita O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSinghasari, General Manager at The Singhasari Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Dhita O,

Greetings from The Singhasari Resort!

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for choosing The Singhasari Resort as your holiday destination and I look forward to welcome you back in future.

Best Regards,

Fetra, Rusmaidi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

It is definetely NOT a 5-star hotel. I would rate this hotel as 4-star. It is still the best hotel in Batu though.
Location: Perfect. You will be able to see the mountains in the lobby or in your room window. It is also very nearby to shops and restaurants. So, in term of location, it is convinient.
Building: It's a new hotel and I think it is the newest hotel in Batu. One of the most modern in Batu as well. However, I saw some leakage nearby the lobby. It was raining when we were there and some small part of the lobby was quite wet because of this. The interior design and the decoration of the building were modern and unique, I like it a lot.
Room: Spacious and comfortable. All equipments were working well. I had the balcony facing the garden and a chapel (?). The minus point is the sound-proof of the room. I could hear well the family next door talking in their balcony until very late. For me it's ok since I could sleep well eventhough the surrounding is noisy. Other minus point is the AC, it takes sometimes to get the room cool. The bed is large and comfortable, I could sleep well.
Bathroom: shower is a bit powerless, other than that it is ok.
Restaurant: Food is ok with sufficient varieties. The major minus point is the staffs. It takes very long to order coffee and eggs. BEWARE for the cleanliness of the food. I found dead flies in my meat. I complain strongly to the staffs and they changed my dishes right away.
Meeting Rooms: no complaint at all. All meeting facilities were working well.
Check In & Check Out Process: Check in process is fast, check out process is a bit slow. You need to prepare some times to do check out.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DimsumA362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSinghasari, General Manager at The Singhasari Resort, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear DimsumA36,

Greetings from The Singhasari Resort!

Thank you for your review and I would like to apologize on the overall areas and services that did not meet your expectations. I have discussed your comment with my team and your comments are on our list for further improvements, in particular our Food and Beverage Department.

Again, I am very sorry on the areas that did not meet your expectations and I hope these will not deter you to visit us again in future.

Best Regards,

Fetra, Rusmaidi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Batu hotels
0.6 mi away
Kampung Lumbung
Kampung Lumbung
#2 of 28 in Batu
234 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pohon Inn
Pohon Inn
#6 of 28 in Batu
214 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jambuluwuk Batu Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Amarta Hills Hotel and Resort
3.4 mi away
Royal Orchids Garden Hotel
2.1 mi away
Klub Bunga
Klub Bunga
#9 of 28 in Batu
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Singhasari Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Singhasari Resort

Property: The Singhasari Resort
Address: Jl. Ir Soekarno no. 120, Batu 65326, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Batu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Batu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Singhasari Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star The Singhasari Resort Batu offers luxurious accommodation with a private balcony. This property features an outdoor swimming pool, a restaurant and a variety of recreational facilities. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas. Singhasari Batu Resort is a 15-minute drive from Jatim Park and Batu Night Spectacular. It is a 20-minute drive from Kota Baru Train Station and a 30-minute drive from Panderman Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Singhasari Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing